In-depth ethnographic and interdisciplinary study about the trajectories in media activism among young residents of low-income and violence-ridden favelas in socially unequal Rio de Janeiro. Provides multifaceted analyses of how favela youth engage in individual and collective media activist initiatives despite social class constraints and neoliberal imperatives in their everyday life.
Framing the Net by Rikke Frank Jørgensen
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
"Theoretical analysis and practical case-study stimulate critical reflection on how we should connect the primary moral domain of our time - human rights - with the primary infrastructure for global communication, the Internet. This book is a must read for all who engage with the search for meaningful and practical normative directions for communications in the 21st century."--Cees J. Hamelink, University of Amsterdam
Shaw argues that journalism should focus on deconstructing the underlying structural and cultural causes of political violence such as poverty, famineandhuman trafficking,and play a proactive (preventative), rather than reactive (prescriptive) role in humanitarian intervention.
This book examines information reported within the media regarding the interaction between the Black Panther Party and government agents in the Bay Area of California (1967-1973). Christian Davenport argues that the geographic locale and political orientation of the newspaper influences how specific details are reported, including who starts and ends the conflict, who the Black Panthers target (government or non-government actors), and which part of the government responds (the police or court).
The U.S. victims rights movement has transformed the way that violent crime is understood and represented in the United States...examines how the victims rights movement brought about such a marked shift in how Americans define and portray crime. Analyzing the movement's effective mobilization of activist networks and its implementation of media strategies, the author interprets texts such as press kits, online victim memorials, and training materials for victims advocates and journalists.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts describing scholarly literature in all aspects of urban studies. Topics include trends in urbanization, urban history, architecture and urban design, housing and real estate, urban development and redevelopment, urban planning and land use, environment and resource conservation, transporation and communication, crime and law enforcement, urban economics, social services and public services, politics and government, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and social issues.
Full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than 400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Full text archive of Phila Tribune, Jewish Exponent , and nearly 200 other ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals -- both English and Spanish.
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world in general, including Muslims in Africa and Asia and major Muslim minorities worldwide. Topics covered include: education, law, bibliography and scholarship, libraries, philosophy, natural and applied sciences, arts, architecture, geography and travel, social sciences, archaeology, history, economics, politics and current affairs, as well as religion and theology
Nonprofit organization of more than 1,700 members worldwide, with chapters in the United States and Asia, AAJA strives to provide a means of association and support among Asian American and Pacific Islander journalists.
The Pittsburgh Courier was the leading Black newspaper of the last century. No mere journal of African American life, the Courier was a muckraking crusader in the vanguard of the civil rights movement.
Follows the 2002 race for Mayor of Newark, N.J. between 32-year-old Cory Booker and four-term incumbent Sharpe James. Fought in Newark's neighborhoods and housing projects, the election pits the young challenger against an old style political machine
Offers a comprehensive and contemporary survey of the key themes, approaches and debates in the field of media and human rights. The Companion is the first collection to bring together two distinct ways of thinking about human rights and media, including scholarship that examines media as a human right alongside that which looks at media coverage of human rights issues.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
These links will take you directly into a New Franklin search on these specific subject headings. Whodathunk the Library of Congress was still using the subject heading "Indians in mass media" (as opposed to Native Americans...).