Bioethical dilemmas--including those over genetic screening, compulsory vaccination, and abortion--have been the subject of ongoing debates in the media, among the public, and in professional and academic communities. But the paramount bioethical issue in an age of digital technology and new media, Joanna Zylinska argues, is the transformation of the very notion of life. In this provocative book, Zylinska examines many of the ethical challenges that technology poses to the allegedly sacrosanct idea of the human. In doing so, she goes beyond the traditional understanding of bioethics as a matter for moral philosophy and medicine to propose a new "ethics of life" rooted in the relationship between the human and the nonhuman (both animals and machines) that new technology prompts us to develop.
Shows how mediations of bodily vulnerability have become a strong political force in contemporary societies. In discussions and struggles concerning war involvement, healthcare issues, charity, democracy movements, contested national pasts, and climate change, performances of bodily vulnerability is increasingly used by citizens to raise awareness, create sympathy, encourage political action, and to circulate information in global media networks.
Describes literature on civil society / state interactions in national health systems, civil society contributions to pro-poor, health equity policies, and civil society influence on global health policy.
Topics covered include: values, policies and rights; health equity in economic and trade policies; poverty and health; equitable health services; human resources for health; public-private mix; resource allocation and health financing; equity and HIV / AIDS; governance and participation in health; monitoring equity and research to policy.
Contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
Global Health consists of more than 1.2 million record. Research content covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.
Non-governmental agency consisting of faculty and health care educators dedicated to global education in health professions schools and residency programs.
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.
A fulltext collection of international health communication materials: pamphlets, posters, audiotapes, videos, training materials, job aids, electronic media and other media/materials designed to promote public health.
Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracting for the health literature published in Latin America and the Caribbean, especially focusing on Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Honduras, and Mexico.
Contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Included are the following two databases: Native Health History Database Citations and abstracts for information dating from 1652 to approximately 1966. Native Health Research Database Citations and abstracts for information dating from 1966 to the present.
"The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples." Included are the following two databases: Native Health History Database Citations and abstracts for information dating from 1652 to approximately 1966. Native Health Research Database Citations and abstracts for information dating from 1966 to the present.
Bioethics in the Age of New Media by 
Global Media, Biopolitics, and Affect by 
