Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of the Early Printed Hebrew Book

Northern Europe

Arnheim, Arthur
“Altonas Hebraiske Bogtrykkerier,” Fund og Forskning i Det Kongelige Biblioteks Samlinger 39 (2000) 67-84
Van Pelt Library. Z941 .C68
Research Annex (LIBRA).  Z941 .C68
https://tidsskrift.dk/index.php/fundogforskning/article/viewFile/1370/2220

Bekius, Rene´
“Polyglot Amsterdam printing presses 1620s-1720s: Armenian and Jewish printers compared,” pp. 23-64 in, Printing and publishing in the Middle East : papers from the second Symposium on the History of Printing and Publishing in the Languages and Countries of the Middle East  (Oxford : published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the University of Manchester, 2008) ed.  Philip Sadgrove
Katz Center - Stacks. Z464.S957 2005

Biberfeld, Eduard
Die hebräischen Druckereien zu Karlsruhe i.B und ihre Drucke : mit Benutzung der Akten des Grossh. Badischen General-Landes-Archivs
Karlsruhe : Bielefeld, 1898
Katz Center - Stacks Box 1. Z148.K3 B5 1898
https://archive.org/details/diehebrischendr00biebgoog
http://sammlungen.ub.uni-frankfurt.de/freimann/content/titleinfo/1330763

Boer, Harm den
"Amsterdam as 'Locus' of Iberian Printing in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries," pp. 87-110 in, The Dutch Intersection.  The Jews and the Netherlands in Modern History (Leiden :  Brill, 2008) ed. Yosef Kaplan
Katz Center - Stacks. DS135.N4 D87 2008
Van Pelt Library. DS135.N4 D87 2008

Brann, Markus
“Geschichte und Annalen der Dyhernfurther Druckerei,” Monatsschrift für Geschichte und Wissenschaft des Judentums 40 (1896) 474-480, 515-526, 560-574
Katz Center - Periodicals B1. DS101 .M6
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .M6

Brilling, Bernhard
“Zur Geschichte der hebräischen Buchdruckereien in Altona,” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 13 (1980) 26-35
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. PN6067 .S883L
Van Pelt Library. PN6067 .S883
http://www.jstor.org/action/showPublication?journalCode=studbibliobook

Brilling, Bernhard
“Jüdische Buchdruckerei in Auras (Niederschlesien),” pp. 97-100 in, Festschrift für Aron Freimann zum 60. Geburtstage (Berlin : Die Gesellschaft, 1935) ) edd. Alexander Marx and Hermann Meyer
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 .F4

Brilling, Bernhard
“Jüdische Buchdruckerfamilien in Frankfurt a.d. Oder,” Archiv für Geschichte des Buchwesens 13 (1957) 1537-1548
Van Pelt Library.  Z4 .A7

Brilling, Bernhard
“Letters of a Jewish publisher in Frankfurt on the Oder, 1708-1709,” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 8.1 (1966) 25-37
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. PN6067 .S883L
Van Pelt Library. PN6067 .S883
http://www.jstor.org/stable/27943391?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

Brilling, Bernhard
“Wann ist der erste hebräische Druck in Dyhernfurth erschienen?, ” Zeitschrift für die Geschichte der Juden in Deutschland (1937) 109-112
http://sammlungen.ub.uni-frankfurt.de/download/pdf/2262710?name=Wann%20ist%20der%20erste%20hebr%C3%A4ische%20Druck%20in%20Dyhernfurth%20erschienen

Brilling, Bernhard
“Auras in Niederschlesien als Sitz einer jüdischen Druckerei,”  Zeitschrift für die Geschichte der Juden in Deutschland (1936) 24-28
http://sammlungen.ub.uni-frankfurt.de/download/pdf/2262113?name=Auras%20in%20Niederschlesien%20als%20Sitz%20einer%20j%C3%BCdischen%20Druckerei

Brilling, Bernhard
“Zur Geschichte der Hebräische Buchdruckerei in Franfurt a. d. Oder / Urkundliche Beiträge (I-IV),” Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 1 (1953-195) 84-94, 145-156; 2 (1955-1956) 79-96, 102-106
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. PN6067 .S883L
Van Pelt Library. PN6067 .S883

Brilling, Bernhard
“Gründung und Privilegien der hebräischen Buchdruckerei in Frankfurt a. 0,” Monatsschrift für Geschichte und Wissenschaft des Judentums 80.3 (1936) 262-275
Katz Center - Periodicals B1. DS101 .M6
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .M6
http://www.jstor.org/stable/23110331?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

Burnett, Stephen G.
“German Jewish printing in the Reformation era (1530-1633),” pp. 503-527 in, Jews, Judaism, and the Reformation in sixteenth-century Germany (Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2006) edd. Dean Phillip Bell and Stephen G. Burnett
Katz Center - Stacks. BR355.J4 J49 2006

Fuks, Leo and Renate Fuks-Mansfeld
Hebrew Typography in the Northern Netherlands, 1585-1815: Historical Evaluation, and Descriptive Bibliography, 2 volumes
Leiden : Brill, 1984
Katz Center - Reference Room. Z228.H4 F84 1984
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 F84 1984

Glaser, Willie
The Hebrew Printers of Sulzbach in Upper Palatine
http://www.rijo.homepage.t-online.de/pdf/EN_BY_JU_sulz.pdf

Gruss, Noé
“L’Imprimerie hébraique en France (XVIe-XIXe siècles)," Revue des études Juives 125 1966) 77-91
Katz Center - Periodicals Gallery. DS101 .R45
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .R45

Heller, Marvin J.
“Ambrosius Froben, Israel Zifroni, and Hebrew Printing in Freiburg-im-Breisgau,” Gutenberg-
Jahrbuch (2005) 137-148
Van Pelt Library. Z1008 .G98
https://www.digizeitschriften.de/dms/img/?PID=PPN366382810_0080|LOG_0023

Heller, Marvin J.
"A Tale of Two Cities:  Leipzig, Hambrug, and Don Isaac Abrabanel," Gutenberg Jahrbuch (2010) 153-161
https://www.digizeitschriften.de/dms/img/?PID=PPN366382810_0085|LOG_0027

Hillesum, Jeremias Meyer
Het eerste te Amsterdam gedrukte hebreeuwsche boek
Amsterdam, Levisson, 1910
Katz Center - Stacks Box 1. Z228.H4 H55 1910

Künast, Hans-Jörg
“Jüdische Themen im Augsburger Buchdruck bis zur Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts,” pp. 285-297 in, Geschichte und Kultur der Juden in Schwaben II. Neuere Forschungen und Zeitzeugenberichte (Stuttgart : Thorbecke Verlag, 2000) ed. Peter Fassl
Van Pelt Library. DS135.G4 S385 2000

Künast, Hans-Jörg
“Hebräisch-jüdischer Buchdruck in Schwaben in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts,”, pp. 277-303 in, Landjudentum im deutschen Südwesten während der Frühen Neuzeit (Berlin :  Akademie Verlag, 1999) edd. Rolf Kiessling and Sabine Ullmann
Van Pelt Library. DS135.G32 L355 1999

Landsberger, Julian
“Zur Geschichte der jüdischen Buchdruckerei in Dyhernfurth und des jüdischen Buchhandels,” Monatsschrift für Geschichte und Wissenschaft des Judentums 39 (1895) 120-133, 187-192, 230-238
Katz Center - Periodicals B1. DS101 .M6
Van Pelt Library. DS101 .M6

Offenberg, Adri K.
“The Riddle of the Baskets of 1726.  A Glimpse of Jewish Book Production at Amsterdam in the first half of the Eighteenth Century,” pp. 57-80 in, Studies in Hebrew literature and Jewish culture : presented to Albert van der Heide on the occasion of his sixty-fifth birthday (Dordrecht : Springer, c2007) edd. Martin F.J. Baasten and Reinier Munk
Katz Center - Stacks. DS113 .S78 2007
Van Pelt Library. DS113 .S78 2007

Prijs, Joseph
Die Basler hebräischen Drucke, 1492-1866 : Im Auftrag der O¨ffentlichen Bibliothek der Universität Basel
Olten : Urs Graf-Verlag, 1964, c1965
Katz Center - Reference Folio. Z176.B37 P75 1965
Research Annex (LIBRA). 27.4494 B293P

Rosenfeld, Moshe Nathan
Jewish printing in Karlsruhe : a concise bibliography of Hebrew and Yiddish publications, printed in Karlsruhe between 1755 and 1840, including a listing of Judaica until the year 1899 based on public & private collections and Genizah discoveries
London : M. N. Rosenfeld, 1997
Katz Center - Reference Folio. Z228.H4 K3R66 1997

Rosenfeld, Moshe Nathan
"Jüdischer Buchdruck am Beispiel der Sulzbacher Druckerei," pp. 237 - 244 in, Geschichte und Kultur der Juden in Bayern (München ; New York : Saur, 1988) edd. Manfred Treml and Joseph Kirmeier
Van Pelt Library. DS135.G4 B325 1988

Rosenfeld, Moshe Nathan; with an appendix 'Archival Notes' by Ralf Rossmeissl
Jewish printing in Wilhermsdorf : a concise bibliography of Hebrew and Yiddish publications, printed in Wilhermsdorf between 1670 and 1739, showing aspects of Jewish life in Mittelfranken three centuries ago based on public & private collections and Genizah discoveries
London : M. N. Rosenfeld, 1995
Katz Center - Reference Folio. Z228.H4 W3R66 1995

Rosenfeld, Moshe N.
Der jüdische Buchdruck in Augsburg in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts
London, 1985    
Available via BorrowDirect from Yale University or Princeton University

Schmelzer, Menahem H.
“Hebrew Printing and Publishing in Germany, 1650-1750.  On Jewish Book Culture and the Emergence of Modern Jewry,” Leo Baeck Institute Yearbook 33 (1988) 369-383
Katz Center - Periodicals B1.  Periodical
Van Pelt Library. DS135.G3 A262

Schmelzer, Menahem H.
“Daniel Ernst Jablonski <1660-1741>, the Grandson of Comenius, bishop of the Moravian church and Berlin's Hebrew printing press,” pp. 566-88 in: Studia Comeniana et Historica. Studien zu Comenius und zur Comeniusrezeption in Deutschland. Festschrift für Werner Korthaase zum 70. Geburtstag  (Uherský Brod : Muzeum J. A. Komenského, 2008) edd. Petr Zemek, Jirí Beneš and Beate Motel
Available via ILL.

Schram, Wilhelm
"Die erste hebräische Buchdruckeri in Mähren (1754)," pp. 83-104 in vol. 2, Vaterländische Denkwürdigkeiten (Brünn, verlag des verfassers, 1906-1907)
Avaiable via HathiTrust Digital Library.  http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/100390730

Schwarzfuchs, Lyse
L'Hebreu dans le livre a Geneve au XVIe siecle
Geneve : Droz, 2011
Van Pelt Library. Z228.H4 S385 2011

Tamari, Ittai Joseph
“Über die jüdischen Druckereien Sulzbachs,” pp. 202-204 in, Ehemalige Synagoge Sulzbach : Festschrift zur Ero¨ffnung am 31. Januar 2013 (Sulzbach-Rosenberg : Stadt Sulzbach-Rosenberg, 2013) edd.
Johannes Hartmann and Elisabeth Vogl
Van Pelt Library. BM318.S85 E34 2013

Tamari, Ittai Joseph
“Sulzbach - eine der bedeutendsten hebräischen Druckereien Europas,” pp. 53-68 in, Die Juden in der Oberpfalz (Mu¨nchen : Oldenbourg, 2009) edd. Michael Brenner and Renate Höpfinger
Van Pelt Library. DS134.36.O25 J84 2009

Targiel, Ralf-Rüdiger
“Gedruckt mit den Typen von Amsterdam - hebräischer Buchdruck in Frankfurt an der Oder,” pp. 450-481 in, Jüdisches Brandenburg - Geschichte und Gegenwart (Berlin :  VBB, Verlag fu¨r Berlin-Brandenburg, 2008) ed. Irene Diekmann
Van Pelt Library. DS134.36.B73 J83 2008

Weinberg, Magnus
“Die hebräischen Druckereien in Sulzbach,” Jahrbuch der jüdisch-literarischen Gesellschaft 1 (1903) 19-202, 15 (1923) 125-55,  21 (1930) 319-70
Katz Center - Stacks. DS101 .J8

Zafren, Herbert C.
“Amsterdam:  Center of Hebrew Printing in the Seventeenth Century,” Jewish Book Annual 35 (1977/8) 47-55
Katz Center – Stacks. PN6067 .J4
Van Pelt Library. PN6067 .J4

Zafren, Herbert C.
“Hebrew Printing by and for Frankfurt Jews – to 1800,” pp. 231-69 in, Jüdische Kultur in Frankfurt am Main von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart (Wiesbaden : Otto Harrassowitz, 1997) ed. Karl Erich Grözinger
Van Pelt Library. DS135.G4 F68533 1997