Library information page for the Katz CAJS Fellows: Electronic texts

UPenn Online Books

• The Online Books Page
• Books on Judaism (Call Numbers Starting With BM)
• Bible (Call Numbers Starting With BS)

Bible and Targum
Hebrew and Aramaic

• Bible - the Jewish canon, with Masoretic vowels (nekudot) (Mechon Mamre - UTF-8)
• Bible - the Jewish canon, with full Masoretic pointing (nekudot and te'amim) (Mechon Mamre - UTF-8)
• Bible - JPS 1917 English version (Mechon Mamre)
• Bible - parallel Hebrew - English (Mechon Mamre)
• Bible - Targum Onkelos to the Pentateuch (Mechon Mamre)
• Bible the Jewish canon, with Masoretic pointing - UTF-8 (Unicode) encoded (Pastor Didier Stadelmann, Switzerland)

Other Languages

• APIS Advanced Papyrological Information System
• ARTFL Project Multilingual Searchable Bibles - University of Chicago
• Gutenberg Digital - The Gutenberg Bible online
• Perseus Project Greek and Latin texts and translations, Tufts University
• Septuagint: Vetus Testamentum graece iuxta LXX interpretes (Rahlfs Version - TITUS - Unicode)
• Vulgate: Nova Vulgata Bibliorum Sacrorum Editio (Vatican)

Talmud, Midrash, Rabbinics, and Kabbalah

• Mishnah (Mechon Mamre)
• Talmud - Babylonian (Mechon Mamre)
• Talmud - Jerusalem (Mechon Mamre)
• Talmud - Jerusalem (Leiden Codex)
• Talmud - Jerusalem (Bomberg Editio Princeps from Leiden U.)
• Tosefta (Mechon Mamre)
• Mishneh Torah (Mechon Mamre)
• Mishneh Torah (English - Mechon Mamre)
• Mishneh Torah (Parallel Hebrew-English - Mechon Mamre)
• Hebrewbooks.org - The Society for the Preservation Of Hebrew Books - Out of print Hebrew works by early 20th Century American Rabbis, in PDF format.
• The Legends of the Jews by Louis Ginzberg
• Pirqe R. Eliezer Electronic Text Editing Project
• Sefer Yetzirah and Excerpts from Saadia's Commentary (in English - Walter Benjamin Research Syndicate)
• Talmud Manuscripts Project - (Jewish National and University Library) searchable database of electronic facsimiles of Babylonian Talmud manuscripts and the Kaufmann manuscript of the Mishnah [Budapest, Hungarian Academy of Sciences MS A 50]

Genizah

• Dropsie Genizah Collection - Selections
• The Penn-Cambridge Genizah Project
• Princeton Geniza Project - Selected Transcriptions from Princeton University
• The Genizah On-Line Database (GOLD) - Cambridge University Library, The Taylor-Schechter Genizah Research Unit
• Princeton Genizah Project
• Friedberg Genizah Project

Other Texts

• The Kuran (English translation - searchable)
• Gnostic Society Library
  Extensive collection of texts, including (in English, unless otherwise indicated):
  • - Gnostic Scriptures and Fragments
    - Christian Apocrypha and Early Christian Literature
    - Patristic Polemical Works Against the Gnostics
    - The Corpus Hermeticum
    - Manichaean Writings
    - Mandaean Scriptures and Fragments
    - Cathar Texts
    - Alchemical Writings
    - Christian Liturgy
    - Plato and Plotinus (in Greek and English)
    - Gnostic Texts from the Dead Sea Scrolls
• The Nag Hammadi Library (indexed, searchable - Gnostic Society Library)
• Old Testament Pseudepigrapha (UPenn)
• Prolegomena to the History of Israel, with a Reprint of the Article "Israel" from the "Encyclopaedia Britannica" by Julius Wellhausen; Translated from the German, under the Author's Supervision, by J. Sutherland Black and Allan Menzies; with Preface by W. Robertson Smith. Edinburgh, 1885 (Project Gutenberg; etext produced by Geoffrey Cowling)
• Rashi, by Maurice Liber; tr. from the French by Adele Szold. Philadelphia, The Jewish publication society of America, 1906 (Project Gutenberg; etext produced by Geoffrey Cowling)
• The Works of Flavius Josephus Translated by William Whiston

Collections/Archives - Alphabetized by Name

• The Hannah Arendt Papers - Library of Congress
• Walter Benjamin Research Syndicate
• Johannes Buxtorf, Synagoga Judaica (Judenschul) - Newly Translated and Annotated by Alan D. Corre
• Menasseh Ben Israel Project - A Digital Collection at the Bibliotheca Rosenthaliana, University of Amsterdam
• Pirqe Rabbi Eliezer Electronic Text Editing Project - Hebrew Union College
• Spinoza Electronic Texts (Joseph B. Yesselman)
• Steinschneider Bibliography and Biography On-Line (JNUL)

Collections/Archives - Alphabetic by Topic

• Chazzanut Online - Online archive of scores and documents
• Compact Memory: Digitization of Jewish Periodicals in the German Language Area (Click here for project description), Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, in co-operation with the Sondersammelgebiet Wissenschaft des Judentums der Stadt- und Universitdtsbibliothek Frankfurt/Main and the Bibliothek Germania Judaica Kvln
• Folk Literature of the Sephardic Jews: a Multi-tiered Extensible Digital Archive, University of California, Davis
• The "Livornina", Florence, 1593 - Merchant Charter of Toleration (SCETI)
• The Nuremberg Project - Nuremberg Trial Documents from the William J. Donovan Collection (Cornell University School of Law Library - Rutgers Journal of Law and Religion)
• The Palestine Post (1932-1950) - Searchable Database with full edition and article retrieval, Laura Schwarz-Kipp Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities, Tel Aviv University

Electronic Libraries/Collections

• APIS Advanced Papyrological Information System
• Assyrian Historiography a Source Study, by Albert Ten Eyck Olmstead, (Library Preservation Department, Case Western Reserve University Digital Library)
• The Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative (UCLA/Max Planck Institute for the History of Science)
• Da'at - online repertory of articles in Jewish Studies (in Hebrew - searchable)
• The Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature, Oxford University
• ETANA Digitized Books ETANA - Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives (Case Western Reserve University)
• The Internet Public Library Online Texts Collection
• Labyrinth Library: Latin Texts
• ORB Medieval E-Text Library
• Perseus Project, Greek and Latin texts and translations, Tufts University
• Project Gutenberg
• Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Music Archive, SCETI, University of Pennsylvania Library
• SCETI - Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image, University of Pennsylvania Library
• The Steinschneider Bibliographical Database - A Digital and Bibliographical Framework for Research into Pre-Modern Hebrew Works in Philosophy, Science, and Belles-Lettres (Charles H. Manekin, Project Director - Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities)
• TITUS - Thesaurus Indogermanischer Text- und Sprachmaterialien, an important and innovative site, principally for Indo-European languages, philology and linguistics, with searchable texts and databases (in German, English, French, Spanish)
• West Semitic Research Project Education Page - large repertory of texts in translation, with photographs of originals (University of Southern California School of Religion)

Reference

• Business Ethics Library and Resource Center (Center for Business Ethics and Social Responsibility - Jerusalem College of Technology)
• The Catholic Encyclopedia - (web version based on 1913 edition)
• The Ecole Intiative Hypertext Encyclopedia of Early Church History
• The Jewish Encyclopedia - Online and searchable version of the 1901-1906 edition.
• Leuven database of ancient books - Database of information on all ancient literary Greek and Roman texts dating from the fourth century B.C.E. to C.E. 800, and incorporating authors from Homer (8th cent. B.C.E.) to Romanus Melodus (6th cent. C.E.)
• ORB Online Encyclopedia