Skip to main content

SHARP2013

SHARP2013

Full Conference Schedule
Session Overview

Date: Thursday, 18/Jul/2013

8:00am
-
5:00pm
Registration Open
Location: Cohen Hall Schneidman Lobby
8:30am
-
10:00am
Breakfast
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
9:00am
-
11:00am
PCW-1: Pre-Conference Workshop: "Getting Published"
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Room 402

Facilitator: Jerome E. Singerman, Humanities Editor, University of Pennsylvania Press 

9:00am
-
3:00pm
SHARP Executive Committee Meeting
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center
10:00am
-
11:00am
Tour: Rare Book Department, Free Library of Philadelphia
Location: meet in Free Library of Philadelphia foyer

Tour led by: Janine Pollock, Head, Rare Book Department, Free Library of Philadelphia

10:00am
-
1:00pm
PCW-2: Pre-Conference Round Table: "Digitization Crossroads" and Tour of Schoenberg Institute for Electronic Text and Image
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Round Table participants: Mitch Fraas, University of Pennsylvania; Mark A. Greene, University of Wyoming; Melissa Homestead, University of Nebraska; August Imholtz, Jr., Readex (retired); Jen Rajchel, Tri-College Digital Humanities Initiative 

Facilitator: Alea Henle, independent scholar

Tour led by: David McKnight, Director, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

10:00am
-
1:00pm
PCW-3: Pre-Conference Workshop: "Not Just the Icing on the Cake: Integrating Special Collections into Teaching and Learning"
Location: Van Pelt Lea Library

Facilitators: Lynne Farrington, Curator of Printed Books, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania; John Pollack, Library Specialist for Public Services, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

10:30am
-
11:30am
Tour: Rosenbach Museum and Library
Location: meet at Rosenbach Museum and Library

Tour led by: Judy Guston, Director of Collections, Rosenbach Museum and Library

10:30am
-
12:00pm
Tour: Library Company of Philadelphia and Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Location: meet in Library Company of Philadelphia lobby

LCP Tour led by: James N. Green, Librarian, Library Company of Philadelphia

HSP Tour led by: Lee Arnold, Senior Director of the Library and Collections, Historical Society of Pennsylvania 

Tour: University of Pennsylvania Archives and Architectural Archives
Location: meet at University Archives

Archives tour led by: Mark Frazier Lloyd, Director, University Archives and Records Center, University of Pennsylvania 

Architectural Archives tour led by: William Whitaker, Curator and Collections Manager, Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania

11:00am
-
12:00pm
Tour: "A Legacy Inscribed: The Schoenberg Collection of Manuscripts" Exhibition (Penn Libraries)
Location: meet at Van Pelt Special Collections Center

Tour led by: exhibition curator Lynn RansomProject Manager, Schoenberg Database of Manuscripts, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

11:30am
-
12:30pm
Tour: Rosenbach Museum and Library
Location: meet at Rosenbach Museum and Library

Tour led by: Farrar Fitzgerald, Assistant Director of Education, Rosenbach Museum and Library

12:00pm
-
4:00pm
Book Exhibit Open
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
1:30pm
-
3:00pm
Tour: Library Company of Philadelphia and Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Location: meet in Library Company of Philadelphia lobby

LCP Tour led by: James N. Green, Librarian, Library Company of Philadelphia

HSP Tour led by: Lee Arnold, Senior Director of the Library and Collections, Historical Society of Pennsylvania 

Tour: University of Pennsylvania Archives and Architectural Archives
Location: meet at University Archives

Archives tour led by: Mark Frazier Lloyd, Director, University Archives and Records Center, University of Pennsylvania 

Architectural Archives tour led by: William Whitaker, Curator and Collections Manager, Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania

2:00pm
-
3:00pm
Tour: Rare Book Department, Free Library of Philadelphia
Location: meet in Free Library of Philadelphia foyer

Tour led by: Katharine Chandler, Reference Librarian, Rare Book Department, Free Library of Philadelphia

Tour: University of Pennsylvania Special Collections Center
Location: meet at Van Pelt Special Collections Center

Tour led by: William Noel, Director, Special Collections Center, and Founding Director, Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

4:00pm
-
5:30pm
K-1: Conference Welcome; Opening Keynote: Roger Chartier, "Geographies of the Book / Geographies in Books"
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Directeur d'Études, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales; Professeur, Collège de France; Annenberg Professor of History, University of Pennsylvania

Opening Remarks: Conference Convenor David McKnight, Director, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

Introduction by Peter StallybrassWalter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Humanities and Professor of English and of Comparative Literature and Literary Theory, University of Pennsylvania

5:30pm
-
7:30pm
Opening Reception
Location: Van Pelt Special Collections Center

Date: Friday, 19/Jul/2013

7:30am
-
8:30am
Breakfast
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
7:30am
-
12:00pm
Registration Open
Location: Cohen Hall Schneidman Lobby
8:00am
-
1:00pm
Book Exhibit Open
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
8:30am
-
10:00am
A-1: The Unbound Antebellum South: The Relationship between Regionalism and Nationalism
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: John L. Dwiggins (University of Pennsylvania)

 

A-2: The Geographies of Books and Readers in the First World War
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Samuel Streit (Brown University (retired))

A-3: The Transformation of Chinese Classics Across Time and Space
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: Nathan Vedal (Harvard University)

A-4: Typographic Travels
Location: Houston Hall Golkin Room

Chair: Katherine McCanless Ruffin (Wellesley College)

A-5: Religion, Literature, and the Early Modern Book Trade
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Room 402

Chair: Karl Krueger (Lutheran Theological Seminary)

A-6: Sociability, Publishers, and Readers
Location: Houston Hall Class of '49 Auditorium

Chair: Josée Vincent (Université de Sherbrooke)

A-7: Nation, Book, and Image: Colonial and Postcolonial Africa
Location: Houston Hall Benjamin Franklin Room

Chair: Patricia G. Clark (Westminster College)

A-8: Imaginary Geographies I
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Christian Dupont (Atlas Systems)

10:00am
-
10:30am
Coffee Break
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
10:30am
-
12:00pm
B-1: Embodied Geographies: Writers, Readers, and Publishers, 1150-1599
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: Karla Nielsen (Columbia University)

B-2: Selling Spaces: Geographies of the Bookstore in Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century America
Location: Houston Hall Class of '49 Auditorium

Chair: Michael Winship (University of Texas at Austin)

B-3: Geographies of Scientific Writing Practices
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Karen Reeds (Princeton Research Forum, independent scholar)

B-4: Books in the Era of the Second World War
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: Kathy Peiss (University of Pennsylvania)

B-5: The Changing Face of Publishing in the Late Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries
Location: Houston Hall Benjamin Franklin Room

Chair: Claire Parfait (Université Paris 13)

B-6: Books Down Under
Location: Houston Hall Golkin Room

Chair: Jay Gertzman (independent scholar)

B-7: Editeurs franco-brésiliens au dix-neuvième siècle
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Willa Silverman (Pennsylvania State University)

B-8: Copyright and Its Discontents: An International Perspective
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Room 402

Chair: Julie Nelson Davis (University of Pennsylvania)

12:00pm
-
1:30pm
Lunch (on your own)
SHARP Board of Directors Meeting
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center
1:00pm
-
5:00pm
Registration Open
Location: Chemical Heritage Foundation Lobby
1:30pm
-
2:30pm
L-1: Lightning Talks I: Lays of the Land
Location: CHF Franklin Room 1

Chair: Peter Stallybrass (University of Pennsylvania)

L-2: Lightning Talks II: Creating and Manipulating Text and Image
Location: CHF Franklin Room 2

Chair: Eleanor F. Shevlin (West Chester University of Pennsylvania)

L-3: Lightning Talks III: Topographies of the Page
Location: CHF Röhm and Haas Room

Chair: David McKnight (University of Pennsylvania)

 
1:30pm
-
2:30pm
Tour: American Philosophical Society
Location: meet at American Philosophical Society

Tour led by: Charles Greifenstein, Associate Librarian and Curator of Manuscripts, American Philosophical Society

Tour: Athenæum of Philadelphia
Location: meet at Athenæum of Philadelphia

Tour led by: Sandra L. TatmanExecutive Director, Athenæum of Philadelphia

Tour: Chemical Heritage Foundation
Location: meet in Chemical Heritage Foundation lobby

Tour lead by: Ronald Brashear, Arnold Thackery Director, Othmer Library of Chemical History, Chemical Heritage Foundation

 
2:30pm
-
3:00pm
Coffee Break
Location: CHF Overlook Lounge
3:00pm
-
4:30pm
C-1: Geographies of Copyright
Location: CHF Franklin Room 1

Chair: Roger Chartier (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales / University of Pennsylvania)

C-2: Franklin's Links and Legacies
Location: CHF Franklin Room 2

Chair: James N. Green (Library Company of Philadelphia)

C-3: Abolitionist Geographies in Black and White
Location: CHF Röhm and Haas Room

Chair: Lucia Hodgson (Texas A&M University)

C-4: Medicine, Mathematics, and the Marvelous
Location: CHF Garden Room 1

Chair: Cassandra Hatton (Bonhams, USA)

C-5: Errant Pre-Modern Geographies
Location: CHF Garden Room 2

Chair: Christine Nelson (The Morgan Library and Museum, USA)

     
3:30pm
-
4:30pm
Tour: American Philosophical Society
Location: meet at American Philosophical Society

Tour led by: Charles Greifenstein, Associate Librarian and Curator of Manuscripts, American Philosophical Society

Tour: Athenæum of Philadelphia
Location: meet at Athenæum of Philadelphia

Tour led by: Sandra L. TatmanExecutive Director, Athenæum of Philadelphia

Tour: Chemical Heritage Foundation
Location: meet in Chemical Heritage Foundation lobby

Tour lead by: James R. Voelkel, Curator of Rare Books, Othmer Library of Chemical History, Chemical Heritage Foundation

Tour: Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies
Location: meet in Katz Center lobby

Tour led by: Arthur KironSchottenstein-Jesselson Curator of Judaica Collections, Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies, University of Pennsylvania 

4:30pm
-
5:00pm
Coffee Break
Location: CHF Overlook Lounge
5:00pm
-
6:30pm
K-2: Keynote Address: Michael F. Suarez, S.J., "Transmission History is Reception History: Approaching Global Bibliography"
Location: CHF Ullyot Hall

Director, Rare Book School; Professor of English, University Professor, and Honorary Curator of Special Collections, University of Virginia

Welcome: Ronald BrashearArnold Thackray Director of the Othmer Library of Chemical History, Chemical Heritage Foundation

Introduction: Daniel H. Traister, Curator, Research Services, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

6:30pm
-
8:00pm
Reception
Location: CHF Jacobs Reading Room

Date: Saturday, 20/Jul/2013

7:30am
-
8:30am
Breakfast
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
SHARP Liaisons and Country/Geographic Area Representatives Group Meetings
Location: University Club, Inn at Penn
7:30am
-
5:00pm
Registration Open
Location: Cohen Hall Schneidman Lobby
8:00am
-
5:00pm
Book Exhibit Open
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
8:30am
-
10:00am
D-1: Round Table: Book Diplomacy, Modernization Theory, and the Cultural Cold War
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Trysh Travis (University of Florida)

D-2: Community and Conflict: Geographies of Reading
Location: Houston Hall Benjamin Franklin Room

Chair: Jay Satterfield (Dartmouth College)

D-3: Beyond the Panel: Encounters between Comics Studies and Book History
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: Janine Pollock (Free Library of Philadelphia)

D-4: Reconceptualizing Text and Publication in Migration Experience
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Chair: Minna Ahokas (University of Helsinki)

D-5: Emigrating Books
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: Chase Richards (University of Pennsylvania)

D-6: Circulating Identities: Nineteenth-Century American Periodicals
Location: Houston Hall Golkin Room

Chair: Alexander Starre (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)

D-7: Mapmaking and Print Technology
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Katherine Parker (University of Pittsburgh)

 
10:00am
-
10:30am
Coffee Break
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
10:30am
-
12:00pm
P-1: Plenary: "Dream of Ferdinand: SHARP’s Impossible Global Ambitions"
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Chairs: Simon Frost (Senior Lecturer in English, Bournemouth University), Sydney Shep (Senior Lecturer in Print and Book CultureSchool of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

Participants: Corinna Norrick-Rühl (Research Associate/Instructor, Institute for Book Studies, Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz); Nathan Garvey (Postdoctoral Research Fellow, School of English, Media Studies and Art History, University of Queensland); Loretta de Franceschi (Full Researcher, Facolta' di Lettere e Filosofia, Dipartimento di Scienze del Testo e del Patrimonio Culturale, University of Urbino); Geraldine Rogers (Faculty Professor of Argentine LiteratureUniversity of La Plata-CONICET)

11:00am
-
12:00pm
Tour: "Prehistoric Wessex: Towards a Deep Map" Exhibition (Penn Libraries)
Location: meet at Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center main entryway

Tour led by: exhibition curator David PlattAccess Services, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

12:00pm
-
1:30pm
Lunch (on your own)
12:30pm
-
1:30pm
Tour: University of Pennsylvania Special Collections Center
Location: meet at Van Pelt Special Collections Center

Tour led by: William Noel, Director, Special Collections Center, and Founding Director, Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

12:30pm
-
3:30pm
DPS: Digital Projects Showcase
Location: Houston Hall Hall of Flags

Chair: Eleanor F. Shevlin (West Chester University of Pennsylvania)

3:00pm
-
4:30pm
E-1: The Book in the Cold War
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Chair: Brooke Sylvia Palmieri (Sokol Books Ltd.)

E-2: The Metaphysics of Empire: Geography and the Imagination in Early Modern Anglo-American Historiography
Location: Houston Hall Benjamin Franklin Room

Chair: Vanda Anastácio (University of Lisbon)

E-3: The Idea of North: Representing Canada
Location: Houston Hall Golkin Room

Chair: Mary Lu MacDonald (independent scholar)

E-4: Courtesy and Copyright
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Donald Farren (independent scholar)

E-5: The Alchemy of the Page: Transforming Image and Text
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Room 402

Chair: Michelle Strizever (independent scholar)

E-6: Marketing Popular Literature in the Twentieth Century
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Daniel H. Traister (University of Pennsylvania)

E-7: Studies in the Long Eighteenth Century
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: James Woolley (Lafayette College)

E-8: American Geographies, American Histories
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: Fiona Ruth Bell (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

4:30pm
-
5:00pm
Coffee Break
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
5:00pm
-
6:00pm
F-1: A New Geography of Readers: The Circulation of Nineteenth- and Early Twentieth-Century Genres of Medical Knowledge
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Rebecca Elizabeth Bowd (University of Leeds)

F-2: Textual Geographies of the Early Modern Hispanic World
Location: Houston Hall Benjamin Franklin Room

Chair: Marina S. Brownlee (Princeton University)

F-3: Where the Wild Things Were: Geographies of English Herbals
Location: Houston Hall Golkin Room

Chair: Karl Gustaf Jens Eriksson (Uppsala University)

F-4: Print Culture in Antebellum America
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Chair: Krystal Appiah (Library Company of Philadelphia)

F-5: The Islamic Book Beyond the Islamic World
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: Abhijit Gupta (Jadavpur University)

F-6: The Circulation of Texts in Early America
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: John Pollack (University of Pennsylvania)

F-7: Students and Scholars
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Shawn Martin (University of Pennsylvania)

 
7:00pm
-
10:00pm
Conference Banquet
Location: Houston Hall Hall of Flags

Reflecting the conference theme, our banquet, "Tastes of Philadelphia," will feature a variety of food stations serving cuisines that reflect the ethnic diversity of Philadelphia.

Sunday, 21/Jul/2013

7:30am
-
8:30am
Breakfast
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
8:00am
-
10:30am
Registration Open
Location: Cohen Hall Schneidman Lobby
8:00am
-
12:00pm
Book Exhibit Open
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
8:30am
-
10:00am
G-1: Geographies of the Novel
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: Roger Chartier (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales / University of Pennsylvania)

G-2: Displacements, Strategies and the Publishing Market: France, Portugal, England, and Brazil
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Chair: Laurence Hallewell (independent scholar, retired librarian)

G-3: Imaginary Geographies II
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Kevin Absillis (University of Antwerp)

G-4: Traveling Texts / Texts for Travelers
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: Roar Lishaugen (University of Oslo)

G-5: Philadelphia Stories
Location: Houston Hall Class of '49 Auditorium

Chair: Eric Pumroy (Bryn Mawr College)

G-6: Locating the Text
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Alan Galey (University of Toronto)

10:00am
-
10:30am
Coffee Break
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
10:30am
-
12:00pm
K-3: Closing Keynote: Ian Gregory, "Towards Spatial Humanities: Using GIS to Map and Analyze the Geographies within Texts"
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Professor of Digital Humanities, Lancaster University

Introduction: Bertrum MacDonald (Professor of Information Management, Faculty of Management, Dalhousie University)

Response: Sydney Shep (Senior Lecturer, School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

12:00pm
-
2:00pm
Lunch and SHARP Annual General Meeting
Location: Houston Hall Class of '49 Auditorium

A buffet lunch will be served.

2:00pm
-
3:30pm
H-1: Across Frontiers: Movements in Canadian and Québécois Literary Publishing
Location: Van Pelt Meyerson Conference Center

Chair: Alison Rukavina (University of Alberta)

H-2: Romantic Geographies and Hemispheric Histories in Nineteenth-Century U.S. Print Culture
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1955 Conference Room

Chair: Robert Battistini (Columbia University)

H-3: Early Modern European Culture and Typography
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Room 402

Chair: Martin Burke (The Graduate Center, The City University of New York)

H-4: Music in Motion
Location: Van Pelt Seminar Rooms 626/627

Chair: Tuija Laine (University of Helsinki)

H-5: Reading and Empire
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

Chair: Mitch Fraas (University of Pennsylvania)

H-6: Book Art / Books as Art
Location: Van Pelt Class of 1978 Pavilion

Chair: Ruth R. Rogers (Wellesley College)

3:30pm
-
4:00pm
Coffee Break
Location: Cohen Hall Terrace Room
4:00pm
-
5:30pm
P-2: Closing Plenary: "Mapping Book History"
Location: Cohen Hall G-17

The names of plenary participants will be revealed at the session

Chair: Ian Gadd (Professor in English Literature, School of Humanities and Cultural Industries, Bath Spa University)

Introduction: Lynne Farrington (Curator of Printed Books, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania)

6:00pm
-
8:30pm
Closing Picnic
Location: Shoemaker Green