Skip to Main Content
Go to Penn Libraries homepage   Go to Guides homepage

Sources for Modern and Contemporary China and Taiwan

Purpose and Overview

The purpose of this research guide is to aid researchers who would like to conduct research on modern and contemporary China, Taiwan and Hong Kong. The guide covers a variety of topics of interesting (such as humanities subjects, like literature, pop culture, film, theater, and music). It also includes social science topics such as political science, law, and data sets. 

The guide will be of particular use to researchers who have reading proficiency in Chinese, though English and other Western-language resources are also included. This tab includes some introductory information about conducting research for Chinese-language sources and locating important resources about modern and contemporary Chinese humanities that may come in useful. The following tabs contain, respectively: a list of helpful web portals and databases, a list of important tertiary resources in Van Pelt's collection, a list of helpful digital community resources, a listing of the location of Chinese-language books about different aspects of modern Chinese humanities in Van Pelt, and a similar listing of such books in English and other Western languages.

Please reach out to the Chinese studies librarian if you have any questions or feedback. 

New databases!!!

Archives of the Communist Party of China (CPC)

Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE)

People’s Daily  人民日报 (1946-Present)

CUHK- Database for the History of Contemporary Chinese Political Movements

Taiwan Epochal Democracy Magazines

The Rekidai Hoan 歷代寶案

Independence Evening Post archive 1947-1995 自立晚報

Current Digest of the Chinese Press

Frequent Links

Dictionary Resources

Print Resources at Van Pelt Library:

Hanyu da cidian 汉语大词典   (East Asia Seminar Room Van Pelt 526) PL 1420 H36 1987

Hanyu da zidian 漢語大字典 (East Asia Seminar Room Van Pelt 526) PL1420 .H3494 2006 

How to Search for Chinese-Language Sources on Franklin

Chinese characters can be typed directly into the Franklin search box, using either traditional or simplified characters. In case the search engine does not recognize the search terms when they are entered as characters, they may also be entered as pinyin. When using pinyin to search, take care to use Library of Congress formatting. The main principles are that each separate syllable of pinyin  words should be separated (e.g. pin yin). The main exceptions are names of geographical entities and of people (e.g. Zhongguo, Shen Congwen). For a complete list of Library of Congress formatting principles regarding pinyin, see the following link:

 

Other Useful Chinese Research Guides at Penn

Penn Libraries Home Franklin Home
(215) 898-7555