Archaeology

Bibliographic citations for scholarly publications in South Asian and Southeast Asian art and archaeology. Subjects covered include prehistory and protohistory, historical archaeology, ancient art history, modern art history, material culture, epigraphy and palaeography, numismatics and sigillography. Geographic coverage extends to South Asia and culturally related regions, e.g., Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and Tibet, and Southeast Asia, including Southeast China and the Pacific. Materials indexed include books and book chapters, periodical articles, unpublished PhD dissertations, and scholarly grey literature.

All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, South Asia, and Indian Ocean countries.

eHRAF Archaeology provides a selection of full-text documents that are searchable by keyword or tags from HRAF's Outline of Archaeological Traditions. For central Asia, "coverage ends with the rise and spread of nomadic states such as the Hsuing-Nu and Sarmatian ca. 1500 B.P." For China, "coverage ends with the Shang dynasty, ca. 3100 B.P."

A catalog of more than 100,000 pre-11th century manuscripts, paintings, and artifacts from Dunhuang and other Silk Road sites. Items include: bibliographies, maps, photographs, etc., each searchable in a variety of ways.

The JSTOR Image collection includes approximately 500,000 images of works of art, architecture and archaeology along with the necessary software to view the images, create personal groups of images and create presentations.