Guides: Political Science: Political Economy

Political Economy

Introduction│ Key Reference │ Subject Databases

Introduction

Political economy is the systemic study of the economics of production and its intersection with the social and political world. In short, it is about how politics affects the economy and the economy affects politics. The following list of resources is recommended for conducting research in this area of political economy. Here are a few tips when choosing databases:

Locate background information with a subject encyclopedia such as The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society.
Search for articles in a general database such as EBSCO Mega File.
Use subject databases such as EconLit for subject-specific articles.

Key Reference: Political Economy

21st Century Economics : A Reference Handbook
Economics handbook providing summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics. Includes introductions to relevant theory as well as empirical evidence. Features chapters focused on cutting-edge economic topics Presents models in graphical format and summarizes empirical evidence in ways that do not require much background in statistics.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Contains the full text of the 8-volume print edition with continual updates. More than 1,500 economists contributed almost 1,900 signed entries; more than 1,000 of the entries are new or "heavily revised" and expanded. Along with the descriptions of economic methods from earlier editions, this edition includes information on 'what those methods have found.' It also offers a new emphasis on advances that have occurred in microeconomics, Bayesian theory, game theory, and behavioral, international, and experimental economics.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society
Emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. It features 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000, and references with a "Future Readings" section to guide readers to more resources.

Subject Databases: Economics

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM features full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business, and economics periodicals. Researchers can also locate country and industry reports.
Business Source Complete
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more
EconLit
EconLit is published by the American Economic Association and indexes and abstracts a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Coverage dates: 1969 to present.
EconPapers
EconPapers is the search interface for RePEc (repec.org), an open access database of over 700,000 scholarly business and economic working papers, 1, 000,000 journal articles, 4,000 software items, 27,000 downloadable books, and 27,500 book chapters. Most publications are available in full text, although access to some journal articles requires an institutional subscription.
EIU Viewpoint
Economist Intelligence Unit's (EIU) country analysis and forecasts covers over 200 countries and highlight political, economic and business developments in all significant markets, both established and emerging. Includes access to the "CountryData" and "Market Indicators and Forecasts" modules.
Fed in Print
Provides research and publications from across the U.S. Federal Reserve System, and an index to all Federal Reserve Board and Banks' publications with selected full text in more recent years.
NBER Working Paper Series
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) includes the entire run of NBER Working Papers and NBER working paper series on historical factors in long-run growth and the NBER Technical Working Papers.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online portal for the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. The OECD iLibrary includes book collections, policy reports, statistical abstracts, and the OECD. The Stat too allows users can create custom extracts from the OECD data warehouse.
SSRN's Economics Research Centers Papers
SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. In order to subscribe to the Penn network, you must create an account with their Penn email address. To access economic papers scroll to Research Disciplines > Social Sciences > Economics.
World Bank eLibrary
The World Bank is a development institution which seeks to reduce poverty in middle-income and creditworthy poor countries.The World Bank eLibrary covers a broad range of global topics and issues including pandemics, climate change, conflict and security, education, jobs, migration, economics, and trade. It also provides a wide array of publications and research written by the World Bank’s top economists, sector specialists, analysts, and international policy and development experts.