Abzu is a guide to the rapidly increasing, and widely distributed data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East via the Internet. B) 1994-2004. The Oriental Institute Research Archives and Charles E. Jones. All Rights Reserved.
eHRAF Archaeology provides a selection of full-text documents that are searchable by keyword or tags from HRAF's Outline of Archaeological Traditions. For the Middle East, "coverage ends with the rise of the New Babylonian and Old Kingdom Egyptian civilizations ca. 3500 BP."
Modeled after HRAFs Collection of Ethnography, the Collection of Archaeology provides access to archaeological materials for comparative studies. Includes general and topical descriptions for approximately 350 major prehistoric traditions of the world, entries on approximately 1500 regional subtraditions; and entries on approximately 2000 archaeological sites. Twenty interactive maps can be queried or present data on more than 50 variables. WWW format allows rapid searching by culture, site, topic, or word.
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world in general, including Muslims in Africa and Asia and major Muslim minorities worldwide. Topics covered include: education, law, bibliography and scholarship, libraries, philosophy, natural and applied sciences, arts, architecture, geography and travel, social sciences, archaeology, history, economics, politics and current affairs, as well as religion and theology
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Anatolia by Sharon R. Steadman (Editor); Gregory McMahon (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Anatolia is a unique blend of comprehensive overviews on archaeological, philological, linguistic, and historical issues at the forefront of Anatolian scholarship in the 21st century. Anatolia is home to early complex societies and great empires, and was thedestination of many migrants, visitors, and invaders. The offerings in this volume bring this reality to life as the chapters unfold nearly ten thousand years (ca. 10,000-323 B.C.E.) of peoples, languages, and diverse cultures who lived in or traversed Anatolia over these millennia. The contributorscombine descriptions of current scholarship on important discussion and debates in Anatolian studies with new and cutting edge research for future directions of study. The fifty-four chapters are presented in five separate sections that range in topic from chronological and geographical overviewsto anthropologically based issues of culture contact and imperial structures, and from historical settings of entire millennia to crucial data from key sites across the region. The contributers to the volume represent the best scholars in the field from North America, Europe, Turkey, and Asia. Theappearance of this volume offers the very latest collection of studies on the fascinating peninsula known as Anatolia.
Call Number: University Museum Library. DR431 .O95 2011
The ARTstor collection includes approximately 500,000 images of works of art, architecture and archaeology along with the necessary software to view the images, create personal groups of images and create presentations.
"The Oriental Institute's comprehensive collections, including artifacts, photographs, excavation records, administrative documents, and publications, serve the public in exhibits and online, as well as being an extremely rich resource for scholars. Management of the materials that comprise the Oriental Institute's collections is organized into five units: Museum Registration, Tablet Collection, Archives, Conservation, and the Research Library. Additionally, individual faculty and research projects also maintain materials such as study collections; project materials in process, such as current excavation drawings, records, and notes; and other unpublished materials which have not yet been turned over to the Institute."