Skip to Main Content

Community Health Engagement: Suggested Library Resources for FGLI Students

Overview

This guide was put together in collaboration with the First-Generation Low-Income (FGLI) Program, based out of the Greenfield Intercultural Center, and PennFirst, a student organization of self-identified FGLI students. The guide highlights resources and services that FGLI students at Penn should familiarize themselves with during their time at Penn.

Health Literacy Librarian

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

University of Pennsylvania
School of Dental Medicine
240 S. 40th Street
Leon Levy Library
2nd Floor, Evans Building
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-746-0101

Subjects: Dental Medicine, Health & Life Sciences

Librarians

The best resource that Penn Libraries offers is its Librarians. Librarians at Penn are professionals who are expert navigators in a certain subject area. Subject librarians commonly visit classes and conduct workshops. You can also request a research consultation with a subject librarian, in which the librarian assists you in finding resources for your paper or project. Check out this list of librarians and their corresponding subject areas.

Note: It is okay to schedule a consultation with a librarian outside of your major. Librarians understand that you may be writing a paper or working on a project for a general requirement or elective course outside of your major.

Library Resources

The Penn Libraries website is full of useful resources such as databases, books, videos, and more. The homepage can be overwhelming. A good place to start your research is the Subjects/Collections page, a list of subject areas often studied at Penn. Each link will take you to a page of suggested resources specific to that particular subject area.

To find subject databases:

Go to the Penn Libraries homepage.
Hover over "Collections."
Click on "Databases & article indexes."
Filter by your preferred "Database Subject."

Penn Libraries has over 5 million ebooks in many subject areas.

Searching for a ebook in Franklin, the Penn Libraries catalog, select "Online" under Access and "Book" under "Format."

Learn more about ebooks at Penn Libraries.

Citation management tools allows you to save your database search results and create bibliographies without having to memorize a citation style. To learn more, check out this Citation Management Tools guide.

Library Services

The Penn Libraries offers software demonstrations, skill-based workshops, guest lectures, open houses, and other events throughout the year. Librarians often do office hours and presentations out of the Libraries too. Go to the Penn Libraries calendar and click the links on "Workshop Registration" to view the various workshop calendars.

You can also request a personalized workshop or demo by filling out this form.

Penn Information Systems & Computing provides you with access to Lynda, a website full of tutorials on software and career skills. To access Lynda, go to lynda.upenn.edu and log in with your PennKey and password.

You can also check out laptops, chargers, adaptors, cameras, tripods, flash drives, microphones, etc from the Penn Libraries using the Equipment page.

You can book group study rooms at the Penn Libraries using this reservation system.

Library Resource Liaisons (LRLs) are students who can help you navigate library resources. LRLs hold office hours around campus.

Student Engagement Librarian

3420 Walnut Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206

Penn Libraries Home Search the Catalog

(215) 898-7555