Published by the International Association of Egyptologists in cooperation with the Netherlands Institute for the Near East, this international index of books and articles covering Egyptological literature includes volumes 1947 to 2001. Please note that this version is only recently launched online and as such is under development.
Aegyptus Electreus In an effort to protect older books in the Museum Library's Egyptology collection, the library has purchased pdf copies of these works from Yare Egyptology and made them available for use online. Patrons can access the text and images from these files using their PennKey and password.
Combines Anthropological Literature (based at Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (from Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK) into one database that provides worldwide indexing of most anthropological journals from the early 19th century to present.
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
the Business II & III Collection
the Biological Sciences Collection
the Health & General Science Collection
the Language and Literature Collection
the Music Collection
the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.
Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
This is a documentary portal of French social and human science journals, created by the education nationale. Users must register before accessing this resource. Provides partial fulltext for Annales, Bibliotheque de l'Ecole des chartes, L'Homme, Materiaux pour l'histoire de notre temps, Revue de l'Art, Revue economique, Revue francaise de science politique.
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Egypt by Christina Riggs (Editor)Roman Egypt is a critical area of interdisciplinary research, which has steadily expanded since the 1970s and continues to grow. Egypt played a pivotal role in the Roman empire, not only in terms of political, economic, and military strategies, but also as part of an intricate culturaldiscourse involving themes that resonate today - east and west, old world and new, acculturation and shifting identities, patterns of language use and religious belief, and the management of agriculture and trade. Roman Egypt was a literal and figurative crossroads shaped by the movement of people,goods, and ideas, and framed by permeable boundaries of self and space.This handbook is unique in drawing together many different strands of research on Roman Egypt, in order to suggest both the state of knowledge in the field and the possibilities for collaborative, synthetic, and interpretive research. Arranged in seven thematic sections, each of which includesessays from a variety of disciplinary vantage points and multiple sources of information, it offers new perspectives from both established and younger scholars, featuring individual essay topics, themes, and intellectual juxtapositions.
Call Number: University Museum Library - Egyptian Collection. DT93 .O887 2012
This student-friendly introduction to the archaeology of ancient Egypt guides readers from the Paleolithic to the Greco-Roman periods, and has now been updated to include recent discoveries and new illustrations.
The ARTstor collection includes approximately 500,000 images of works of art, architecture and archaeology along with the necessary software to view the images, create personal groups of images and create presentations.
"The Oriental Institute's comprehensive collections, including artifacts, photographs, excavation records, administrative documents, and publications, serve the public in exhibits and online, as well as being an extremely rich resource for scholars. Management of the materials that comprise the Oriental Institute's collections is organized into five units: Museum Registration, Tablet Collection, Archives, Conservation, and the Research Library. Additionally, individual faculty and research projects also maintain materials such as study collections; project materials in process, such as current excavation drawings, records, and notes; and other unpublished materials which have not yet been turned over to the Institute."