Online Document Collections - Digital National Security Archive - U.S. Government Documents

Digital National Security Archive

Digital National Security Archive (ProQuest)

Many of the DNSA collection content is FOIA request-driven. Collections Include.

Terrorism and U.S. policy, 1968-2002
Date range: 1963-2002 (FBI content: 1976-2002). ~1,500 documents (FBI content: 41 documents).
Includes field reporting and analyses from the FBI and other US intelligence agencies. Also includes documents indicating the FBI knew of 9/11-like terror actions prior to 2001.
El Salvador : the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1984
Date range: 1977-1984 (FBI content: 1980-1984). ~5,600 documents (FBI content: 301 documents).
Previously unpublished congressional and executive-branch documents. FBI content mostly focuses on the Churchwomen murder investigation and other human rights crimes. Includes documents from FBI legal attachés in overseas embassies.
Chile and the United States [electronic resource] : U.S. policy toward democracy, dictatorship, and human rights, 1970-1990
Date range: 1969-2005 (FBI content: 1972-1987). 2,842 documents (FBI content: 69 documents).
FBI content focuses mostly on the Orlando Letelier assassination by Chilean agents aided by anti-Castro Cuban exiles and the Cubana Flight 455 bombing by anti-Castro Cuban exiles in 1976.
Targeting Iraq. part 1 [electronic resource] : planning, invasion, and occupation, 1997-2004
Date range: 1997-2004 (FBI content: 2003-2004). 2,141 documents (FBI content: 51 documents).
Includes FBI Counter-terrorism Division interviews with Saddam Hussein.
The Iran-Contra affair : the making of a scandal, 1983-1988
Date range: 1947-1990. (FBI content: 1982-1987). 4,635 documents (FBI content: 42 documents).
FBI content is mostly interview notes with bad actors.

FOIA Virtual Reading Room (US Department of State)

Starting with President Clinton's directive to declassify documents from many federal agencies on Chile's human rights record under Pinochet, the freely-available US Department of State FOIA Virtual Reading Room has included FBI documents in these collections:

Chile Declassification Project
Date range: 1968-1991. 23,000+ documents.
Argentina Declassification Project
Date range: 1975-1984. 4,677 documents.
El Salvador Declassification Project
Date range: 1979-1991. 7,800+ documents.
Guatemala Declassification Project
Date range: 1984-1995. 4,800+ documents.

U.S. Government Documents: Online Document Collections - Digital National Security Archive

Digital National Security Archive