Guides: International Education and Relevant Data Sources: Africa, South of the Sahara

Africa - Library Databases

Africa Bibliography
African Studies Centre, Leiden, Catalogue
Journal article and book chapter abstracts and bibliographic records for books, periodicals, government publications, brochures and pamphlets, and microforms on Africa.

Africana Periodical Literature Database
Indexes English-language and multilingual periodicals in African studies or that provide consistent coverage of Africa.
Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP)
More than 900 periodicals published in South Africa, mostly scholarly, specialized, or scientific. Some general or popular periodicals are indexed.
Africa Confidential
Newsletter covering all of Africa, content from 1998 forward.
Confidential print. Africa, 1834-1966
Papers Issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British Government.

Database of African Theses and Dissertations
Bibliographic information with abstracts on dissertations and theses produced by African universities. Also describes dissertations and theses produced by other institutions and held by the participant libraries. To obtain a copy of a dissertation described in DATAD, the reader should contact the DATAD contact person at the participant library or contact ILL in Van Pelt Library.

African Development Indicators - World Bank
African Statistical Yearbook - [Addis Ababa] Economic Commission for Africa, United Nations.
African Economic Outlook - from African Development Bank: Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Gender, Poverty and Environmental Indicators on African Countries - African Development Bank Group
AFRISTAT: Observatoire Economique et Statistique d’Afrique Subsaharienne - Publications on Southern African statistics.