Guides: Political Science: Judicial Documents

Judicial Documents

Supreme Court Collections │ Opinions and Decisions

Supreme Court Collections

Established by Article Three of the United States Constitution, the U.S. Supreme Court is the highest court in the federal judiciary of the United States for all cases of Constitutional concern. The Supreme Court is the final arbiter (court of last resort) of appellate decisions of all U.S. federal court cases and state court cases that involve important aspects of U.S. federal law.

CQ Supreme Court Collection
Provides analysis, updates, and commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.
C-SPAN: The Supreme Court
Audio recordings of U.S. Supreme Court oral arguments, and other recordings of speeches and appearances of Supreme Court Justices.
GovInfo - Judicial Publications
The collection provides Featured Judicial Publications which contain select documents published by the judicial branch; United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) which provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; and Independent Counsel Investigations which contains select documents related to the Madison Guaranty Savings & Loan Association, Department of Agriculture, Department of Interior, Clinton Impeachment, and Special Counsel Mueller's Report on the Investigation into Russian Interference in the 2016 Presidential Election.
HeinOnline U.S. Supreme Court Library
HeinOnline provides complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports, Vols. 1-575 (1754-2015).an indexed compilation of the official full text of all decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States and the official record of its rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings. In addition to the U.S. Reports, the collection also includes books, periodicals, CRS reports, rules of the Court, and The United States Reports Preliminary Prints Vols. 535-579 (2002-2016); and United States Reports Slip Opinions (2002-Present).
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of important Supreme court cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions.
Oyez
Oyez is a free multimedia archive project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law. Oyez provides an audio source for Supreme Court news dating back to the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia).
Proquest Supreme Court Insight
Provides a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices, and amicus briefs.
U.S. Supreme Court Online
Official website of the Supreme Court of the United States, SupremeCourt.gov provides recent decisions, oral arguments, rules, and filing requirements.

Opinions and Documents

HeinOnline - Official Reports
HeinOnline provides complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports, Vols. 1-575 (1754-2015).an indexed compilation of the official full text of all decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States and the official record of its rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings. In addition to the U.S. Reports, the collection also includes books, periodicals, CRS reports, rules of the Court, and The United States Reports Preliminary Prints Vols. 535-579 (2002-2016); and United States Reports Slip Opinions (2002-Present).
Library of Congress Digitized Material: United States Reports
This digital collection of the U.S. Reports contains volumes 1-570, covering the years 1754-2012. This collection will continue to grow as the Supreme Court digitizes more volumes of the U.S. Reports. To locate volumes of the U.S. Reports not currently available in this collection, see the Supreme Court’s U.S. Reports website.
Nexis Uni
Provides U.S. Supreme Court decisions from January 1790 to present, searchable by majority opinion, minority opinion, concurring opinion, counsel, or headnotes
Opinions of the Supreme Court
The Supreme Court publishes the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States in a set of case books called the United States Reports. They are available online from 1994 to present. NOTE: Only the printed bound volumes of the U. S. Reports contain the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
Proquest Supreme Court Insight
Provides a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices, and amicus briefs.