Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources Online
Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading. The following are available online through the Penn Library website, and a number also can be found in printed versions, usually in Van Pelt Reference.
Reference Sources in Print
The sources listed below are print volumes shelved in Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks, on the first floor of Van Pelt. This is only a sample, of course; try to find more with Franklin keyword searches, such as encyclopedias international relations.
International Relations: the Key Concepts by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference JZ1160 .G75 2014
Publication Date: 2014
'To attempt such a difficult task requires ambition, confidence and skill. All three qualities are evident in this impressive reference book. It deserves a prominent place in all International Relations libraries'. Dr Scott Burchill, In Australian Journal of Political Science, 43:4, 747 -- 766. Now in its third edition, International Relations: The Key Concepts, remains an important resource for anyone interested in international politics. Comprehensive and relevant, it has been fully revised to reflect the most important themes and issues in international relations in the post-9/11 era. Featuring new entries on: * The Arab Spring * Responsibility to Protect * Governmentality * Postcolonialism * Neoliberalism * Global Financial Crisis With suggestions for further reading and a useful guide to websites, International Relations: The Key Concepts is an ideal aid for students and newcomers to the field of International Relations.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Contains nearly 6,000 A-Z entries, with "full coverage of every international treaty since the founding of the League of Nations, with generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations."
Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference HF1359 .R68 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-27
The three-volume encyclopedia covers "the major theoretical issues and analytical approaches within the field...[and] provides detailed discussion of the contributions of key individuals and surveys a wide range of empirical conditions and developments within the global political economy, including its major institutions."
Globalization and Security by
Call Number: Van Pelt Reference D763.M47 G56 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Globalization and Security "covers the economic and political aspects of globalization, as well as its social and cultural impacts."