Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives Unbound (Gale Cengage), Includes
American Indian Movement and Native American radicalism
Date range: 1968-1979. 14,195 images.
Covers the evolution of AIM, including the 1972 "Trail of Broken Treaties" and the 1973 siege at Wounded Knee, South Dakota.
FBI surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
Date range: 1961-1976. 43 folders (6,115 images).
Source: Special Collections and Archives, Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library, Queens College, City University of New York.
Federal response to radicalism in the 1960s
Date range: 1956-1971. 602 folders (87,391 images).
Compiles independent subcollections:
• COINTELPRO: The counterintelligence program of the FBI. Covers CPUSA, New Left, Socialist Workers Party, White Hate Groups, Black Nationalist Hate Groups, Cuban Matters, Mexican Border Coverage, Puerto Rican Independence Groups, Yugoslav Emigres, Espionage, Hoodwink, Special Operations.
• FBI file on Abbie Hoffman.
• FBI file on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers.
• FBI file on the Brown Berets (Los Boinas Cafes).
• FBI file on the fire bombing and shooting at Kent State University.
• FBI File on the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization.
Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Date range: 1920-1984. 1,293 folders (88,021 images).
Compiles independent subcollections:
• FBI file : MIBURN (Mississippi Burning).
• FBI file on A. Philip Randolph.
• FBI file on Adam Clayton Powell.
• FBI file on the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID).
• FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina.
• FBI file on the Committee for Public Justice.
• FBI file on Elijah Muhammed.
• FBI file on the Highlander Folk School.
• FBI file on the Ku Klux Klan murder of Viola Liuzzo.
• FBI file on Malcolm X. NB. This supersedes other versions of this file.
• FBI file on the Moorish Science Temple of America.
• FBI file on the murder of Lemuel Penn.
• FBI file on Muslim Mosque, Inc..
• FBI file on the NAACP [1923-1957].
• FBI file on the National Negro Congress.
• FBI file on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU).
• FBI file on Paul Robeson.
• FBI file on the Reverend Jesse Jackson.
• FBI file on Roy Wilkins.
• FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.
• FBI file on Thurgood Marshall.
• FBI file on W. E. B. Du Bois.
• FBI investigation file on Communist infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.
• FBI investigation file on Marcus Garvey.
Federal surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
Date range: 1941-1982. 46 folders (10.083 images).
Covers the Puerto Rican independence movement, including the PIP (founded in 1946). Includes files from US military intelligence agencies.
Grassroots civil rights & social activism : FBI files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr.
Date range: 1941-1990. 276 folders (71,934 images).
Source: Personal collection of Gerald Horne.
A broad range of topics are covered in this file on the African American member of the Communist Party USA, Harlem activist, and two-term New York City Councilman.
The Hindu conspiracy cases : activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
Date range: 1908-1933. 36 folders (2,796 images).
Covers Indian nationalists abetted by Germany in World War I. Mostly Immigration and Naturalization Service files and Justice Department files, including scattered Bureau of Investigation documents.
Liberation movement in Africa and African America
Date range: 1970-1985. 65 folders (11,513 images).
Covers the African Liberation Support Committee (ALSC) and All African People’s Revolutionary Party (A-APRP), two African American groups supporting the liberation struggles in Africa and Pan-Africanism. Includes State Department surveillance files on African Americans traveling to Africa.
National security and the FBI surveillance of enemy aliens
Date range: 1940-1978. 188 folders (29,061 images).
Includes the World War II-era Custodial Detention Index and postwar Security List/Adminstrative List, naming espionage or subversive suspects. Includes World War II Japanese American files. Folders may contain coversheets for many pages that have been withheld.
The Republic of New Afrika
Date range: 1968-1980. 82 folders (14,163 images).