Guides: Medical Entrepreneurship: Patents, Deals & Licensing

A note about deal and licensing information

Detailed information about licensing terms is very difficult to find. While public companies may have to report this information to the SEC if the deal is material, they can request confidential treatment of the terms, so information will often be redacted from filings.

Deals & Licensing

Bloomberg
Access details. Covers global markets and securities across asset classes.
CB Insights
Provides investment information, news and industry trends related to private companies in all investment stages.
EMIS
On the EMIS landing page, click Companies in the top menu, then click the Find M&A deals widget to access the DealWatch database featuring M&A deals, news, league tables, and reports for nearly 200 countries. Can search by PE or VC entries/exits and screen for deals with PE or VC buyers only.
LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace)
To access deals, select Markets-->Deals Markets or Markets-->Deals Screener from the main menu.

Patents

Derwent Innovations Index
Search more than 11 million patent records from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. These include the US Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, PCT (WO) applications and the Japanese Patent Office. Records from 1963 - present but coverage varies. Links to the full text of the patent in many cases. Derwent contains citing and cited patents, literature references, and patent family information.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to the TotalPatent One database, which includes full-text patent documents and images from 56 patent authorities. From the Menu on the Nexis Uni platform, select Patent and conduct a search.

Espacenet
Espacenet contains data on more than 90 million patent documents from around the world.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Covers all US patents from 1790 onwards. Download or view high-quality images of the actual pages of the patents, including diagrams and structures from 1790 onwards. Patents from 1976 - present are available full text in an HTML text format.

U.S. PTO Patent Public Search (NEW)
The Patent Public Search tool is a new web-based patent search application that will replace internal legacy search tools PubEast and PubWest and external legacy search tools PatFT and AppFT, which are scheduled to be retired in September 2022.
The Lens (formerly Patent Lens)
By CAMBIA, an independent, international non-profit institute. Free patent and scholarly literature search engine with landscape analysis tools. This search engine retrieves biotechnology patents, with links to PDFs from the U.S., Europe, Australia, and World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

Medical Entrepreneurship: Patents, Deals & Licensing

A note about deal and licensing information

Deals & Licensing

Patents

Search Google Patents