This is a highlighted collection of online journals, databases, and books available to you to use via the Penn Libraries.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts. 1971-
A smallish but focused bibliographic database covering family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, child maltreatment, and other topics.
Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence [2 Volumes] by Merril D. Smith (Editor)
This two-volume set provides an authoritative overview of rape and other forms of sexual violence, containing the latest information about victims and perpetrators; events, laws, and trends related to sexual violence; and attitudes toward it. This encyclopedia will help readers to develop a deeper understanding of rape and other forms of sexual violence in the United States and around the world. Content illuminates all aspects of this serious issue, including the forms of trauma experienced by survivors/victims; different types of rape, from incest to acquaintance rape to prison rape; specific cases, events, and controversies; laws, policies, movements, and organizations pertaining to the issue; and legal, political, and cultural contributors to rape and other forms of sexual violence. Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence follows an A-Z format, but instead of comprising brief overview entries, it features twenty chapters, each of which is a long-form entry that covers key perspectives, laws, court cases, and statistics on survivors/victims and perpetrators. Leading scholars' and activists' perspectives on the subject add depth to the information provided; the set also includes a selection of essential primary documents. * Explains the many types of rape and sexual violence * Discusses what organizations and nations are doing to help victims and survivors and to convict perpetrators, and provides insights into what has worked and what has failed--and why * Covers sexual violence committed globally against people of all genders and ages and in a variety of conditions, including prisons, nursing homes, over the internet, and in wartime, so that readers may understand the universality of the issue * Covers both U.S. and international topics in primary documents including testimonies from rape victims given before the US Senate in relation to violence in the military, scandals in gymnastics, and human trafficking; documents concerning corrective hate in South Africa and those forced into sexual slavery by ISIS; and legislation such as the Clery Act and Title IX
ISBN: 9781440844898
Publication Date: 2018-05-03
For Health Care, Social Service, and Law Enforcement Professionals by Patricia M. Speck; Mary J. Spencer; Angelo P. Giardino; Diana Faugno
558 pages, 204 images, 97 contributorsFor the safety of survivors, and in support of their professional caretakers, Sexual Assault Quick Reference offers comprehensive, accessible guidelines for responding to sexual assault, wherever it occurs.The revised second edition of Sexual Assault Quick Reference provides updated information on a variety of subjects, all in the same convenient format, including chapters on the physical and forensic evaluation of patients across the life span, identifying and treating STIs (based on the CDC's 2015 Treatment Guidelines), mental health care for survivors and vicariously traumatized practitioners, and the investigation and prosecution of sexual violence.
ISBN: 9781936590445
Publication Date: 2016-01-15
Handbook of Sexual Assault and Sexual Assault Prevention by William O'Donohue (Editor); Caroline Cummings (Editor); Paul A. Schewe (Editor)
This timely handbook provides in-depth overviews of the myriad and multi-faceted issues surrounding sexual assault and its pervasiveness in today's culture. Drawing for multiple viewpoints and experts, the book is divided into seven comprehensive sections, covering such topics as risk factors, varying theoretical frameworks, prevention and intervention, and special populations. Within these sections the authors provide historical background as well as the latest research, and offer treatment outcomes and potentials.Selected topics covered in this book include: Feminist theories of sexual assault Social and economic factors surrounding sexual violence Mental, physiological, physical, and functional health concerns of victims, including PTSD Major categories of sexual offenders Treatment of sexual assault survivors in the LGBTQ+ community Procedural processes related to sexual assault investigation and adjudication within the criminal justice system The Handbook of Sexual Assault and Sexual Assault Prevention is a vital book that will appeal to a broad spectrum of students, researchers, practitioners, and clinicians in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, community mental health, and sociology.
ISBN: 9783030236441
Publication Date: 2019-11-06
The Rape of Childhood by Salman Akhtar (Editor); Ann G. Smolen (Contribution by); Thomas Barrett (Contribution by); Shawn Blue (Contribution by); Gordon Caras (Contribution by); Calvin Colarusso (Contribution by); John L. Frank (Contribution by); Christie Huddleston (Contribution by); Vivian Pender (Contribution by); Andrew Smolar (Contribution by)
The Rape of Childhood: Development, Clinical, and Sociocultural Aspects of Childhood Sexual Abuse details the dark realm of childhood sexual abuse. While lived experience, memory, subjectivity, and affect cannot be classified into neat categories, this collection is divided into four core sections--epidemiology, emotional sequelae, psychoanalytic insight, and ameliorative strategies--to provide a thorough description of childhood abuse. The contributors examine the variables that increase a child's vulnerability to maltreatment, including age, gender, ethnicity, and socioeconomic factors, and outline the various emotional and behavioral consequences of childhood sexual abuse. This collection is essential reading for therapists working to help formerly abused children to learn how to love, be loved, and care about themselves.
ISBN: 9781498587839
Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Working with the Trauma of Rape and Sexual Violence by Sue J. Daniels; Ivan Tyrell (Foreword by)
The trauma caused by rape and sexual assault can often be further compounded by unthinking or insensitive comments from people who may judge, disbelieve or disparage the victim. This authoritative resource draws together advice for all people in the helping professions on how to work with victims of rape and sexual violence. The wide-ranging topics cover the effects of rape, male rape, childhood sexual abuse, sex trafficking and prostitution, and sexually transmitted infections, giving best practice advice on how to offer effective and compassionate support to help survivors.
ISBN: 9781784503758
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence [2 Volumes] by
This two-volume set provides an authoritative overview of rape and other forms of sexual violence, containing the latest information about victims and perpetrators; events, laws, and trends related to sexual violence; and attitudes toward it. This encyclopedia will help readers to develop a deeper understanding of rape and other forms of sexual violence in the United States and around the world. Content illuminates all aspects of this serious issue, including the forms of trauma experienced by survivors/victims; different types of rape, from incest to acquaintance rape to prison rape; specific cases, events, and controversies; laws, policies, movements, and organizations pertaining to the issue; and legal, political, and cultural contributors to rape and other forms of sexual violence. Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence follows an A-Z format, but instead of comprising brief overview entries, it features twenty chapters, each of which is a long-form entry that covers key perspectives, laws, court cases, and statistics on survivors/victims and perpetrators. Leading scholars' and activists' perspectives on the subject add depth to the information provided; the set also includes a selection of essential primary documents. * Explains the many types of rape and sexual violence * Discusses what organizations and nations are doing to help victims and survivors and to convict perpetrators, and provides insights into what has worked and what has failed--and why * Covers sexual violence committed globally against people of all genders and ages and in a variety of conditions, including prisons, nursing homes, over the internet, and in wartime, so that readers may understand the universality of the issue * Covers both U.S. and international topics in primary documents including testimonies from rape victims given before the US Senate in relation to violence in the military, scandals in gymnastics, and human trafficking; documents concerning corrective hate in South Africa and those forced into sexual slavery by ISIS; and legislation such as the Clery Act and Title IX
For Health Care, Social Service, and Law Enforcement Professionals by
558 pages, 204 images, 97 contributorsFor the safety of survivors, and in support of their professional caretakers, Sexual Assault Quick Reference offers comprehensive, accessible guidelines for responding to sexual assault, wherever it occurs.The revised second edition of Sexual Assault Quick Reference provides updated information on a variety of subjects, all in the same convenient format, including chapters on the physical and forensic evaluation of patients across the life span, identifying and treating STIs (based on the CDC's 2015 Treatment Guidelines), mental health care for survivors and vicariously traumatized practitioners, and the investigation and prosecution of sexual violence.
Handbook of Sexual Assault and Sexual Assault Prevention by
This timely handbook provides in-depth overviews of the myriad and multi-faceted issues surrounding sexual assault and its pervasiveness in today's culture. Drawing for multiple viewpoints and experts, the book is divided into seven comprehensive sections, covering such topics as risk factors, varying theoretical frameworks, prevention and intervention, and special populations. Within these sections the authors provide historical background as well as the latest research, and offer treatment outcomes and potentials.Selected topics covered in this book include: Feminist theories of sexual assault Social and economic factors surrounding sexual violence Mental, physiological, physical, and functional health concerns of victims, including PTSD Major categories of sexual offenders Treatment of sexual assault survivors in the LGBTQ+ community Procedural processes related to sexual assault investigation and adjudication within the criminal justice system The Handbook of Sexual Assault and Sexual Assault Prevention is a vital book that will appeal to a broad spectrum of students, researchers, practitioners, and clinicians in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, community mental health, and sociology.
The Rape of Childhood by
The Rape of Childhood: Development, Clinical, and Sociocultural Aspects of Childhood Sexual Abuse details the dark realm of childhood sexual abuse. While lived experience, memory, subjectivity, and affect cannot be classified into neat categories, this collection is divided into four core sections--epidemiology, emotional sequelae, psychoanalytic insight, and ameliorative strategies--to provide a thorough description of childhood abuse. The contributors examine the variables that increase a child's vulnerability to maltreatment, including age, gender, ethnicity, and socioeconomic factors, and outline the various emotional and behavioral consequences of childhood sexual abuse. This collection is essential reading for therapists working to help formerly abused children to learn how to love, be loved, and care about themselves.
Working with the Trauma of Rape and Sexual Violence by
The trauma caused by rape and sexual assault can often be further compounded by unthinking or insensitive comments from people who may judge, disbelieve or disparage the victim. This authoritative resource draws together advice for all people in the helping professions on how to work with victims of rape and sexual violence. The wide-ranging topics cover the effects of rape, male rape, childhood sexual abuse, sex trafficking and prostitution, and sexually transmitted infections, giving best practice advice on how to offer effective and compassionate support to help survivors.
