Guides: Political Science: Political Theory

Political Theory

Introduction│ Key Reference │ Core Journals │ Key Subject Databases

Introduction

How should a state be governed? What is the best form of government for a society? How should we choose our political leaders? These are typical questions posed in the area of political theory. This section lists major databases that are useful for locating information and articles in the areas of political theory.

Use a subject encyclopedia such as the Encyclopedia of Political Theory to learn key political theory concepts.
Search for research articles in a general, multidisciplinary database such as EBSCO MegaFile.
Use philosophy subject-specific databases such as Philosopher's Index.

Key Reference: Political Theory

Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.
Oxford Handbook of Political Theory
Provides comprehensive and critical coverage of political theory. In this book, forty-five articles by distinguished political theorists look at the state of the field, where it has been in the recent past, and where it is likely to go in future. They examine political theory's edges as well as its core, the globalizing context of the field, and the challenges presented by social, economic, and technological changes.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
Provides access to over 2,800 articles that have been edited for level and consistency by a team of renowned subject experts. Regularly updated with new and revised articles clearly organized and with over 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts, and philosophers. It is also an ideal reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion, and literature.
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Shorter REP presents the very best of the acclaimed ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume. It makes a selection of the most important entries available for the first time and covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and animals and ethics to the scientific method.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. Provides full coverage of major political philosophers and theorists.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Political Thought
Examines the history of political thought from antiquity to contemporary political theory and political philosophy. This and other resources listed will provide the following: explanations of the main concepts of political theory, titles of important books are written about the topic, names of authors who have written about the topic, and information about major political theorists and their key theories and methods; lists of related articles or additional political theory resources.

A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy.
This new edition of A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy has been extended significantly to include 55 chapters across two volumes written by some of today's most distinguished scholars. New contributors include some of today's most distinguished scholars, including Thomas Pogge, Charles Beitz, and Michael Doyle. Provides in-depth coverage of the contemporary philosophical debate in all major related disciplines, such as economics, history, law, political science, international relations, and sociology.

Core Journals: Political Theory

Journal of Political Philosophy
An international journal devoted to the study of theoretical issues arising out of moral, legal, and political life. It provides articles from a variety of disciplinary concerns, among them philosophy, sociology, history, economics, and political science.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.

Key Subject Databases : Political Theory

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access books, book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Philosopher's Index
Contains citations and abstracts of scholarly research in all areas of philosophy and related fields. Included is information about journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. The publication dates covered are from 1940 to the present, and the full text of items is often available.
Phil Papers
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open-access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. It also hosts the largest open-access archive in philosophy.

Political Science

The School of Life

In Our Time

Political Theory

Introduction

Key Reference: Political Theory

Core Journals: Political Theory

Key Subject Databases : Political Theory