It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to contemporary German-language literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. Detailed essays give a survey of an author's work and influence and include bibliographies of the author's works and of secondary literature.
Literary reference work combining several literary commentary series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and others.
The online version of the Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) and the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) (1875-1912), with biographical entries, references to historical and biographical articles and books.
A dynamic, scholarly online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer-reviewed publication of entries.
EUscreen"The EUscreen project aims to promote the use of television content to explore Europe's rich and diverse cultural history." Its aim is provide unified access to a collection of TV programming, sources, and articles for the academic study of the history of television, and to provide access to all digitized European cultural heritage materials by 2025. The core collection includes materials on twentieth-century Europe (70% of content), virtual exhibitions, and content provided by program partners. Partners include British Universities Film & Video Council; Česka Televize, Czech Republic; Cinecitta Luce, Italy; Danmarks Radio, Denmark; Deutsche Welle; Hellenic National Audiovisal Archive; Institut National de l'Audiovisuel, France; Kungliga Biblioteket, Sweden; Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid; Oesterreichische Rundfunk, Austria; TAIK, Finland; Telewizja Polska, Poland, among others.
Film Index InternationalAn unmatched reference work for entertainment films and biographical information about directors, producers, actors and more, made in collaboration with the British Film Institute (BFI), it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the BFI over the past 70 years. Includes bibliographies that, unlike freely available resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDb), include scholarly and academic work in Cinema Studies. Entries include full cast and crew lists, searchable plot synopses, filmographies, biographical details, important dates, awards and prizes, and thorough bibliographies, with citations for original reviews from the time of a film's release as well as interviews, historical surveys and obituaries. Includes works of film from blockbusters to arthouse films from the present day back to the era early cinema and silent film. With more comprehensive coverage of international films--European, Asian, Latin American, African--than any other comparable index. Includes over 125,000 film records and over 800,000 person records.
Filmlink.de"Online-Informationsressourcen der Film- und Fernsehwissenschaft"
The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog allows you to search simultaneously the holdings of many major libraries in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and other European countries; it functions then as a sort of European Union Catalog, and a counterpart to the mainly US/Canadian WorldCat database.
WorldCat is the world's largest bibliographic database and a meta-search engine of catalogs from thousands of online member libraries of OCLC, the Online Computer Library Center, a non-profit cooperative library data that underpins library searches worldwide.
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Note: Penn has licensed two user "seats" for LRC.
National Socialism, Holocaust, Resistance and Exile, 1933-1945, is a database containing primary sources on the Nationalist Socialist State and the NSDAP, Nazi ideology and propaganda, National Socialist justice and legislation, on resistance and persecution, and annihilation and expulsion in the "Third Reich".
Literature on artists and movements from Impressionism in the 19th century up to the recent works and trends. Covers painting, photography, sculpture, drawing, performance, installation works, video art and more, with emphasis on new and lesser-known artists, including foreign-language literature.
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.
You will need to click on the "enter database" button to get to IMB. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), the world's leading bibliography of Medieval Studies and an essential tool for research and teaching on the Middle Ages, covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database comprises articles from periodicals and volumes of conference proceedings, essays, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs.
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s. The journals are in German, English, or other European languages and date back to their first volumes. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics, literature, history, the arts, economics, and law. Other fields covered include education, geology, librarianship, music, religion, sciences, and sociology.
Full-text European Union / European Community legislation, case law, and preparatory documents. Includes treaties between EU member states, international agreements, secondary legislation, and supplementary legislation, decisions of Community law courts and opinions of the Court of Justice of the EC and opinions of the Advocates General, and parliamentary questions.