SHARP2013

Facilitator: Jerome E. Singerman, Humanities Editor, University of Pennsylvania Press 

Tour led by: Janine Pollock, Head, Rare Book Department, Free Library of Philadelphia

Round Table participants: Mitch Fraas, University of Pennsylvania; Mark A. Greene, University of Wyoming; Melissa Homestead, University of Nebraska; August Imholtz, Jr., Readex (retired); Jen Rajchel, Tri-College Digital Humanities Initiative 

Facilitator: Alea Henle, independent scholar

Tour led by: David McKnight, Director, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

Facilitators: Lynne Farrington, Curator of Printed Books, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania; John Pollack, Library Specialist for Public Services, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

Tour led by: Judy Guston, Director of Collections, Rosenbach Museum and Library

LCP Tour led by: James N. Green, Librarian, Library Company of Philadelphia

HSP Tour led by: Lee Arnold, Senior Director of the Library and Collections, Historical Society of Pennsylvania 

Archives tour led by: Mark Frazier Lloyd, Director, University Archives and Records Center, University of Pennsylvania 

Architectural Archives tour led by: William Whitaker, Curator and Collections Manager, Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania

Tour led by: exhibition curator Lynn Ransom, Project Manager, Schoenberg Database of Manuscripts, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

Tour led by: Farrar Fitzgerald, Assistant Director of Education, Rosenbach Museum and Library

LCP Tour led by: James N. Green, Librarian, Library Company of Philadelphia

HSP Tour led by: Lee Arnold, Senior Director of the Library and Collections, Historical Society of Pennsylvania 

Archives tour led by: Mark Frazier Lloyd, Director, University Archives and Records Center, University of Pennsylvania 

Architectural Archives tour led by: William Whitaker, Curator and Collections Manager, Architectural Archives of the University of Pennsylvania

Tour led by: Katharine Chandler, Reference Librarian, Rare Book Department, Free Library of Philadelphia

Tour led by: William Noel, Director, Special Collections Center, and Founding Director, Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

Directeur d'Études, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales; Professeur, Collège de France; Annenberg Professor of History, University of Pennsylvania

Opening Remarks: Conference Convenor David McKnight, Director, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

Introduction by Peter Stallybrass, Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Humanities and Professor of English and of Comparative Literature and Literary Theory, University of Pennsylvania

Chair: John L. Dwiggins (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Samuel Streit (Brown University (retired))

Chair: Nathan Vedal (Harvard University)

Chair: Katherine McCanless Ruffin (Wellesley College)

Chair: Karl Krueger (Lutheran Theological Seminary)

Chair: Josée Vincent (Université de Sherbrooke)

Chair: Patricia G. Clark (Westminster College)

Chair: Christian Dupont (Atlas Systems)

Chair: Karla Nielsen (Columbia University)

Chair: Michael Winship (University of Texas at Austin)

Chair: Karen Reeds (Princeton Research Forum, independent scholar)

Chair: Kathy Peiss (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Claire Parfait (Université Paris 13)

Chair: Jay Gertzman (independent scholar)

Chair: Willa Silverman (Pennsylvania State University)

Chair: Julie Nelson Davis (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Peter Stallybrass (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Eleanor F. Shevlin (West Chester University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: David McKnight (University of Pennsylvania)

Tour led by: Charles Greifenstein, Associate Librarian and Curator of Manuscripts, American Philosophical Society

Tour led by: Sandra L. Tatman, Executive Director, Athenæum of Philadelphia

Tour lead by: Ronald Brashear, Arnold Thackery Director, Othmer Library of Chemical History, Chemical Heritage Foundation

Chair: Roger Chartier (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales / University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: James N. Green (Library Company of Philadelphia)

Chair: Lucia Hodgson (Texas A&M University)

Chair: Cassandra Hatton (Bonhams, USA)

Chair: Christine Nelson (The Morgan Library and Museum, USA)

Tour led by: Charles Greifenstein, Associate Librarian and Curator of Manuscripts, American Philosophical Society

Tour led by: Sandra L. Tatman, Executive Director, Athenæum of Philadelphia

Tour lead by: James R. Voelkel, Curator of Rare Books, Othmer Library of Chemical History, Chemical Heritage Foundation

Tour led by: Arthur Kiron, Schottenstein-Jesselson Curator of Judaica Collections, Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies, University of Pennsylvania 

Director, Rare Book School; Professor of English, University Professor, and Honorary Curator of Special Collections, University of Virginia

Welcome: Ronald Brashear, Arnold Thackray Director of the Othmer Library of Chemical History, Chemical Heritage Foundation

Introduction: Daniel H. Traister, Curator, Research Services, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania

Chair: Trysh Travis (University of Florida)

Chair: Jay Satterfield (Dartmouth College)

Chair: Janine Pollock (Free Library of Philadelphia)

Chair: Minna Ahokas (University of Helsinki)

Chair: Chase Richards (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Alexander Starre (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)

Chair: Katherine Parker (University of Pittsburgh)

Chairs: Simon Frost (Senior Lecturer in English, Bournemouth University), Sydney Shep (Senior Lecturer in Print and Book Culture, School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

Participants: Corinna Norrick-Rühl (Research Associate/Instructor, Institute for Book Studies, Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz); Nathan Garvey (Postdoctoral Research Fellow, School of English, Media Studies and Art History, University of Queensland); Loretta de Franceschi (Full Researcher, Facolta' di Lettere e Filosofia, Dipartimento di Scienze del Testo e del Patrimonio Culturale, University of Urbino); Geraldine Rogers (Faculty Professor of Argentine Literature, University of La Plata-CONICET)

Tour led by: exhibition curator David Platt, Access Services, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

Tour led by: William Noel, Director, Special Collections Center, and Founding Director, Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies, University of Pennsylvania Libraries

Chair: Eleanor F. Shevlin (West Chester University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Brooke Sylvia Palmieri (Sokol Books Ltd.)

Chair: Vanda Anastácio (University of Lisbon)

Chair: Mary Lu MacDonald (independent scholar)

Chair: Donald Farren (independent scholar)

Chair: Michelle Strizever (independent scholar)

Chair: Daniel H. Traister (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: James Woolley (Lafayette College)

Chair: Fiona Ruth Bell (University of KwaZulu-Natal)

Chair: Rebecca Elizabeth Bowd (University of Leeds)

Chair: Marina S. Brownlee (Princeton University)

Chair: Karl Gustaf Jens Eriksson (Uppsala University)

Chair: Krystal Appiah (Library Company of Philadelphia)

Chair: Abhijit Gupta (Jadavpur University)

Chair: John Pollack (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Shawn Martin (University of Pennsylvania)

Reflecting the conference theme, our banquet, "Tastes of Philadelphia," will feature a variety of food stations serving cuisines that reflect the ethnic diversity of Philadelphia.

Chair: Roger Chartier (École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales / University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Laurence Hallewell (independent scholar, retired librarian)

Chair: Kevin Absillis (University of Antwerp)

Chair: Roar Lishaugen (University of Oslo)

Chair: Eric Pumroy (Bryn Mawr College)

Chair: Alan Galey (University of Toronto)

Professor of Digital Humanities, Lancaster University

Introduction: Bertrum MacDonald (Professor of Information Management, Faculty of Management, Dalhousie University)

Response: Sydney Shep (Senior Lecturer, School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

A buffet lunch will be served.

Chair: Alison Rukavina (University of Alberta)

Chair: Robert Battistini (Columbia University)

Chair: Martin Burke (The Graduate Center, The City University of New York)

Chair: Tuija Laine (University of Helsinki)

Chair: Mitch Fraas (University of Pennsylvania)

Chair: Ruth R. Rogers (Wellesley College)

The names of plenary participants will be revealed at the session

Chair: Ian Gadd (Professor in English Literature, School of Humanities and Cultural Industries, Bath Spa University)

Introduction: Lynne Farrington (Curator of Printed Books, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania)