ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
The purpose of Bibliografia Mesoamericana is to provide comprehensive bibliographic coverage of the published literature pertaining to Mesoamerica, including archaeology, art history, ethnography, ethnohistory, linguistics, physical anthropology, and related disciplines. The geographical scope of Bibliografia Mesoamericana includes conventional coverage of Mesoamerica as a culture area. Specifically it includes most of Mexico, all of Belize and Guatemala, the western parts of El Salvador and Honduras, and the Pacific coastal regions of Nicaragua and Costa Rica to the Nicoya peninsula. Format includes books, monographs, edited volumes, festschriften, periodical articles, essays in collected works, dissertations and theses, obituaries, CD-ROM products, audio and video tapes, and films. Excluded formats are book reviews, topographic and other sheet maps, working papers and other "gray" literature, juvenile literature, newspapers, and unpublished material. As the project develops it is expected that manuscripts, especially in Mesoamerican indigenous languages, will be included. Temporal coverage extends from the early sixteenth-century to the present. There are no restrictions on language although the literature of Mesoamerican scholarship has traditionally emphasized Western European languages, especially Spanish, English, German, and French. Bibliografia Mesoamericana is a joint project of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc., Crystal River, Florida and the Library of the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, Philadelphia, PA. The compilation of data in Bibliografia Mesoamericana may not be reproduced, resold, or redistributed (in whole or in part) without prior written consent of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc., and the Library of the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, or its transferee of ownership of licensing authority.
eHRAF Archaeology provides a selection of full-text documents that are searchable by keyword or tags from HRAF's Outline of Archaeological Traditions. For the Americas, coverage ends with "European exploration and initial colonization."
Modeled after HRAFs Collection of Ethnography, the Collection of Archaeology provides access to archaeological materials for comparative studies. Includes general and topical descriptions for approximately 350 major prehistoric traditions of the world, entries on approximately 1500 regional subtraditions; and entries on approximately 2000 archaeological sites. Twenty interactive maps can be queried or present data on more than 50 variables. WWW format allows rapid searching by culture, site, topic, or word.
This resource brings together materials on American history from the time of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II, sourced from publications and unique documents in the Gilder Lehrman collection.
"This database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery."
The Oxford Handbook of Caribbean Archaeology by William F. Keegan (Editor); Corinne L. Hofman (Editor); Reniel Rodriguez Ramos (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Caribbean Archaeology provides an overview of archaeological investigations in the insular Caribbean, understood here as the islands whose shores surround the Caribbean Sea and the islands of the Bahama Archipelago. Though these islands were never isolated from thesurrounding mainland, their histories are sufficiently diverse to warrant their identification as distinct areas of culture. Over the past 20 years, Caribbean archaeology has been transformed from a focus on reconstructing culture histories to one on the mobility and exchange expressed in culturaland social dynamics. This Handbook brings together, for the first time, examples of the best research conducted by scholars from across the globe to address the complexity of the Caribbean past.The Handbook is divided into five sections. Part I, Islands of History and the Precolonial History of the Caribbean Islands, provides an introduction to Caribbean Archaeology and its history. The papers in the following Ethnohistory section address the diversity of cultural practices expressed inthe insular Caribbean and develop historical descriptions in concert with archaeological evidence in order to place language, social organization, and the native Tainos and Island Caribs in perspective. The following section, Culture History, provides the latest research on specific geographicallocations and cross-cultural engagements, from Jamaica and the Bahama archigelago to the Saladoid and the Isthmo-Antillean Engagements. Creating History, the fourth section, includes papers on specific issues related to the field, such as Zooarchaeology, Rock Art, and DNA analysis, among others. Thefinal section, World History, centers on the consequences of European colonization.
Call Number: University Museum Library. F1619 .O94 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology by Deborah L. Nichols (Editor); Christopher A. Pool (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology provides a current and comprehensive guide to the recent and on-going archaeology of Mesoamerica. Though the emphasis is on prehispanic societies, this Handbook also includes coverage of important new work by archaeologists on the Colonial andRepublican periods. Unique among recent works, the text brings together in a single volume article-length regional syntheses and topical overviews written by active scholars in the field of Mesoamerican archaeology. The first section of the Handbook provides an overview of recent history and trends of Mesoamerica and articles on national archaeology programs and practice in Central America and Mexico written by archaeologists from these countries. These are followed regional syntheses organized by time period,beginning with early hunter-gatherer societies and the first farmers of Mesoamerica and concluding with a discussion of the Spanish Conquest and frontiers and peripheries of Mesoamerica. Topical and comparative articles comprise the remainder of Handbook. They cover important dimensions of prehispanic societies -from ecology, economy, and environment to social and political relations - and discuss significant methodological contributions, such as geo-chemical source studies, as wellas new theories and diverse theoretical perspectives. The Handbook concludes with a section on the archaeology of the Spanish conquest and the Colonial and Republican periods to connect the prehispanic, proto-historic, and historic periods. This volume will be a must-read for students andprofessional archaeologists, as well as other scholars including historians, art historians, geographers, and ethnographers with an interest in Mesoamerica.
Call Number: University Museum Library. F1219 .O88 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology by Timothy R. PauketatThis volume explores 15,000 years of indigenous human history on the North American continent, drawing on the latest archaeological theories, time-honored methodologies, and rich datasets. From the Arctic south to the Mexican border and east to the Atlantic Ocean, all of the major culturaldevelopments are covered in 53 chapters, with certain periods, places, and historical problems receiving special focus by the volume's authors. Questions like who first peopled the continent, what did it mean to have been a hunter-gatherer in the Great Basin versus the California coast, howsignificant were cultural exchanges between Native North Americans and Mesoamericans, and why do major historical changes seem to correspond to shifts in religion, politics, demography, and economy are brought into focus. The practice of archaeology itself is discussed as contributors wrestle with modern-day concerns with the implications of doing archaeology and its relevance for understanding ourselves today. In the end, the chapters in this book show us that the principal questions answered about human historythrough the archaeology of North America are central to any larger understanding of the relationships between people, cultural identities, landscapes, and the living of everyday life.
Call Number: University Museum Library. E77.9 .O94 2012