Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book

Hebrew Incunabula

The date at which printing in Hebrew began is not known with any certainty. There are several works without date or place which experts are inclined to assign to Rome.  Of the Rome Incunabula, it is widely accepted that six of these were printed between 1469 and 1472.  One, the Commentary on the Pentateuch of Moses ben Nahman (Nachmanides), has the names of three printers "from Rome," but it does not read “printed in” Rome.  There is far stronger documentary evidence that another, Teshuvot She'elot ha-Rashba (The Responsa of Adret) by Solomon ben Adret, was published in Rome.  This was demonstrated by David Simonsen ("Zur Bücherkunde," pp. 164-168 at p. 166, in Festschrift zum achtzigsten Geburtstage M. Steinscbneiders, Leipzig :  O. Harrassowitz, 1896), who gave a citation he found in a pamphlet, הצעה על אודות הגט שנתן הבחור שמואל המכונה ווינטורוצו : בוויניציא ח׳ לחדש תשרי השכ״ו ,  published in (Venice :  Giorgio Dei Cavalli , 1566) that referred on f. 16c to,  הרשב"א ... כתוב בתשובותיו הנדפסות ברומי ,"the responsa of Rashba published in Rome."  Any or all of these may be anterior to the first dated work, which is an edition of Rashi's commentary on the Pentateuch, published in Reggio, Calabria, by Abraham Garton, 5 February 1475. It may be assumed that the actual printing of this work took some time, and that it was begun in the latter part of 1474.  It is rare for Hebrew works to be dated at all before 1482, but from that time until 1492, most of them are dated. With the expulsion from Spain in 1492 the Hebrew printing houses there were shuttered, and those in Italy and Portugal produced only about a dozen works during the remainder of the century.  Hebrew incunabula were produced only in the Italian and Iberian peninsulas, though several of the printers were of German origin, e.g. the Soncino family, Hayyim ha-Levi, Joseph and Azriel Gunzenhauser.

Abate, Emma and Simona De Gese,
I libri ebraici della Biblioteca Angelica: I. Incunaboli e cinquecentine Collaborazione scientifica di Alessandro Catastini e Fiammetta Terlizzi
Rome :  Istituto italiano per l'Africa e l'Oriente, 2005
Available via BorrowDirect from Harvard University, University of Chicago, et al.

Adler, Elkan Nathan
“Talmud Printing Before Bomberg,” pp. 81-84 in, Festskrift I Anledning af Professor David Simonsens 70-aarige Fødelsdag (København : Hertz, 1923)
Available online.  http://www.kb.dk/e-mat/dod/130020842653.pdf

Adler, Elkan Nathan
"Talmud Incunables of Spain & Portugal," pp. 1-4 in, Jewish Studies in Memory of George A. Kohut (New York : The Alexander Kohut memorial foundation,  1935) edd. Salo W. Baron and Alexander Marx
Katz Center - Stacks. BM42.K648 B376 1935

Adler, Israel
"Les incunables hébraïques de la Bibliothèque Nationale," pp. 65-119 in, Le livre hébraïque.  Incunables, publications israéliennes. Exposition organisée avec concours de la Bibliothèque Nationale (Paris : Services culturels, Ambassade d'Israël, 1962)
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z3476 .I85 1962
Research Annex (LIBRA). BM45 .L58 1962

Amzalak, Moses Bensabat
A tipografia hebraica em Portugal no se´culo XV /
Coimbra [Portugal] : Imprensa da Universidade, 1922
Available. Library at the Katz Center - Stacks Folio. Z171 .A49 1922
Katz Center - Reference Folio. Z171 .A49 1922
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uc1.c3091611

Artom, Elia S.
“Gli incunaboli ebraici della Biblioteca Nazionale Universitaria di Torino,” Soncino-Blätter 1 (1925-26) 47-69
Katz Center - Reference Folio. Z6367 .S69

Bassi, Stelio and Antonio Barzon
“La tipografia ebraica di Piove di Sacco,” pp. 288-296 in, Libri e stampatori in Padova; miscellanea di studi storici, in onore di G. Bellini, tipografo, editore, libraio (Padova :  Tip. antoniana, 1959) ed. Antonio Barzon
Research Annex (LIBRA).  655.145 L617

Berliner, Abraham
Über den Einfluss des ersten hebräischen Buchdrucks auf den Cultus und die Cultur der Juden  
Frankfurt a. M. : J. Kauffmann, 1896
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z231.5.H4 B47 1896
Katz Center - Stacks. Z231.5.H4 B47 1896
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100552302

Bernheimer, Carlo
“Eine neue, hebräische Inkunabel,” Zeitschrift für hebräische Bibliographie 23 (1920) 36-40
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z6367 .Z48
Katz Center – Stacks. Z6367 .Z48

Bloch, Joshua
"An Early Spanish Mahzor (Probably the oldest known Hebrew incunabulum)," Jewish Quarterly Review n.s. 30 (1939) 51-57
Library at the Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .J48
Research Annex (LIBRA). DS101 .J48

Bloch, Joshua
Early Hebrew printing in Spain and Portugal
New York : New York Public Library,
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z173 .B56 1938
[repr. pp. 3-56 in, Hebrew Printing and Bibliography (New York, 1976)
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z228.H4 H43 1976]

Bloch, Joshua
Hebrew printing in Naples
New York : New York Public Library, 1942  
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z156.N3 B56 1942
[repr. pp. 111-138 in, Hebrew Printing and Bibliography (New York, 1976)
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z228.H4 H43 1976]

Burger, Combertus Pieter
De Incunabelen en de nederlandsche uitgaven tot 1540 in de Bibliotheek der Universiteit van Amsterdam, two volumes ('s-Gravenhage, M. Nijhoff, 1919-23) II:7-13
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Reference Collection. Z240 .A53

Busi, Giulio
"Incunaboli ebraici testimonianze dell'arte tipografica e documenti di storia letteraria," pp. 151-161 in, Manoscritti, frammenti e libri ebraici nell'Italia dei secoli XV-XVI : Atti del VII congresso internazionale dell'AISG, S. Miniato, 7-8-9 novembre 1988 (Rome :  Carucci, 1991) edd. Giuliano Tamani and Angelo Vivian
Van Pelt Library. DS135.I8 M36 1991

Carrete Parrondo, Carlos,
“Juan Ramírez de Lucena, judeoconverso del renacimiento español,” pp. 168-179 in, Exile and Diaspora. Studies in the History of the Jewish People Presented to Professor Haim Beinart (Jerusalem-Madrid  :  Ben-Zvi Institute-CSIC, 1991) edd. Aharon Mirsky et al.
Katz Center - Stacks. DS135.S7 E95 1991
Van Pelt Library. DS135.S7 E95 1991

Cassuto, Umberto
Incunaboli Ebraici a Firenze
Firenze [Italy] : L.S. Olschki, 1912
Library at the Katz Center - Reference Room. Z240.A1 C37 1912
Library at the Katz Center - Office. Z240.A1 C37 1912

Cassuto, Umberto
"Sulla edizione principe del Kol-bo," Rivista Israelitica 9 (1913) 167-173
Van Pelt Library. BM1 .R585

Catastini, Alessandro
I libri ebraici della Biblioteca Universitaria di Pisa. 1. Incunaboli e cinquecentine.  Studi semitici ; nuova ser., 23
(Rome :  Sapienza Universita` di Roma, 2011)
Van Pelt Library. DS16 R6 n.s. no.23

Catastini, Alessandro
“Nuovi Incunaboli e Cinquecentine nella Biblioteca Angelica di Roma,” Rivista degli studi orientali n.s. 82 (2009) 35-40
Van Pelt Library PJ6 .R484

Cohen, Gershon
ספרי הדפוס הראשונים (אינקונבולים), בית הספרים על שם מנדל גוטסמן, ישיבה-אוניברסיטה = Hebrew Incunabula: Mendel Gottesman Library of Hebraica-Judaica, Yeshiva University
New York: Yeshiva University Press, 1984
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z240 .M54 1984
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Reference Collection. Z240 .M54 1984

Cohen, Menahem
“The Consonantal Character of the First Bible Printings:  The Editio Princeps of the Entire Bible, Soncino, 1488,” [Hebrew] Annual of Bar-Ilan University Studies in Judaica and the humanities 18/19 (1981) 47-67
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. BM1 .B35
Van Pelt Library. BM1 B35

Colorni, Vittore
“Abraham Conat primo stampatore di opere ebraiche in Mantova e la cronologia delle sue edizioni,” La Bibliofilia 83 (1981) 113-128
Van Pelt Library. Z1007 .B56
[repr. pp. 443-460 in, Judaica minora. Saggi sulla storia dell’ebraismo italiano dall’antichità all’età moderna (Milano :  Giuffré, 1983); Katz Center - Stacks. DS135.I8 C65 1983]

Colorni, Vittore
“I da Spira avi dei tipografi Soncino e la loro attività nel Veneto e in Lombardia durante il sec. XV,” Michael 1 (1972) 58-108
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .M477
http://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/23494052.pdf?_=1462465792275
[repr. pp. 343-388 in, Judaica minora. Saggi sulla storia dell’ebraismo italiano dall’antichità all’età moderna (Milano :  Giuffré, 1983); Katz Center - Stacks. DS135.I8 C65 1983].

Del Barco, Javier del Barco and Ignacio Panizos Santos
"Fragmentos de incunables hebreos en documentos inquisitoriales del Tribunal de Calahorra-Longroño," Huarte de San Juan.  Geografia e historia 17 (2010) 295-308
http://academica-e.unavarra.es/bitstream/handle/2454/9194/HSJ_GH_17_2010_Fragmentos.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y

Dimitrovsky, Hayim Zalman
S’ridei Bavli: Fragments from Spanish and Portuguese Incunabula and Sixteenth Century Printings of the Babylonian Talmud and al-Fasi, 2 volumes
New York:  Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1979
Katz Center - Reference Folio. BM499.2 .D55 1979

Di Nola, Annalisa
“Un altro  incunabolo ebraico alla Casanatense,” La Rassegna Mensile di Israel 56 (1990) 85-86
https://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/41285734.pdf?_=1462457218063

Freimann, Aron
"Two Incunabula at the Vatican," [Hebrew] Alim.  Blätter für Bibliographie und Geschichtes des Judentums 1 (1934) 12-15
Availabe via HebrewBooks.org.  http://hebrewbooks.org/28669

Freimann, Aaron
“Über hebraische Inkunabeln,” Centralblatt für Bibliothekswesen 19 (1902) 108-17
Research Annex (LIBRA). Z671 .C39
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library. http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015036757923;view=1up;seq=7

Freimann, Aron
“Die hebräischen Inkunabeln der Stadtbibliothek zu Frankfurt a. M,” pp. 131-144 in, Festgabe für Friedrich Clemens Ebrard, zur vollendung seines 70. Lebensjahres am 26. Juni 1920; gewidmet von seinen Freunden (Frankfurt am Main :  J. Baer & Co., 1920)
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/001761303

Freimann, Aron
"Die hebräischen Inkunabeln der Druckereien in Spanien und Portugal," pp. 203-206 in, Gutenbergfestschrift, zur Feier des 25 jährigen Bestehens des Gutenbergmuseums in Mainz (Mainz: Verlag der Gutenberg-Gesellschaft, 1925) ed. Aloys Ruppel
Research Annex (LIBRA). 655.1 G983

Friedman, Shamma
“Two Early "Unknown" Editions of the Mishna,” [important review article] Jewish Quarterly Review 65 (1974) 115-121
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .J48
Research Annex (LIBRA).  DS101 .J48
http://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/1454141.pdf

Goldschmidt, Daniel
"An Early Edition of a Spanish Mahzor," [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 47 (1972) 711-719
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Goldstein, D.
Hebrew incunables in the British Isles: a preliminary census
London: British Library, 1985
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z240.A1 G64 1985
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Reference Collection. Z240.A1 G59 1985

Günzburg, David de
“Le premier livre imprimé en hébreu,” pp. 57-121 in, לחם חמדות לדניאל איל חמדות = Recueil des travaux redigés en mémoire de jubilé scientifique de Daniel Chwolson, (Berlin:  S. Calvary & Company, 1899)
Katz Center – Stacks. BM42.C496 G869 1899

Gutwirth, Eleazar
“Techne and Culture:  Printers and Readers in Fifteenth-Century Hispano-Jewish Communities,” pp. 338-367 in, The Late Medieval Hebrew Book in the Western Mediterranean.  Hebrew Manuscripts and Incunabula in Context (Leiden; Boston:  Brill, 2015) ed. Javier del Barco.  
Katz Center – Stacks. Z115.4.L38 2015
Van Pelt Library.  Z115.4.L38 2015

Hill, Brad Sabin
Incunabula, Hebraica & Judaica : five centuries of Hebraica and Judaica, rare Bibles, and Hebrew incunables from the Jacob M. Lowy Collection : exhibition catalogue = Inkunabulim u-sefarim nedirim
Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1981
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z7070 .H541 1981
Katz Center - Stacks. Z7070 .H541 1981

Iakerson, Shimon
"Los primeros impresos hebreos de Sefarad (ca. 1475–1497?)  Early Hebrew Printing in Sepharad (ca. 1475–1497?)"
http://www.bne.es/es/Micrositios/Exposiciones/Biblias/resources/img/Estudio3.pdf

Iakerson, Shimon
“An Autograph Manuscript by Elijah Levita in St. Petersburg,” Omnia in Eo:  Studies on Jewish Books and Libraries in Honour of Adri Offenberg, Celebrating the 125th Anniversary of the Bibliotheca Rosenthaliana in Amsterdam = Studia Rosenthaliana 38/9 (2006) 178-185
Katz Center – Stacks. DS135.N4 S8
Van Pelt Library. DS135.N4 S8

Iakerson, Shimon
“An Unkown List of Hebrew Books,” Manuscripta Orientalia 4.1 (1998) 17-25
Van Pelt Library. Z108 .M368
http://www.islamicmanuscripts.info/reference/articles/Iakerson-1998-MO-04-1-Hebrew-Lis.PDF

Iakerson, Shimon
“Unknown Sephardi Incunabula,” pp. 297-312 in, The Late Medieval Hebrew Book in the Western Mediterranean.  Hebrew Manuscripts and Incunabula in Context (Leiden; Boston:  Brill, 2015) ed. Javier del Barco.  
Katz Center – Stacks. Z115.4.L38 2015
Van Pelt Library.  Z115.4.L38 2015

Marx, Alexander
"Hebrew Incunabula," [important review article] Jewish Quarterly Review n.s. 11 (1920-1921) 98-119
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .J48

Marx, Alexander
"The Literature of Hebrew Incunabula," pp. 277-295 in, Studies in Jewish History and Booklore (New York:  The Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1944) ed. Alexander Marx
Library at the Katz Center - Stacks. BM45 .M379 1944
Library at the Katz Center - Hurowitz Collection. BM45 .M379 1944
Research Annex (LIBRA). 274.9 M369

Marx, Alexander
“The Choice of Books by the Printers of Hebrew Incunabula,” pp. 154-73 in, To Doctor R.:  Essays Here Collected and Published in Honor of the Seventieth Birthday of Dr. A. S. W. Rosenbach, July 22, 1946 (Philadelphia:  n.p., 1946) edd. Percy E. Lawler, John Fleming and Edwin Wolf 2nd
Katz Center –  Reference Room. Z1009 .R67 1946
Van Pelt Library. Z1009.Z3 R6

Marx, Alexander
 דף אחד אוריגינאלי מן ארבעה טורים הספר הראשון שנדפס בקונשטנדינא  = The first book printed in Constantinople : an original leaf of Jacob ben Asher's Arbaah Turim, Constantinople 1493
Oxford : Privately printed by John Johnson at the University Press, Oxford, for E.H.L. Sexton, 1946
Katz Center –  Stacks Folio. BM520.86 .A2 1946

Marx, Moses
"On the Date of the Appearance of the First Hebrew Book," pp. 481-501 in, Alexander Marx Jubilee Volume (New York :  Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1950)
Katz Center - Stacks. BM42.M379 L5432 1950
Van Pelt - Judaica/Ancient Near East Resource Room (401). BM40 .J54 1950

Marx, Moses
“A Catalogue of the Hebrew Books Printed in the Fifteenth Century Now in the Library of the Hebrew Union College,” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 1 (1953-54) 21-47
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. PN6067 .S883L
Van Pelt Library. PN6067 .S883
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  http://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/27943172.pdf?_=1459852408316

Mehlman, Israel
“The first Hebrew Prints (1475-1500),” [Hebrew] Areshet 5 (1972) 448-456
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. PERIODICAL
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 A74

Nissim, Daniele
“Il legame tra i processi di Trento contro gli ebrei e la tipografia ebraica di Piove di Sacco del 1475,” Annali dell'Istituto Storico Italo-Germanico in Trento 25 (1999) 669-678
Available at Yale, Princeton, Columbia et al., but does not circulate

Nissim, Daniele
“Gli Ebrei a Piove di Sacco e la prima tipografia ebraica,” La Rassegna Mensile di Israel 38 (1972) 167-176
http://www.jstor.org/tc/verify?origin=/stable/pdf/41283708.pdf?_=1462384987918

Offenberg, Adri K.
A choice of corals : facets of fifteenth-century Hebrew printing
Nieuwkoop : De Graaf Publishers, 1992
Katz Center – Reference Room. Z228.H4 O323 1992
Katz Center – Stacks. Z228.H4 O323 1992
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 O36 1992
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Rare Book Collection. Z228.H4 O36 1992

Offenberg, Adri K., Emile G.L. Schrijver and Frits J. Hoogewoud, edd.
Bibliotheca Rosenthaliana : treasures of Jewish booklore : marking the 200th anniversary of the birth of Leeser Rosenthal, 1794-1994
Amsterdam : Amsterdam University Press, c1994
Katz Center – Reference Folio. Z688.J48 B43 1994
Van Pelt Library. Z6375 .B534 1994

Offenberg, Adri K.; with the collaboration of Corretje Moed-van Walraven
Hebrew incunabula in public collections : a first international census
Nieuwkoop : de Graaf, 1990
Katz Center –  Stacks. Z240 .O35 1990
Katz Center –  Reference Room. Z240 .O35 1990
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Reference Collection. Z240 .O395 1990

Offenberg, Adri K.
“The printing history of the Constantinople Hebrew incunable of 1493:  a mediterranean voyage of discovery,” British Library Journal 22 (1996) 221-35
Van Pelt Library.  Z921 .B854 .B73
http://www.bl.uk/eblj/1996articles/pdf/article11.pdf

Offenberg, Adri K.
 “What do we know about the Very First Jewish Printers of Hebrew Books?,” Studia Rosenthaliana, 33 (1999) 174-80
Katz Center – Stacks. DS135.N4 S8
Van Pelt Library. DS135.N4 S8
http://www.jstor.org/stable/41482411?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

Offenberg, Adri K.
“The Honeycomb’s Flow:  Hebrew Incunables in the Valmadonna Trust Library,” pp. 10-51, in Treasures of the Valmadonna Trust Library.  A catalogue of 15th-century books and five centuries of deluxe Hebrew printing (London; New York :  
Valmadonna Trust Library, 2011)  ed. David Sclar
Katz Center - Stacks. Z228.H4 T74 2011
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 T74 2011

Offenberg, Adri K.
“What do we know about Hebrew Printing in Guadalajara, Híjar, and Zamora?,” pp. 313-337 in, The Late Medieval Hebrew Book in the Western Mediterranean.  Hebrew Manuscripts and Incunabula in Context (Leiden; Boston:  Brill, 2015) ed. Javier del Barco.  
Katz Center – Stacks. Z115.4.L38 2015
Van Pelt Library.  Z115.4.L38 2015

Offenberg, Adri K.
“Untersuchungen zum hebräischen Buchdruck in Neapel um 1490,” pp. 129-144 in, Buch und Text im 15. Jahrhundert (Hamburg : Hauswedell, 1981) edd. Lotte Hellinga and Helmar Ha¨rtel
Van Pelt Library. Z124 .B97

Offenberg, Adri K.
"Literature on Hebrew Incunabula since the Second World War," pp. 363-377 in, Hellinga Festschrift: Feestbundel :  Forty-three studies in bibliography presented to Prof. Dr. Wytze Hellinga on the occasion of his retirement from the Chair of Neophilology in the University of Amsterdam at the end of the year 1978 (Amsterdam :   Israël, 1980) ed. A.R.A. Croiset van Uchelen
Van Pelt Library. Z1005 .H44

Offenberg, Adri K.
“Hebrew Incunabula in European libraries:  A provisional list of bibliographical tools,” Appendix II pp. 1-10 in, A Guide to Libraries of Judaica and Hebraica in Europe (Copenhagen : Det Kongelige Bibliotek, 1985) edd. F.J.Hoogewoud, U. Haxen, A.K. Offenberg and G. Weill
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z675.J4 H66 1985

Offenberg, Adri K.
“De eerste gedrukte uitgaven van Rasji’s Pentateuch-commentaar:  Over enige zeldzame end eels unieke Hebreeuwse incunabelen,” pp. 204-221 in, ספר מכתם לדוד  / Een gulden kleinood :  Liber Amicorum aangeboden aan de heer D. Goudsmit ter gelegenheid van zijn afscheid als bibliothecaris van ‘EtsHaim/ Livraria Montezinos’ van de Portugees-Israëlietische Gemeente te Amsterdam (Kessel-Lo ; Louvain :  Apeldoorn, 1991) edd. Harm den Boer, Jeanne Brombacher and Peter Cohen
Available via BorrowDirect from Princeton University

Offenberg, Adri K.
“The chronology of Hebrew printing at Mantua in the fifteenth century :  A re-examination,” The Library 6. ser. 16 (1994) 298-315
Van Pelt Library. Z671 .L69
http://library.oxfordjournals.org/content/s6-16/4/298.full.pdf+html

Pavoncello, Nello
“La Bibbia ebraica di Soncino del 1488,” Accademie e Biblioteche d’Italia 56 (1988) 43-45
Van Pelt Library. Z671 .A18

Pavoncello, Nello
“Il primo libro ebraico stampato in Reggio Calabria?,” Klearchos 6 (1964) 53-60
Research Annex (LIBRA).  DG975.C13 K53

Pavoncello, Nello
“La tipografia ebraica a Roma,” La Rassegna mensile di Israel 36 (1970) 369-377
http://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/41283274.pdf?_=1462368586348

Pettas, William A.
“The Cost of Printing a Florentine Incunable,” La Bibliofilia 75 (1973) 67-85
Van Pelt Library. Z1007 .B56

Piattelli, Mordechai Angelo and Amedeo Spagnoletto
“Incunaboli ebraici della Biblioteca Angelica non censiti dall'IGI,” La Rassegna Mensile di Israel 56 (1990) 63-75
https://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/41285734.pdf?_=1462457218063

Piattelli, Mordechai Angelo
“Ancora due incunaboli ebraici non recensiti dall’IGl,” La Rassegna Mensile di Israel 56 (1990) 77-83
https://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/41285734.pdf?_=1462457218063

Piattelli, Angelo
“I quattro manoscritti e l’incunabolo della biblioteca di Pitigliano, oggi presso il Centro Bibliografico dell’UCEI,” La Rassegna Mensile di Israel 57 (1991) 509-531
https://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/41285866.pdf?_=1462538808344

Pollak, Michael
“The Daily Performance of a Printing Press in 1476:  Evidence from a Hebrew Incunable,” Gutenberg-Jahrbuch (1974) 66-76
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .G98
Available on-line.  http://www.digizeitschriften.de/dms/toc/?PPN=PPN366382810

Pollak, Michael
“The Performance of the Wooden Printing Press,” The Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy 42.2 (1972) 218 - 264
https://www.digizeitschriften.de/dms/img/?PID=GDZPPN000484997

Pollak, Michael
“Printing in Venice — Before Gutenberg?,” The Library Quarterly 45 (1975) 287-308
Research Annex (LIBRA). Z671 .L713
http://www.jstor.org/stable/4306023

Pollak, Michael
“The Prophetess Deborah and the Invention of Printing,” [concerning the colophon in Arba’a Turim, Piove de Sacco, 1475] Visible Language 7.4 (1973) 345-50
Van Pelt Library. Z119 .J88

Pavoncello, Nello
“Due edizioni ebraiche del XV secolo nella Biblioteca comunale ariostea di Ferrara,” Accademie e Biblioteche d’Italia 55 (1987) 124-26
Van Pelt Library. Z671 .A18

Reyes Gómez, Fermín de los
“Juan de Lucena, La Puebla de Montalbán y las imprentas hebreas incunables,” Crónicas revista trimestral de carácter cultural de La Puebla de Montalbán 15 (2010) 34-37
http://lascumbresdemontalban.com/wp-content/subidas/cronicas_15_web.pdf

Rosenthal, Avraham
“Some remarks on «The daily performance of a printing press in 1476»,” Gutenberg- Jahrbuch 54 (1979) 39-50
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .G98
Available on-line.  https://www.digizeitschriften.de/dms/img/?PID=GDZPPN000488267

Schaeper, Silke
“Inventory of Hebrew Incunabula <in the Bodleian Library>,”
http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0005/48866/bod-inc_Volume_6_Hebrew.pdf

Schmelzer, Menahem
"Hebrew Incunabula: An Agenda for Research," Judaica librarianship 2 (1985) 68-71
Katz Center - Periodicals B2. Z675.J4 A57

Schwab, Moïse
Les incunables orientaux et les impressions orientales au commencement du XVIe siècle, rapport à M. le ministre de l’instruction publique sur une mission en Bavière et en Wurtemburg
Nieuwkoop : B. de Graaf, 1964 ; repr. of Paris: L. Techener, 1883
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z7070 .S39 1964
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Reference Collection. Z240 .S39
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015077901653;view=1up;seq=8

Schwab, Moïse
"Un incunable hébreu," Revue des études juives 12 (1886) 119-20
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .R45
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .R45
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=umn.31951001360886g;view=1up;seq=211

Schwab, Moïse
“Pages manuscrites insérées dans un incunable hébreu,” Revue des études Juives 68 (1914) 273-277
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .R45
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .R45

Schwarzbach, Bertram
"Les incunables hébraïques du cardinal Mazarin et de la bibliothèque Mazarine,"  Bulletin du Bibliophile (2011) 276-303
Available at Princeton University et al. for use in the Library only

Sclar, David, ed.; with bibliographic studies by Brad Sabin Hill, Adri K. Offenberg and Isaac Yudlov
Treasures of the Valmadonna Trust Library : a catalogue of 15th-century books and five centuries of deluxe Hebrew printing
London ; New York : Valmadonna Trust Library, c2011
Katz Center –  Reference Folio. Z228.H4 T74 2011
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 T74 2011

Seeligmann, Sigmund
"Ein Portugiesischer Talmuddruck," Zeitschrift für hebräische Bibliographie 12 (1908) 16–19
Katz Center – Reference Room. Z6367 .Z48
Katz Center – Stacks. Z6367 .Z48
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uc1.l0062134788;view=1up;seq=30;size=125

Sheehan, William
“Hebrew Incunabula in the Collections of the Vatican Library,” Miscellanea Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae IV (1990) 365-383
Katz Center –  Periodicals Gallery. Z933.V383 M57
Van Pelt Library. Z810.B38 M57 1987

Simonsen, David
Zur Bücherkunde, pp. 164-168 at p. 166, in Festschrift zum achtzigsten Geburtstage M. Steinscbneiders, Leipzig :  O. Harrassowitz, 1896
Katz Center - Stacks. BM42.S845 T48 1896
Katz Center - Stacks. BM42.S845 T48 1969
Van Pelt Library. BM42 .F42
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100567881

Slijper, E.      
“Eine portugiesische Talmud-Ausgabe vor 1500,” Zeitschrift für Bücherfreunde 12 (1908) 207-209
Research Annex (LIBRA).  10.5 Z37
Available via HathiTrust Digital Library.  http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=mdp.39015059802895;view=1up;seq=10

Spiegel, Jacob
“The tractate Hagigah:  Citations from a Spanish printing before the expulsion,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 57 (1982) 725-26
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Stillwell, Margaret
“Hebrew Incunabula in America (a census),” Journal of Jewish Bibliography 2 (1940) 67-77
Library at the Katz Center - Periodicals B1. PERIODICAL

Tamani, Giuliano.
“Inventario degli incunaboli ebraici della Biblioteca Comunale di Piacenza,” La Bibliofilia LXXII, no. 3 (1970) 221-246
Van Pelt Library. Z1007 .B56

Tamani, Giuliano
“Inventario degli incunaboli ebraici della Biblioteca Palatina di Parma,” La Bibliofilia LXXV, no. 3 (1973) 239-281
Van Pelt Library. Z1007 .B56

Tamani, Giuliano
“Gli incunaboli ebraici delle Biblioteche d'Italia,” pp. 281-304 in volume 6, Indice generale degli incunaboli delle biblioteche d’Italia: a cura del Centro nazionale d’informazioni bibliografiche (Roma: Istituto poligrafico e zecca dello Stato, Libreria dello Stato, 1981)
Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Reference Collection. Folio Z2347.I88 n.s., no.1
Research Annex (LIBRA). Z240 .G915

Tamani, Giuliano
Tipografia ebraica a Soncino, 1483-1490 : catalogo della mostra
Soncino, Italy : Edizione dei Soncino, 1988
Katz Center – Reference Room. Z232.S69 T34 1988

Tamani, Giuliano
“La tipografia ebraica a Brescia e a Barco nel sec. XV,” pp. 61-80 in, I primordi della stampa a Brescia, 1472-1511  (Padova :   Editrice Antenore, 1987) ed. Ennio Sandal
Van Pelt Library. Z156.B8 C76

Teicher, Jacob L.
“Fragments of unknown Hebrew incunables,” Journal of Jewish Studies. I (1948) 105-110
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. BM1 .J63
Van Pelt Library. BM1 .J63

Teicher, Jacob L.
“An Unidentified Hebrew Incunabule,” pp 128-136 in, Between East and West, Essays Dedicated to the Memory of Bela Horovitz (London:  East and West Library, 1958) ed. Alexander Altmann
Katz Center – Stacks. BM42.H676 A586 1958

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 58 (1983) 808-52
Katz Center –  Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula in Israel,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 59 (1984) 946-59
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula II,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 60 (1985) 865-962
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula – Spain and Portugal (Guadaljara),” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 61 (1986/7) 521-46
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula (4):  Italy,” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 62 (1988/9) 361-406
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula (5) Italy:  Soncino (2),” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 63 (1990/1) 603-36
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“A Comprehensive Bibliography on Hebrew Incunabula,” [Hebrew] [398 entries] Kiryat Sefer 63 (1990/1) 579-602
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Tishby, Peretz
“Hebrew Incunabula (5) Italy:  Soncino (3),” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 64 (1992/3) 689-726
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Valle Rodríguez, Carlos del
“Dos nuevos incunables hebreos españoles y su censo,” Sefarad 51 (1991) 199-202 and 453
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .S4
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .S4

Yudlov, Isaac
“A Document Regarding the Sale of Incunabulum in Naples in the Fifteenth Century,” [Hebrew] Asufot 10 (1995) 71-108
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. BM1 .A79
Van Pelt Library. BM1 .A79

Yudlov, Isaac
“The First Mahzors According to the Roman Rite, Soncino 5246 (1485/6) – Fano 5264 (1503/4),” [Hebrew] Kiryat Sefer 64 (1992/3) 1435-48
Katz Center – Periodicals Gallery. Z6367 .K57
Van Pelt Library. Z6367 .K57

Zafren, H.C.
“Bible editions, Bible study and the early history of Hebrew Printing,” [73 incunables] Eretz-Israel 16 (1982) *240-*51
Katz Center – Reference Room. DS111.A2 E7
Katz Center – Stacks. DS111.A2 E7
Van Pelt - Judaica/Ancient Near East Resource Room (401). DS111.A2 E7

15th Century Hebrew Imprints at the Beinicke Library, Yale University
http://www.library.yale.edu/judaica/site/collection/incunabula.php

Hebrew Incunabula at the Library of Congress:  A Short-Title List
http://www.loc.gov/rr/amed/pdf/HebrewIncunabula.pdf