Guides: Environmental Sustainability & Climate Change Studies: Environmental Humanities

Environmental Humanities Collections

Routledge Environmental Humanities Series
This series of recently published books is premised on the notion that the arts, humanities, and social sciences, integrated with the natural sciences, are essential to comprehensive environmental studies.
AM Explorer Collections
Series of curated databases including sources relating to topics such as travel and tourism, commodity culture, consumption and consumer behavior, exploration narratives, and other material related to humanistic exploration of environmental issues.
JSTOR Sustainability
Primary Source Collections at Penn
Primary sources broadly related to the history of the environment and human-environmental interaction.
Special Collections related to Environmental Issues
Guide to special collections in the Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books, and Manuscripts.

Documentaries

Streaming Videos and DVDs about Climate

The library owns hundreds of documentaries, ethnographies, and other genres of films pertaining to climate change and related issues. Among the Libraries' more recent acquistions are:

Government Documents

International Climatic Changes and Global Warming
Documents the U.S. response to the threat posed by climatic change and global warming. The research behind the studies, reports, and analyses represents an exhaustive review of the facts, causes, and economic and political implications of the phenomenon.
Clean Air Acts of 1990
Development of Environmental Health Policy: Pope A. Lawrence Papers, 1924-1983
Documents the varied research and policymaking career of Pope A. Lawrence, an environmental health specialist with the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare and the Public Health
Service.
Documents listed in Franklin
List of thousands of documents relating to climate change.
History Vault
Includes extensive executive documents from the Roosevelt through Nixon administrations.
Penn Guide to Government Documents
Extensive guide to government documents accessible through the Penn Libraries system.

Penn activity and programming

Penn Program in Environmental Humanities

New Yorker Archives

To find all works by Elizabeth Kolbert and John McPhee, click on the magnifying glass icon in the New Yorker to search for their names in quotation marks.

Rachel Carson's Silent Spring

Journals

Coordinator for Humanities Collections

Nick Okrent

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library, room 204

215-573-2217

Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian-American Studies, History, Philosophy, U.S. History