Political Science

CountryData Online (CDO) is the only data source that combines current and historical risk ratings for both the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) and Country Reports and Economic Forecasts (CREF). Political, economic, financial, and social risk data are offered for over 150 countries dating to 1984 in most cases. Comprising over two million data points (with 100,000 data points added annually), there is simply no other geopolitical risk series as profound and far-reaching as CDO, globally. The data series have the ability to produce cross-country and regional comparisons—which are especially useful in the context of scholarly literature across a range of academic disciplines.

Longitudinal set of 194 variables with data for over 200 county units for the period 1815-2008 (excluding the two modern wartime periods, 1914-1918 and 1940-1945) organized in the form of an Excel spreadsheet. Data cover economic, political, population, and demographic variables with an emphasis on political regime and systems data. Includes a weighted conflict index and domestic conflict indicators.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets aggregates datasets sourced from reputable public and private organizations, such as the OECD, China Data Online, the United Nations, and the U.S. Census. It covers topics across many subject areas, including education, population, income, industry, commerce, trade, housing, and construction. Users can create custom extracts and download files in delimited, SAS, or shapefile formats.

Economist Intelligence Unit's (EIU) country analysis and forecasts covers over 200 countries and highlight political, economic and business developments in all significant markets, both established and emerging. Includes access to the "CountryData" and "Market Indicators and Forecasts" modules.

Dataverse is the world's largest open-source research data repository of social science research datasets. It facilitates making data available to others, and allows you to replicate others' work more easily. Researchers, data authors, publishers, data distributors, and affiliated institutions all receive academic credit and web visibility.

ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.

OECD iLibrary is the online portal for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OECD iLibrary includes book collections, policy reports, statistical abstracts, and the OECD. The Stat too allows users can create custom extracts from the OECD data warehouse.

The QOG Institute at the University of Gothenburg studies good governance and corruption on a global scale. QoG provides a range of datasets available for free and data visualization tools. QoG Standard Dataset contains the most qualitative variables from the Standard Dataset. The QoG Expert Survey is a dataset based on our survey of experts on public administration around the world, available in an individual dataset and an aggregated dataset covering 107 countries. The QoG OECD dataset covers countries that are members of the OECD. The EU Regional Data consists of 450 variables from Eurostat and other sources, covering three levels of European regions - country, major socio-economic regions, and basic regions for the application of regional policies.

Statista aggregates data on markets, industry, politics, economics, and population. Users can export datasets in a variety of formats. Sources include trade publications, market and opinion research institutions, government sources, business and economic databases, reference publications, media sources, and scholarly articles. Include Statista's "Global Consumer Survey", which helps marketers understand consumer behavior and brand interaction.

Statistical Insight provides indexing and abstracts for federal, state, and international statistical publications as well as selected business and professional publications containing statistics. Approximately 20% of the federal statistical publications are available in full text. This resource includes all content from the American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS), including Statistical Datasets. Dates of coverage: 1973 to present.

DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

This series of quadrennial studies was designed to investigate the opinions and attitudes of the general public and a select group of opinion leaders on matters relating to United States foreign policy and to define the parameters of public opinion within which decision-makers must operate.

State and local government employment and finance data. Holdings cover 1973-1992. Recent years can be downloaded from the U. S. Census Bureau website's Surveys and Programs page.

The Correlates of State Policy Project includes more than 3000 variables, with observations across the 50 U.S. states and across time (1900–2019, approximately). These variables represent policy outputs or political, social, or economic factors that may influence policy differences. The codebook includes the variable name, a short description of the variable, the variable time frame, a longer description of the variable, and the variable source(s) and notes.

Produced by the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) this comparative survey covers 28 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean. The AmericasBarometer data sets feature a common core set of questions that has been asked from 2004 to the present. LAPOP has datasets that date back to the 1970s.

The European Values Study is a large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on basic human values. It provides insights into the ideas, beliefs, preferences, attitudes, values and opinions of citizens all over Europe. It is a unique research project on how Europeans think about life, family, work, religion, politics and society.

The International Social Survey Programme (ISSP) is an international collaborative program that conducts an annual survey on topics relevant to the social sciences.Since its foundation, over one million respondents have participated in the surveys of the ISSP. All collected data and documentation is available free of charge.

World Values Survey (WVS) is a global research project that explores people’s values and beliefs, their stability or change over time, and their impact on the social and political development of societies in different countries of the world.

Responses to individual questions asked in Gallup public opinion polls from 1936 to the present (currently 2016). Search for words appearing in questions, or browse polls to locate specific questions. "Locate a question" tool retrieves similarly-worded questions asked in Gallup polls across the years, permitting you to create trend time-series.

Online data analysis; published questions and responses; and raw data for download. Covers 55 countries going back to 2002.

REQUIRES FREE REGISTRATION. Question-level data from public opinion polls. Almost 400,000 questions from polls, 1935 to present, based upon Roper Center-archived surveys with US national adult samples or samples of large subnational populations. Links to Roper Center data catalog holdings are provided. RPOLL provides a less functional interface to iPOLL through LexisNexis Academic.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.

A compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by over 1000 polling organizations in the US and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present time. The pollsters included are U.S. polling organizations (e.g., Harris International, The Pew Center); Universities (e.g., Rice University, University of Maryland); Newspapers (e.g., New York Times, Los Angeles Times); Television news organizations (e.g., CBS, NBS, Fox, CNN); World polling organizations (e.g., Eurobarometer).

Archives datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples. Along with such basic information as survey organization, interview dates, and type of sample, most catalog entries include abstracts indicating the subjects covered by the questions in the survey.