Guides: U.S. Government Documents: Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)

JPRS Reports contain translations of non-U.S. originated, foreign language materials from newspapers, journals, speeches, and broadcasts published from all regions of the world. Consequently, JPRS Reports are a valuable and unique source of primary and secondary material from around the world. Subjects covered in the JPRS Reports include economics, international relations, national politics, military affairs, and science and technology.

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) 1957-1994
Online Access

Microfilm/Microfiche

January 1978 - 2000s
Microfiche: Since 1978, the Van Pelt Library has received JPRS reports on microfiche through the Government Depository Library Program. These reports are housed in the Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room and are shelved by SuDoc number and then by JPRS accession number or series code. Reports #70402 - #73858, Jan. 1978 - July 1979, at Y 3.J 66/13:; Reports #73856 - , July 1979 - , at PrEx 7.14: - PrEx 7.23: range.
July 1974 - December 1977
Some reports can be located in the Readex United States Government Publications (Non-Depository) collection at the Free Library of Philadelphia.
July 1962 - June 1974
JPRS publications from July 1962 through June 1974 are available on microfilm [Van Pelt Microtext area]. These reports are available in five series; four series after September 1964. See Microfilm Sets and Retrospective Indexes below.
1956- 1980, Depository Documents Collection
Microfiche - U.S. Government Depository Microfiche Collection
[LIBRA: Microprint #5] This collection of depository documents contains JPRS publications identified as "Depository" in the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Documents are arranged and can be requested by Monthly Catalog number. For example: Microprint #5, U.S. Government Depository Microfiche Collection, Mocat # 11528.
1958-1978, Readex Microprint Collection of JPRS Reports.
[LIBRA: microprint #8] Items in this collection can be requested from LIBRA by date (month and year) or Mocat number. For example: Microprint #8, JPRS Reports, June 1958.

Microfilm Sets

Asian Developments: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations in the Social Sciences Emanating from Asian Countries Other than Communist China and Exclusive of the Near-East
JPRS-SS-ASIA. July 1962 - Aug. 1964. JPRS #15297 - #25321.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 63]
Covers Indonesia, Mongolia, North Korea, North Vietnam, and South and East Asia. From Sept. 1964
to June 1974, this series is included in JPRS-SS-CA (China & Asia).
China and Asia: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations
JPRS-SS-CA (China & Asia). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #14407 - #61933.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 64]
From July 1962 through Aug. 1964 contains only China (JPRS-SS-C)
East Europe: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations Emanating from Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Rumania, and Yugoslavia
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 65]
JPRS-SS-E (East Europe). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #14347 - #61770.
International Developments: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations Emanating from Africa, Latin America, Near East and Western Europe
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 66]
JPRS-SS-ID (International Developments). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS
#16856 - #62147.
Soviet Union: A Collection of U.S. JPRS Translations Emanating from the USSR
[Van Pelt Microforms: Film Cont. 67]
PRS-SS-R (Russia). July 1962 - June 1974. JPRS #14498 - #62046.
Daily Report. Asia & Pacific.
[LIBRA Storage: DA1 . A47143. Some vols incomplete no. 133 (1973: July 11)-no.58 (1977: Mar 25)]

Retrospective Indexes

Poole, Mary Elizabeth. Index to Readex Microprint Edition of JPRS Reports. New York, Readex Microprint Corp., 1964.
[Van Pelt Reference: AS 36 .U5612]
Covers 1958 -1963. Provides a cross listing of JPRS report numbers and Monthly Catalog citation numbers, by which the reports are arranged on the JPRS Readex Microprint collection [Van Pelt Gov Doc Room: Microprint #8].
Bibliography-index to current U.S. JPRS translations: China & Asia exclusive of Near East
[New York, etc.] Research and Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp. [etc.]
[LIBRA: Z3101 .K9], v.1 (1962-1963)-v.3 (1964-1965)
[Van Pelt Microforms Indexes: Z 3101 .K9],v.4 (1965-1966)-v.8 (1969-1970)
Includes Communist China, Mongolia, South and East Asia, North Korea, and North Vietnam.
Corresponds to Film Cont. 64.
Bibliography-index to current U.S. JPRS translations: East Europe; Albania, Bulgaria, Cxechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, Rumania, Yugoslavia
[New York, etc.] Research & Microfim Publications, CCM Information Corp. [etc.]
[Van Pelt Microforms Indexes: Z2483 .K9], v.1 (1962/63)-v.8 (1969/70)
Corresponds to Film Cont. 65.
Bibliography-index to current U.S. JPRS translations: International developments; Africa, Latin America, Near East, international communist developments
New York : Research & Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp., 1962-1970.
[Van Pelt Library Microform Indexes: Z6205 .K95], v.1 (1962/1963)-v.8 (1969/1970)
Corresponds to Film Cont. 66.
Bibliography-index to current U.S. JPRS translations : Soviet Union
[New York, etc.] Research & Microfilm Publications, CCM Information Corp. [etc.]
[Van Pelt Library Microforms Indexes: Z2491 .K9], v.1 (1962/63)-v.8 (1969/70)
Corresponds to Film Cont. 67.
Transdex; Bibliography and Index to the U.S. JPRS Translations. New York: Macmillan Information, July 1970 - June 1974.
[Van Pelt Reference: AS 36. U574], v. 9, 1970 - v. 12,1974.
Continues Catalog Cards in Book Form.... Provides indexing by country, subject, publication title, and author. Continued by Transdex (below).
Transdex Index. Wooster, Ohio: Bell & Howell, 1974 -1996.
[Van Pelt Microforms: Microfiche 163], annual cumulations, 1975 - 1996 (ceased publication). Contains content listings of translations arranged by JPRS accession number. Other indexes include keyword, keyword frequency index, and personal name index. Use JPRS accession number or series code to locate translations (1978 - present) in U.S. government documents microfiche
United States. Joint Publications Research Service. Catalog Cards in Book Form for United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. New York: CCM Information Corporation. 1957 - 1970.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AS 36 .U574]
Lists all JPRS publications in accession number sequence. The first issue covers 1957- 1961; later issues cover six month periods. Content descriptions provided since 1962.
Subject Index to United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. New York: CCM Information Services, Inc. 1966 - .
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AS 36 .U5812], 1966 - 1968.
Bi-annual subject index to JPRS social sciences translations from 1966-68. Provides JPRS numbers, as well as conversion tables to microfilm collections.