International Education and Relevant Data Sources

For the project report databases of the major International Governmental Organizations and selected Western-country government aid agencies, see this Penn Libraries guide:

• International Development : Technical reports / Project reports / Gray literature (Penn Libraries guide)

One-stop IGO reports

• Policy Commons
  Fulltext or links for IGO and NGO policy documents and other gray literature from around the world. An extraordinarily rich collection, but not too reader-friendly to search.

---

Commonwealth

• Commonwealth website
• Commonwealth iLibrary - books, series, working papers.  (PennKey required).  

---

Economist Intelligence Unit - EIU

• EIU Country Forecast  - Five-year macroeconomic projections for 60 of the world's largest economies.(PennKey required)
• EIU Global Forecasting Service - Global and regional economic analysis and forecasts with key economic variables. (PennKey required)

---

International Labor Organization (ILO)

• International Labour Organization

---

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

• International Monetary Fund
• IMF eLibrary Books and Periodicals - (PennKey required)
• IMF eLibrary Data - (PennKey required)
• IMF Publications
• International Financial Statistics Online

---

International Telecommunications Union

• International Telecommunications Union website 
• ITU iLibrary  - Access to the World Telecommunication/iCT Indicators Database, as well as ebooks, reports, and working papers, 1975 to present.  (PennKey required) 

---

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

• Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development website
• Directorate for Education
• OECD iLibrary - Online library featuring books, papers,and statistics. Browse by theme and country. Statistical section too. (PennKey required)
  • Education Theme - OECD i-Library books, periodicals, working papers, podcasts, and statistics on education. Rich in comparative information.
  • Education Policy Outlook - Annual report monitoring the evolution of policy landscapes mainly among the education systems of OECD Countries.
  • Education at a Glance - Annual data on the structure, finances and performance of education systems in the 35 OECD countries and other partner countries.
• PISA - Programme for International Student Assessment - The OECD's multinational assessment of 15-year-olds' ability to use their reading, mathematics, and science knowledge and skills. PISA reports place student assessments in the context of family, classroom (and teacher), school, and society at large.
  • PISA reports - OECD iLibrary

---

United Nations

• United Nations website
• UN Digital Library (see about)
• UN iLibrary - UN digital content, search or browse by theme and/or country. (PennKey required)
• UNdata
• UN Chronicle
• Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights - Country Reports
• UN Documentation: How to find UN Documents - Dag Hammarskjöld Library at UN
• Millennium Development Goals Indicators

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization - UNESCO

• UNESCO Digital Library - Full text and bibliographic records of some UNESCO documents and publications since 1945, as well as bibliographic records of UNESCO library acquisitions.
• Resources Library / Health and Education Centre, UNESCO - An online documents library supporting the development of effective policies and programs to promote better health and well-being for all children and young people.
• Institute for Statistics -  Data by theme (literacy, equity, finance, higher education, etc,.) and country/region.
• (UIS) Database - Includes out-of-school rates, progression, attainment, completion rates, literacy, educational attainment, mobility, resources, and more.
• Global Education Monitoring Report 
• World Inequality Database on Education - data presented by indicator and country.

United Nations Development Programme

• Human Development  Data (1990 - )
• Global Human Development Indicators - Countries 

United National International Children's Emergency Fund UNICEF

• United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund
• Data Site - By country and Topic
• Multiple Indicator Cluster (MIC) Surveys - Key indicators on the well-being of children and women worldwide.

United National Population Fund

• United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) - Country Profiles -  Population and reproductive health profiles.

---

World Bank

• World Bank website
• World Bank e-Library -  Documents and Policy Research Working Papers. Searchable by region and topic.  (PennKey required)
• World Development Indicators - indexes over seventy databases, limit by country, series,and time period.
• Education Statistics (EdStats) - Internationally-comparable education indicators on a variety of topics, including  expenditures, enrollment, completions, projections. Search by indicator or country.
• Microdata Library
• DataBank - Education Statistics - Countries
• Poverty & Equity Data Portal - poverty and inequality indicators for countries and regions as well as explore countries by various income levels

---

World Health Organization (WHO)

• World Health Organization website
• Global Health Observatory - Topics covered include mortality, diseases, child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, water and sanitation, risk factors, health systems, environmental health, and violence and injuries.

---

World Trade Organization (WTO)

• World Trade Organization website
• World Trade Organization (WTO) iLibrary - search by country, theme, and statistics by country.
• Documents Online
• GreenR: Global Reference on environment, energy, and natural resources

---

 

---