Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nordic art, architecture and design
Also called Art & Architecture Complete
Covers artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the 21st century. Emphasis on new and lesser-known artists with coverage of foreign-language literature. Covers painting, printmaking, sculpture, drawing, installation works, video art, theater, arts and crafts.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Covers architecture, architectural design, archeology, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, the history of architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning.
KVK - Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog
Search the holdings of major libraries in European countries. The KVK functions as a sort of European union catalog, a counterpart to the mainly US-Canadian WorldCat database.
WorldCat is the largest bibliographic database, a meta-search of catalogs from thousands of libraries that underpins library searches worldwide.
Historical Dictionary of Scandinavian Literature and Theater
Covers Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland and Iceland, from Norse sagas to the present day, including Hans Christian Andersen fairy tales, the stories of Isak Dinesen, and the plays of Henrik Ibsen and August Strindberg.
Vem är det? Svensk biografisk handbok
Vem är det? came out every other year from 1912-2001. Nationalencyklopedins förlag publishes a digital version; editions up to 1997 are freely available from Projekt Runeberg. Vem är det? served as a key source for initial content in the development of Swedish Wikipedia.
Historical Dictionary of the Vikings by
Entries on historical figures, important battles, archaeological finds, and key works and sources, with bibliographies for different themes and locations, and an intro to the Viking Age.
About Scandinavian resources in the Penn Libraries
Penn Libraries collections cover the history and literature of Northern Europe from the medieval period to the modern. Our Scandinavian-language collections are selective, primarily supporting the Penn Swedish Language Program and Penn Abroad programs in Sweden and Denmark. Our partnership with other BorrowDirect libraries, including Harvard and Yale, ensures access to large, current collections in the Nordic languages, while Penn offers access to databases and indexes; reference works; and digitized collections.
Scandinavian Studies Databases
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.
Libris is the Swedish National Library's research database and index portal with the Swedish national bibliography, Women's literature index KVINNSAM, bibliographies for Swedish history, lit, film, and Jewish Studies, the Swedish-American Bibliography, Swedish regional history indexes, and the CivLib index about Swedish civil life.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics, literacy, language acquisition, speech and hearing, and language research.
Scholarly journals published by university presses, including those who actively publish Scandinavian Studies titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Political science, international relations, and comparative politics literature, including Scandinavian political literature, 1975-present.
- 8sidor, a newspaper in easy-to-read Swedish with larger text than an average paper, short sentences, and no difficult or uncommon vocabulary. 8sidor is unpartisan and independent.
- Svenska Dagbladet, often abbreviated SvD, is Sweden's third largest newspaper and available via PressReader.
- Göteborgs-Posten, abbreviated GP, is the daily newspaper with the second largest subscription base in Sweden, published in Gothenburg.
Svenska dagstidningar - Kungliga biblioteket
Digitized daily Swedish-language newspapers for over 900 titles from 1645 to the present, from Sweden's national library, Kungliga Biblioteket (KB).
Swedish American Newspapers
A searchable archive of Swedish-American Swedish-language newspaper, a joint project of the Minnesota Historical Society, Kungliga biblioteket (National Library of Sweden), the American Swedish Institute, and the Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center at Augustana College.