Sources for Modern and Contemporary China and Taiwan

Taiwan Wenxian Congkan:
(Tang Dynasty-Qing Dynasty)
One of the most frequently used works by scholars of Taiwan studies and commonly called the “Encyclopedia of Taiwan,” the Taiwan Wenxian Congkan (ed. Hsien-Wen Chou) was originally published by the Bank of Taiwan. Taiwan Wenxian Congkan is comprised of 309 books and incorporates local histories and official documents of the Ming and Qing dynasties, including the short-lived Southern Ming. Includes poems, works from private collections (some of which are only remaining copy), and out-of-print books. Also covers topics from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese occupation period in documents gathered from local and overseas libraries. From the Taiwanese perspective, Taiwan Wenxian Congkan records a variety of dimensions of Taiwan, including the historical development of individual districts, the evolution of cities, deeds of individual people, local customs and culture.
[Hosted by Taiwan Academic Classics, scroll down to access the Encyclopedia. ]

This is a collection of popular political science publications from Taiwan and Hong Kong from the dynamic period 1949–2010, a time of complete transformation in greater China. The focus of these publications is questions of democracy and social development, from the perspective of relatively freer Taiwan and Hong Kong. The following publications are presented:
· Wenxin Magazine 文星雜誌 (1957–1988)
· Con-Temporary Monthly 當代雜誌 (1986–2010)
· Democratic Review 民主評論 (1949–1966)
· Formosa 美麗島 (1979)
· The Nineties 九十年代 (1970–1998)
· Thought and Words 思與言人文與社會科學雜誌 (1965–current)
· Time & Tide 時與潮 (1959-1967)
· Taiwan Political Review 臺灣政論 (1975)
· The China Tide 夏潮 (1976-1978)
· Taipei Society 澄社報導 (1992-1999)

he Independence Evening Post Digital Archive offers rare, unfiltered insight into important historical incidents that occurred under the Kuomintang regime and is an important resource for studying the history of the pro-democracy Tangwai movement. A comprehensive digital archive of Zi Li Wan Bao (自立晚報, a.k.a. Independence Evening Post), the only pro-independence newspaper from the period of Kuomintang martial law and press restrictions in Taiwan (1949-1987).

Missionaries associated with Fujian and Taiwan, 1889-1976.

The Japanese Colonial Periodicals of Taiwan (日治時期期刊集成資料庫) collection presents archives of 85 periodicals published in Taiwan during the period of Japanese colonial occupation (1895-1945). The period of Japanese colonial rule in Taiwan was a time of socio-economic flourishing, advancement in printing technology, and vitality in culture and education. During this modern era, a rich variety of periodicals were produced. The periodicals collected in this multi-disciplinary database offer authentic and representative materials for in-depth research on the social, economic, industrial, educational and other aspects of Taiwan’s history during the Japanese colonial period.

Japanese colonization of Taiwan began in 1895, with Japan establishing the Sōtokufu, or Office of the Governor-General, shortly thereafter. The Office of the Governor-General wielded supreme authority over military and civilian affairs until the end of Japanese colonial rule in October 1945. The Communiqué of the Taiwan Sōtokufu (台灣總督府府報資料庫) was the official gazette of the Office of the Governor-General, in which laws and decrees were published during the 50-year Japanese colonial occupation of Taiwan. Material in the database covers the period of 1896-1945, including the Meiji, Taishō and Shōwa eras. The Communiqué of the Taiwan Sōtokufu is an important source for understanding the mechanics of government and law, business, and the military under colonial rule, and illuminates the workings of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Taiwanese government throughout the period.

日治時期臺灣研究古籍資料庫: Academia Sinica's database but a collaboration between the Institute of Taiwan History, Academia Sinica and the National Library of China (Taiwan Branch). It includes official and private publications during the Japanese colonization of Taiwan. It includes the original collection of the Taiwan Governor-General's Official Library, the collection of the Southern Archives, and the collection of the Taiwan Provincial Library.