Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Article Databases
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history to the present.
Contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's mammoth medical research literature database. Also covers public health issues and population health.
Contemporary Magazine Databases
Use these to identify and locate magazine and journal articles written by and about medical missionaries, from the 19th and 20th centuries. Penn Libraries research guides provide additional suggestions:
Church Missionary Society periodicals
Lay-audience periodicals provide news, journal accounts and reports from missionaries worldwide, 1816-1986. Has a particular concentration on medical missionary journals.
East Asian Missionary and Socio-Economic Journals
The Chinese Missionary Gleaner, YMCA (China) magazines, and other English-language 19th- and early 20th-century periodicals.
19th Century UK Periodicals : Empire
Popular periodicals on travel, anthropology, missionaries, colonialism, and economics published in the UK during the 19th century. Includes Central Africa (Universities' mission), CMS titles, London Missionary Society Chronicle, Medical Missions at Home and Abroad, and many more titles.
British Periodicals. Collections 1 and 2
Popular periodicals published in the UK during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes church periodicals, e.g., London quarterly and Holborn review (Methodist, 1853-1906), Methodist magazine (Wesleyan Methodist, 1778-1900) as well as general magazines that report on missionary activities.
American Periodicals (1740-1940)
Searchable fulltext with page images for general interest U.S. magazines, mostly to the end of the 19th century. Includes many U.S. religious magazines.
African American Historical Serials Collection, 1829-1922
African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
Contemporary News Sources
Newspapers may provide interviews or reports from missionaries in the field, accounts of local lectures or visits by missionaries, and advertisements or other announcements. These Penn Libraries research guides will point to additional historic newspaper resources:
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable fulltext with page images for the major U.S. newspapers, plus U.S. African American newspapers, the Times of India, and two dozen English-language newspapers from China, all from their first issues to c.1980 (or more recent).
World Newspaper Archive
Searchable fulltext with page images, for newspapers from Africa, Latin America, and South Asia, ending c.1923. Also incorporates U.S. and Caribbean historical newspapers.
Africa's Historic Newspapers (Readex)
Searches African Newspapers 1800-1924, series I & II (World Newspaper Archive), African Newspapers : The British Library Collection (1821-1901), and Rand Daily Mail (1902-1985).
Books at Penn Libraries
Franklin Catalog, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists more than two million books, journal titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. Note: The Biddle Law Library has its own completely separate catalog, LOLA.
You can search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject, or keyword. For information on searching, consult Franklin Catalog Search Help.
Keyword: Use keyword searching to combine concepts (X AND Y)and to search for particular words or phrases that might appear in titles or notes or subjects:
Author: Try corporate bodies such as:
Subject: Some useful headings are listed below, with links to Franklin searches. These subjects can be combined with geographic terms (e.g. Philadelphia) to narrow your search.
And don't forget those personal-account subject terms!
Contemporary Books - in ebook format
Missionary Research Library pamphlets / Union Theological Seminary
Digitized collection of 3,000+ missionary publications selected from the Missionary Research Library's 20,000-piece collection, held by the Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary.
Christian Mission - Boston University OpenBU
A fulltext collection of more than 200 books, pre-1923, on missionary activities. Includes Christian missions and social progress: a sociological study of foreign missions / James S. Dennis (3 vols., 1898-1906), missionary manuals, lectures, and personal narratives.
Theological Commons / Princeton Theological Seminary
One-stop searching for digitized publications (books, pamphlets, journal issues) and manuscript collections from theology collections across the US.
An enormous repository for digitized books and periodicals, offers many personal narratives by missionaries. Viewable and downloadable texts are chiefly pre-1923 out of copyright.
NOTE! HathiTrust ebooks appear in Franklin Catalog.
Books Beyond Penn
Although the Penn Libraries' collection is large, there are still many reasons you might seek materials elsewhere. Listed below are options for finding books at other libraries.
A catalog similar to Franklin, except that it searches across libraries all over the world.
BorrowDirect/EZBorrow & Interlibrary Loan
These services allow you to request items held elsewhere, delivered to the Penn Library of your choice.