Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Science Teaching Faculty: Library Resources/Services

Library Resources

The resources listed below offer content that might be appropriate for your course. 

  • Refer to the text in red for type of content available. 
  • Information on what/how content can be used is accessible under the "Content Usage Guidelines" tab or following the "more info" links next to each resource. 
  • Contact us if you have difficulty creating persistent URL's to our content from within your canvas site.

AccessMedicine & other McGrawHill Medical Sites - Case Reports | Flashcards | Images | Procedures | Review Questions | Videos

Our subscription includes access to AccessAnesthesiology, AccessMedicine, and AccessSurgery.

Provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships.  Assists residents in gaining instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading textbooks.  Allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome. Content also includes customizable patient education, integrated drug database, downloadable images (use only for educational purposes), cases, and CME content. [more info]

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy - Exams | Videos

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy delivers more than 300 narrated videos of cadaver specimens. [more info]

Bates’ visual guide to physical examination - Videos

Combines the Bates’ Physical Examination Videos with the OSCE Clinical Skills Videos for a complete assessment learning solution.  The site features more than 8 hours of video content. [more info]

ClinicalKey - Images | Procedures | Videos

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions.  Contains clinical overviews, patient education, drug monograph, procedure info, etc.  Includes graphics from textbooks and procedure videos. [more info]

Dynamed - EBM | Images | Medical Calculators

Clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics. [more info]

Henry Stewart Talks - Videos

Provider of specially prepared, animated, online, audio-visual lectures, seminar-style talks and case studies for medical schools, business schools universities and commercial enterprises. [more info]

JAMAevidence - Appraisal Worksheets | Calculators | EBM | Education Guides

JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. [more info]

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments - Images | Quizzes | Videos

3D models of anatomical structures and systems, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more. [more info]

Visible Body - Images | Quizzes | Videos

3D models of anatomical structures and systems, illustrations, cadaver images paired with CTI or MRI scans, definitions, pronunciations, learning presentations that use this visual content, and more. [more info]

Penn Medicine Resources

UpToDate - EBM | Images | Medical Calculators | Drug Interactions

Only available at UPHS locations.  Physician-authored clinical reference guide for point-of-care access. More than 10,000 clinical topics covered, regularly updated.  UpToDate is purchased by PennMedicine. [more info]

Library Services


Canvas is the learning management system (LMS) used by most schools and courses at the University of Pennsylvania. You can find more information about using a variety of features in Canvas for faculty, staff, or TAs. Please click here to access this information.

Click Help with Canvas for Faculty, Staff, and TAs assistance.

FacultyExpress for Full Text

 FacultyEXPRESS is a service offered by the Penn Library to standing, tenure-track faculty via BorrowDirect, E-ZBorrow and Interlibrary Loan.

  • Delivery of circulating Penn Library books to faculty members' home addresses via Books by Mail or available for Pickup@Penn at the Van Pelt Library
  • Web delivery of articles, papers, and book excerpts from the Penn collections.

Finding Videos/Images for your Course

The Biotech Commons can assist you in finding a video or image needed for your curriculum.  We will review resources licensed by the library and recommend content that may be appropriate for educational purposes.  Contact the Biomed Library for more information.

Library Resource Instructional Videos

The Biotech Commons can create supplemental videos for your class to assist students in the use of a Library database/resource.  We can create videos on database search technique including sample search strategies for PubMed/CINAHL/Embase/Cochrane/etc.  Videos can also be developed to highlight library resources in a specific field of study. [examples availableContact the Biomed Library for more information.

Library Recording Studio

The Hechtman Recording Studio at Van Pelt Library is available by reservation.  The studio is equipped with professional lighting, video camera, microphones, green screen, and sound-treated walls and door.  Everyone wishing to book the studio must first attend an Orientation Session.  More information at: http://www.library.upenn.edu/using-libraries/spaces/hechtman-recording-studio

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)

LinkedIn Learning has added Lynda.com resources to its online training library providing access to tutorials covering a wide selection of topics.  Course offerings include software products widely used on campus such as the Microsoft Office suite.  To facilitate learning, many tutorials include exercise files so that you can follow along step-by-step, and work with the same assets as the instructors.  LinkedIn a is freely available to University faculty, students, and staff.  For more info and access go to the University of Pennsylvania Libraries LinkedIn Learning  login page.  For more information about LinkedIn Learning, please visit this LinkedIn Learning resource page.

Equipment Finder

Search equipment by category or location at all Penn Libraries. Included are audio devices, assistive technology, cables, chargers, presentation aids, media storage, cameras and much more. Find the equipment finder here https://www.library.upenn.edu/using-libraries/tech-equipment/equipment.

Library Digital Media Lab

The Vitale Digital Media Lab, located in the Van Pelt Library, offers training, equipment and knowledgeable staff to assist patrons in working with digital media including video, audio, imaging, graphic design, and web publishing. Lab resources are available to all current Penn students, faculty, and staff.  More information available at: http://www.library.upenn.edu/using-libraries/spaces/vitale-digital-media-lab

3D Printing Services

The Biotech Commons will 3D print three-dimensional objects in plastic using a design that is uploaded from a digital computer file.  Objects used as part of the curriculum are printed free of charge.  Review examples of 3D models printed in the past.  More information available on our 3D Printing Guide.

Library Instruction

The Library can provide classroom instruction related to database searching, citation management, bioinformatics, and other information retrieval topics.  Contact us to discuss your instructional needs.  Due to other commitments, the library will require significant lead time before a scheduled session.  Contact the Biomed Library for more information.

 Understanding Copyright

What is copyright and how do you get it for your own work? What does it mean when something is under copyright, and how does that affect your teaching and scholarship? This guide aims to help you get started in untangling these questions. This page is not intended to serve as a substitute for independent legal advice, but we can give you the tools to make more informed decisions about using copyrighted materials, and help you to make choices about what you want to do with your own work.

Please click here to view the guide.

 For information on international copyright law, see this page.

 Penn Libraries Media Support: Spring 2021

This page offers information on how to use Canvas, Panopto, Voice Thread, and Piazza resources to assist faculty, staff, and TAs  with online course development.

 

PennText Links Citations to Full-text Options

This guide helps you to use the PennText Links in subscribed databases and articles that you find using the Franklin Catalog+ resource.  It also helps you to understand the options available to you using PennText, such as InterLibrary Loan or Request for Digital  Delivery requests.  


University Services


Center for Teaching and Learning Services for Faculty

The Penn Center for Teaching and Learning programs and services for faculty provide a forum to show the strengths of Penn's teaching community.  In the center's discussion-based lunches and seminars faculty are invited to talk with each other to find answers to teaching questions and focus on how to help students learn.