Documents at Penn
The Penn Library has been a selective depository for U.S. government documents since the end of the 19th century and holds a strong collection of documents back to the founding of the nation. While Franklin, the Penn Library Catalog, provides access to bibliographic records for much of this material, the Library has many uncataloged documents, particularly in microfiche. Many documents in digital format, both subscription and online are also available.

Major Indexes and Search Tools, with links to some full-text
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976This database provides a comprehensive index to over 1.2 million items published by the U.S. government between January 1895 and June 1976.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1951-A scanned, searchable PDF version of the Monthly Catalog. Covers 1951 - . (public site)
- Catalog of U.S Government PublicationsRecords of documents since July 1976. Links to some full-text. Updated daily. Records for publications dating back to the late 1800s are being added. CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications. (public site)
- FDsys: Federal Digital SystemIncludes the full-text of many notable executive, legislative, and judicial government publications. Browse Collections in FDsys. (public site)
- USA.govU.S. government's official web portal. USA.gov was legislatively mandated through Section 204 of the E-Government Act of 2002. Since 2002, USA.gov has received an annual appropriation from the U.S. Congress. (public site)
- FedWorld.govA gateway to government information. This site is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) as part of it's information management mandate. (public site)
- ProQuest CongressionalSearchable, full-text version of Congressional Publications from 1789 to the present, including the Serial Set. See U.S. Congressional Publications for specifics.
- ProQuest Legislative InsightProQuest Legislative Insight provides full-text PDF scans of many legislative documents. Legislative Insight organizes these documents by their affiliation with a particular piece of (passed) legislation
Documents at Penn
- PrintThe Penn Library holds many government publications in print form. Print titles are cataloged and shelved in the Libraries or in LIBRA Storage. Records of cataloged documents are listed in Franklin.
- Readex Microfiche, 1980-1985.[Van Pelt Library]
From January 1980 to December 1985, the Readex republication of all depository documents was received on microfiche. The Library discontinued this subscription in 1985. This microfiche is interfiled with the depository microfiche described below. - Depository Microfiche, 1981- .[Van Pelt Library]
Penn Library selects approximately 30% of the U.S. government documents available on deposit. While some depository documents are received in paper and are cataloged in Franklin, a larger number are available only on microfiche. Documents on microfiche are arranged by SuDocs number. Use the print Monthly Catalog, WorldCat, and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications to find SuDocs numbers. - United States Government publications; depository [microform]., 1956-1980. Readex Microprint[LIBRA Storage: Microprint #5].
For January 1956 through December 1980, the Library has a complete collection of U.S. Government depository publications on microprint. Documents can be identified by using the print Monthly Catalog, in which depository documents are marked by a 'bullet'. The microprint is arranged by year and MoCat entry number. LIBRA requests should include "Microprint #5" and the MoCat number.
Classic Indexes to U.S. Government Publications
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsFrom 1940 to the 1990s, the Monthly Catalog was the most comprehensive index to publications of all U.S. government departments and the Congress. The Document Catalog is preferred for the period 1893-1940. The arrangement is by government agency. Indexes refer to Monthly Catalog (MoCat) entry numbers. Entries provide full bibliographic information and Super
- Document Catalog 1893-1940. 25 vols.[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A13]
The most complete index to all types of U.S. documents for the period 1893-1940. Lists government authors, personal authors, and subjects in a single alphabet and gives full bibliographic information at each entry, including Serial Set numbers when present - Poore, Benjamin Perley. A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881. New York, Johnson Reprint Corp., [1970].Online and [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A 1885a]
- Ames, John G. Comprehensive index to the publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1905 ; Ann Arbor, J.W. Edwards, 1953.
- Checklist of United States public documents 1789-1909, congressional: to close of Sixtieth Congress, departmental: to end of calendar year 1909. 3rd. ed. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1911-.
- CIS U.S. serial set index. Washington : Congressional Information Service, c1975.[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J74 .C66 1975]
- CIS index annual.
For Assistance with U.S. Government Documents

Research and Instructional Services
Van Pelt Library
University of Pennsylvania
library@pobox.upenn.edu
215-898-7556

Loading...
