LOCATING AND BORROWING BOOKS AT THE LIBRARY OF THE HERBERT D. KATZ CAJS
Locations
The Library at the Katz CAJS is divided into open and closed collections:
I. Open collections
- The 2nd floor Reading Room
Contains books designated REF, i.e. encyclopedias, dictionaries, basic texts, bibliographies and other reference books, current journals and newspapers, as well as current periodicals designated GAL.
- The 3rd Floor Gallery
Includes past issues of selected bound serials, indexes, and the proceedings of the World Congress of Jewish Studies. All these are also designated GAL.
- Basement B1
Includes monographs in the following Library of Congress Classification classes:
A General Works
B-BJ Philosophy & Psychology
BL Comparative Religion
BM Judaism
BP Islam
BS Bible
BR-BX Christianity
C Auxiliary Sciences of History
D History
DS Jewish History
E-F American History
G Geography and Ethnography
H Social Science
J Political Sciences
K Law
L Education
M Music
N Art
In addition, B1 contains oversized books designated FOL and FOL+ (classes A-B only), and books designated MEMOR, a collection of Holocaust memorial books.
PLEASE NOTE: Only Fellows have access to B1 stacks from 9 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.
II. Closed collections
Basement B2 which includes:
- books in classes P (Literature and language), Q-T (Sciences and Technology), and Z (Bibliography)
- undersized books designated MINI or - ("minus"; i.e. books under 16 cm)
- FOL+ classes D-Z
- Selected periodicals and newspapers
- A collection of Dropsie College Doctoral theses
- Microfilms and microfiche
- Ephemera items designated STACKBOX
Both the Archives and Rare Book Rooms are located on the ground floor.
Non-Circulating Materials:
- Reference works
- Periodicals
- Stack items denoted SPECIAL
- Rare and fragile materials
Borrowing Procedures
- Look up the needed titles in Franklin, using either the author/title/subject search or the more advanced "keyword" search method.
- Print out the results of your search and note the location of the book.
- If the book is located on B1, you may retrieve it yourself, and bring it over to the circulation desk to be checked out to you. Most books are circulated for one academic year. (September-May), at the end of which they must all be returned or renewed.
- If the book is located on B2, give the printout to the circulation staff, who will retrieve it and check it out for you.
- Reference books are designated as non-circulating items, and must be used in the Reading Room. However, Fellows enjoy the privilege of borrowing reference materials on a day-loan basis. Items must be checked out at the Circulation Desk and returned by the end of the day.
- Current periodicals, and all Gallery periodicals also are designated as non-circulating items.
- Please note that all non-circulating items, including periodicals, must not be removed from the CAJS building.
- PLEASE NOTE:
- All library materials in Fellows' offices must be charged out properly. Please do not exchange checked-out books among you; have this transaction done at the circulation desk.
- To borrow reference works and periodicals after Library hours, and as a courtesy to your colleagues, please fill out a call slip (available at the circulation desk) and leave it at the circulation desk for processing.
- If the book is located in the Rare Book Room or Archives, please speak to a staff member about paging it for you.
- Rare books and manuscripts may be consulted between 9 am and 4 pm in the Reading Room of the library on the second floor.
