Skip to Main Content
Go to Penn Libraries homepage   Go to Guides homepage

ALC : Africana Librarians Council: ALC Past Chairs

Past and Current Chairs, ALC

The ALC Chairperson serves for one year, elected at the Fall meeting as Deputy Chairperson / Chairperson Elect.


Term ALC Chairperson Affiliation
2019-2020 Jessica Achberger Martin Michigan State University
2018-2019 Atoma Batoma University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2017-2018 Jason Schultz Vanderbilt University
2016-2017 Miki Goral UCLA
2015-2016 Charles Riley Yale University
2014-2015 Araba Dawson-Andoh Ohio University
2013-2014 Marion Frank-Wilson Indiana University
2012-2013 Esmeralda Kale Northwestern University
2011-2012 Timothy Johnson New York University
2010-2011 Emilie Ngo-Nguidjol Songolo University of Wisconsin-Madison
2009-2010 Deborah LaFond University at Albany, State University of New York
2008-2009 Mattye Laverne Page Library of Congress
2007-2008 Miki Goral UCLA
2006-2007 Peter Limb Michigan State University
2005-2006 Lauris Olson University of Pennsylvania
2004-2005 Marieta Harper Library of Congress
2003-2004 Gretchen S. Walsh Boston University
2002-2003 Alfred Kagan University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2001-2002 Gregory A. Finnegan Harvard University
2000-2001 Jill Young Coelho Harvard University
1999-2000 Ruby Bell-Gam UCLA
1998-1999 Joanne Zellers Library of Congress
1997-1998 David L. Easterbrook Northwestern University
1996-1997 Joseph Caruso Columbia University
1995-1996 Helene Baumann Duke University
1994-1995 Gregory A. Finnegan Dartmouth College / Harvard University
1993-1994 Alfred Kagan University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
1992-1993 Nancy J. Schmidt Indiana University
1991-1992 Onuma Ezera Michigan State University
1990-1991 Peter Malanchuk University of Florida
1989-1990 Phyllis B. Bischof University of California, Berkeley
1988-1989 John Bruce Howell University of Iowa
1987-1988 Mary Alice Kraehe University of Virginia
1986-1987 Gregory A. Finnegan Dartmouth College
1985-1986 Doris M. Hull Howard University
1984-1985 Joseph J. Lauer UCLA
1983-1984 Gretchen S. Walsh Boston University
1982-1983 Maidel K. Cason Northwestern University
1981-1982 Leon P. Spencer Talladega College
1980-1981 Daniel A. Britz Northwestern University
1979-1980 Elizabeth A. Widenmann Columbia University
1978-1979 David L. Easterbrook Syracuse University
1977-1978 Yvette H. Scheven University of Illinois
1975-1977 Corinne E. Nyquist SUNY College at New Paltz
1971-1974 R. Gordon Collier Center for Research Libraries
1968-1970 Hans E. Panofsky Northwestern University
1968 Conrad C. Reining Catholic University of America
1966-1967 Alan R. Taylor Indiana University
1965 Daniel F. McCall Boston University
1964 Robert D. Baum U.S. Department of State
1963-1964 William A. Hance Columbia University
1962-1963 Peter J. Duignan Hoover Institution
1959-1961 Robert D. Baum U.S. Department of State
1957-1958 D. Vernon McKay Johns Hopkins University

Compiled from:

  • Recent ALC Business Meeting minutes.
  • "The Africana Librarians Council and the Cooperative Africana Microform Project since 1989" / Gregory Finnegan, in: Africanist librarianship in an era of change / edited by Victoria K. Evalds and David Henige. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2005, pages 31-47.
  • "The Archives-Libraries Committee and the Cooperative Africana Microform Project: a brief history" / David L. Easterbrook, in: Africana resources and collections: three decades of development and achievement, a festschrift in honor of Hans Panofsky / edited by Julian W. Witherell. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1989, pages 18-38.


Penn Libraries Home Franklin Home
(215) 898-7555