Guides: Germanic Languages & Literatures: Overview

Historical News

Frankfurter Allgemeine Archive
Online archive of the Frankfurter Allgemeine, 1949-present

Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker
Large collection of German canonical texts in authoritative editions.
Goethes Werke
Complete 143 volumes of the definitive Weimar Edition. Includes Goethe's literary and scientific works, his diaries, and a complete collection of his letters.

KLG - Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur
Access to contemporary German-language literature of the 20th and 21st centuries. Detailed essays give a survey of an author's work and influence and include bibliographies of the author's works and of secondary literature.
Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945
Chronology and bibliography of German literature, with entries on poetry, novels, historical narrative, philosophical writings, drama, and literary figures.
Literature Criticism Online
Literary reference work combining several literary commentary series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, and others.
Deutsche Biographie
The online version of the Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) and the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) (1875-1912), with biographical entries, references to historical and biographical articles and books.
Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopaedie (DBE)
IDZ - Index Deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815
Index of 195 German-language publications from 1750-1815.
Virtuelle Deutsche Landesbibliographie
Subject bibliography for German regions
Berlin-Bibliographie
Covers a wide range of publications on all aspects of the city of Berlin, 1985-2002.
Zedlersches Lexikon
Historical 18th century encyclopedia. At 68 volumes, one of the largest printed encyclopedias ever, and first to include biographies of living people.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
A dynamic, scholarly online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer-reviewed publication of entries.

Penn Libraries are home to large collections on the history and languages of the German-speaking world and Northern Europe. Germanic Languages and Literatures resources include databases and indexes; reference works, dictionaries, and bibliographies; graphic novels; digitized collections of primary sources; and Penn dissertations in Germanic Languages and Literatures.

Quick links: Borrowing Books | Interlibrary Loan | Suggest a Purchase

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
The most important bibliography of German literature and literary studies. Covers the years 1985-present. When searching, use umlauts and accents.
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Note: Penn has licensed two user "seats" for LRC.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
IBZ Online
The bibliography IBZ (Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur) has been the leading international and interdisciplinary reference work documenting academic periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences for over a hundred years. Updated weekly.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Fulltext (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)

KVK - Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog

The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog allows you to search simultaneously the holdings of many major libraries in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and other European countries; it functions then as a sort of European Union Catalog, and a counterpart to the mainly US/Canadian WorldCat database.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest bibliographic database and a meta-search engine of catalogs from thousands of online member libraries of OCLC, the Online Computer Library Center, a non-profit cooperative library data that underpins library searches worldwide.

he/him

Contact:

Van Pelt Library 205

215-746-5830

Subjects: Cinema & Media Studies, German Studies

Bibliographie de la littérature française
French and Francophone literary studies and criticism, 1998-present.
CAIRN Bouquet Général
Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren (DBNL)
Covers Dutch literature, linguistics and culture.
American Bibliography of Slavic and Eastern European Studies (ABSEES)
Covers Russian, Central and Eastern European Studies.
Swiss Literature Archive
Finding aids connected to Swiss-German literature and other Swiss linguistic regions.