Guides: Political Science: Reference and Background Resources

Introduction

While you might have a particular research topic in mind, you may not be familiar with the events, people, concepts, or issues involved. Using a good reference source for background research can provide you with that information. This page provides relevant reference sources specific to political science including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other politically related background resources. Here are several tips when choosing reference materials.

Use a subject encyclopedia such as The International Encyclopedia of Political Science to learn about key political concepts.
Use a reference database such as CQ Press Electronic Library to search for different types of political reference resources.

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge is an online research database that provides reference materials such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference works that cover the social sciences, including political science. SAGE Knowledge also includes Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press which provides reference resources for American government and politics, political history, public policy, and current affairs.

SAGE Knowledge
To access political resources from the SAGE Knowledge homepage go to SAGE Reference > Politics and International Relations.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press at SAGE Knowledge
CQ Press at SAGE Knowledge aggregates reference materials, encyclopedias, and primary source documents on legislative history in the United States. To browse the CQ Press Library go to SAGE Knowledge > CQ Press > Politics and International Relations.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
The online edition of an eight-volume set covers every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, and a list of entries by subject area appears in the front of each volume for ease of use.
21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook
Provides over 99 entries on various political science topics divided into six major parts: (I) General Approaches in Political Science, (II) Comparative Politics, (III) International Relations, (IV) Political Science Methodology, (V) Political Thought, and (VI) American Politics.

Political Almanacs & Yearbooks

Almanac+
Formerly, The Almanac of American Politics, A National Journal website that provides in-depth profiles on policymakers, influencers, and staff at the federal, state, and local levels — in a format that is easy to digest in a matter of minutes.
The Statesman's Yearbook
The Statesman's Yearbook provides information on international affairs, covering key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defense, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets and more.
Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the famous reference source, Europa World Year Book. It provides political, economic, and historical information, including statistics, for over 250 countries and territories. Europa World Plus also contains the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series.

Political Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies: Political Science
Provide authoritative subject articles of current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations written and reviewed by academic experts. Oxford Bibliographies in Political Science is a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the political science field. Areas of coverage include African politics, Asian politics, comparative politics, European politics, international relations, Latin American politics, methodologies, Middle Eastern politics, political psychology, political theory, and US politics.

Political Handbooks & Companions

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Provides articles on major political figures, events, and concepts.
Oxford Handbook of Political Science
Provides an overview of the state of political science as a discipline along with various articles on political theory and its relationship with the discipline of political science, history, philosophy, and “real world” politics. It also explores contemporary themes and developments in political science, from liberalism and communitarianism to feminism, democracy, critical theory, green political theory, and post-structuralism.
Routledge Handbook of Interpretive Political Science
Routledge Handbooks cover multiple subject areas, with peer-reviewed content, including political science. The Routledge Handbook of Interpretive Political Science focuses on the meanings that shape actions and institutions, and the ways in which they do so. This handbook also explores the implications of interpretive theory for the study of politics.

Political Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Politics
Provides hundreds of comprehensive in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries of political science topics. Every month, new topics are added and current essays updated. OREs are written for anyone wishing to expand their knowledge, from a student just starting out in their studies to a researcher needing background information on a related field.
Encyclopedia of Critical Political Science
An indispensable and exemplary reference work, this Encyclopedia adeptly navigates the multidisciplinary field of critical political science, providing a comprehensive overview of the methods, approaches, concepts, scholars and journals that have come to influence the discipline’s development over the last six decades.
The International Encyclopedia of Political Science
Eight-volume encyclopedia offers the widest possible coverage of key areas both regionally and globally. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of approaches and including findings from the far corners of the world.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science
Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), The Encyclopedia of Political Science brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices worldwide.

Political Dictionaries

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations
Dictionary provides entries on political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, and schools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics. Provides revised and expanded coverage of international relations, including entries on international institutions, peacebuilding, human security, security studies, global governance, and open economy politics.
Dictionary of American Government and Politics
Provides an up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in the discussion of the political system.
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Over 1790 entries cover every aspect of political thought and modern politics.

Political Directories

Leadership Connect
Leadership Connect is a set of eight online directories: Congress, Federal government, State & local government, News media, Law & lobbying firms, Companies, Nonprofits & associations, and Courts. Together they provide current contact information for a very wide network of individuals engaged in government-related activity. These online directories continue the ceased print “Yellow Books” series that were go-to reference sources for locating people in power.