A study of the global anti-rape movement in eight nations which organized marches (Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, the UK and the US), examines representations of the movement in mainstream news and feminist blogs, and documents the experiences, routines and strategies of 22 organizers who were involved in the movement between 2011 and 2014.
Disability rights advocates in the United Kingdom and the United States recently embraced new media technologies in unexpected and innovative ways. This book sheds light on this process of renewal and asks whether the digitalisation of disability rights advocacy can help re-configure political participation into a more inclusive experience for disabled Internet users, enhancing their stakes in democratic citizenship. Through the examination of social media content, Web link analysis, and interviews with leading figures in grassroots groups on both sides of the Atlantic,Trevisan reveals the profound impact that the Internet has had on disability advocacy in the wake of the austerity agenda that followed the 2008 global financial crisis.
The first in-depth exploration of how Latin American feminist and queer activists have interpreted the internet to support their counterpublics. Aided by a global network of women and men dedicated to establishing an accessible internet, activists have developed identities, constructed communities, and honed strategies for social change. And by translating the internet into their own vernacular, they have transformed the technology itself.
GenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues.
This full-text database provides international coverage of current issues such as employment and the workplace, social & political issues, violence and exploitation, development and human rights, health and reproductive rights, legal issues, education, culture and customs, demographics, contemporary family life, and arts and media.
Indexing with abstracts for scholarly and professional journal literature in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include: crisis intervention, evaluation research, family welfare, gerontology, policy, planning, and forecasting, poverty and homelessness, social development, support groups and support networks, violence, abuse, and neglect, and welfare services, as well as professional issues and education in social work.
Covers social work and other related topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Bibliographic citations for books and articles on women's participation in political life worldwide. Produced by the Inter-Parliamentary Union with support from United Nations Development Programme.
A searchable collection of primary documents and images on a wide range of topics pertaining to U.S. women's history. The new Scholar's Edition features enhanced content and search tools that make it ideal for research and scholarship. It includes the Basic Edition plus 75,000 additional pages of previously inaccessible data and statistics from the publications of local and state commissions on women since 1963. These publications embrace an astonishing range of issues, employing pamphlets, posters, personal narratives, advice literature, training guides, interviews, and other ephemera that provide snapshots of women's struggle for equality over time and across regions. The items are rich in personal testimony, chronologies, milestones, biographies, laws and legal challenges, recommendations, training instruction, and self-help guides.
A searchable collection of primary documents and images on a wide range of topics pertaining to U.S. women's history. The new Scholar's Edition features enhanced content and search tools that make it ideal for research and scholarship. It includes the Basic Edition plus 75,000 additional pages of previously inaccessible data and statistics from the publications of local and state commissions on women since 1963. These publications embrace an astonishing range of issues, employing pamphlets, posters, personal narratives, advice literature, training guides, interviews, and other ephemera that provide snapshots of women's struggle for equality over time and across regions. The items are rich in personal testimony, chronologies, milestones, biographies, laws and legal challenges, recommendations, training instruction, and self-help guides. The Scholar's Edition is a must for anyone interested in in-depth research in US History, Women's Studies, and Sociology.
The Scholar's Edition will also include an indexed, searchable online edition of the highly respected research tool, Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (5 vols, 1971-2004), fully integrated into the broader Women and Social Movements database. For the first time, the rich resources of this biographical dictionary will be available to scholars online, employing the powerful research tools pioneered by Alexander Street.
Founded in 1990, the International Women’s Media Foundation is a vibrant organization dedicated to strengthening the role of women in the news media worldwide as a means to further freedom of the press.
Provides information on all types of media -- television, cable, film, radio, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, the Internet and other emerging media -- and the way in which they depict women and issues of interest to women. Their journal is available in paper only but their website includes issue summaries and other information.
Founded in 1990, NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members.
Non-profit research, education, and publishing organization founded in 1972. WIFP operates as a national and international network of media women and media-concerned women.
SlutWalk by 
Disability Rights Advocacy Online by 
Interpreting the Internet: feminist and queer counterpublics in Latin America by 