includes Archäologische Bibliographie/ Archaeological Bibliography (1956-present) for Mediterranean archaeology, prehistory through approximately 800 C.E.
Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Covers architecture, architectural design, archeology, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, the history of architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning.
Covers European and American art from the fourth century to the present. Areas addressed are painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, decorative and applied arts, architecture and industrial design, and popular and folk art. Abstracts in English or French.
ZENON catalog of the libraries of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut
Searching by archaeological site
Searching by names of ancient sites or cultures can be tricky. If variant names or spellings are known, researchers are encouraged to try the ancient and modern names in what is most commonly used in English as well as in the vernacular. Examples:
Constantinople and Istanbul
Thebes (Egypt) and Luxor
Nysa-Scythopolis, Baysan, Bisan, Beit She'an, and Bet She'an (Israel) - the last option is the standard Library of Congress subject heading that should appear in all Franklin Catalog records for books specifically about the site, but the other spellings and names would be useful in subject databases and full-text resources.
If you are unsure what variant names or spellings may exist,
The JSTOR Image collection includes approximately 500,000 images of works of art, architecture and archaeology along with the necessary software to view the images, create personal groups of images and create presentations.
Beazley Archives databases for ancient pottery, gems, Etruscan and Central Italian architectural terracottas, and other materials.
Start by checking the List of Abbreviations usually found in the front of a volume.
Consult Jean Wellington's only slightly out-of-date Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines, which is available in Van Pelt 301, Classics Resource Room, PA99 .W44 2004
Look at the author/manuscript submission guidelines for a major journal in your field. For example, for the American Journal of Archaeology's list of preferred abbreviations, see http://www.ajaonline.org/submissions/abbreviations in the Author Guide.
