It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Large, wide-ranging collection of feature film, documentaries, news footage, historical newsreels, and a range of primary source content. Includes film from the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC, and Academy, Emmy, Peabody award winners, as well as silent films, serials, and early cinema shorts, including Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Chaplin, Murnau, and Lubitsch.
"Film Platform... showcases meaningful documentaries of social, political and cultural importance by some of the world's top international filmmakers. Its growing catalog combines in-depth stories with out-of-the-box storytelling on a broad range of topics, sometimes accompanied by a selection of study guides, press kits, and interviews with filmmakers and subjects." -- from resource overview
This is a collection from indie film distributors—Milestone, Zeitgeist, Pragda, and Oscilloscope. These films support disciplines such as cultural history, psychology, gender studies, anthropology, African-American studies, and more.
Selected streaming full-length feature films, licensed for on-campus viewing only. Line-up changes monthly, and films do not appear in Franklin, Penn Libraries Catalog. Note: After a brief licensing redirect, you will see movie choices. You can only use Resident Select while you're on Penn's campus, using a Penn IP address.
Artfilms-Digital is the video streaming service of Contemporary Arts Media, Australia, including works for arts education and artists that are relevant to the performing arts, music, electronic media, visual arts, photography, fashion, philosophy, religion, gastronomy, history, politics, and psychology.
Independent documentary and ephemeral primary sources archives which includes websites, blogs, and video feed belonging to notable filmmakers from mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan, all made available for future research and access. Chinese independent filmmakers from mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong have long been crucial to bringing attention to social and political developments in their areas, but due to the sensitive nature of their work, their web presences are at risk of disappearing. This project, part of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation's Web Collecting Program, is an initiative of the Confederation's Collection Development Group.
EUscreen"The EUscreen project aims to promote the use of television content to explore Europe's rich and diverse cultural history." Its aim is provide unified access to a collection of TV programming, sources, and articles for the academic study of the history of television, and to provide access to all digitized European cultural heritage materials by 2025. The core collection includes materials on twentieth-century Europe (70% of content), virtual exhibitions, and content provided by program partners. Partners include British Universities Film & Video Council; Česka Televize, Czech Republic; Cinecitta Luce, Italy; Danmarks Radio, Denmark; Deutsche Welle; Hellenic National Audiovisal Archive; Institut National de l'Audiovisuel, France; Kungliga Biblioteket, Sweden; Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid; Oesterreichische Rundfunk, Austria; TAIK, Finland; Telewizja Polska, Poland, among others.
Film Index InternationalAn unmatched reference work for entertainment films and biographical information about directors, producers, actors and more, made in collaboration with the British Film Institute (BFI), it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the BFI over the past 70 years. Includes bibliographies that, unlike freely available resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDb), include scholarly and academic work in Cinema Studies. Entries include full cast and crew lists, searchable plot synopses, filmographies, biographical details, important dates, awards and prizes, and thorough bibliographies, with citations for original reviews from the time of a film's release as well as interviews, historical surveys and obituaries. Includes works of film from blockbusters to arthouse films from the present day back to the era early cinema and silent film. With more comprehensive coverage of international films--European, Asian, Latin American, African--than any other comparable index. Includes over 125,000 film records and over 800,000 person records.
Filmlink.de"Online-Informationsressourcen der Film- und Fernsehwissenschaft"