Guides: Resources for Educators in Medicine: Overview

Start Here

Penn Libraries
Holman Biotech Commons
Catalog
Find print books, ebooks, journal and newspaper titles, and other resources owned or subscribed to by the Penn Libraries. Place requests for PickUp@Penn or Books by Mail (when logged in).

Databases

PubMed
NLM's public access version of Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. Review PubMed Tips for Searching

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Access via ProQuest | Access via Ebsco
Indexes education journals (most comprehensively, some selectively), as well as education-related materials from scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies.

APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields.

Scopus
A citation database that includes literature from all fields of study, from science to the humanities.

PubMed Medical Subject Headings

There are several MeSH terms you might find useful when searching PubMed.

Education, Medical
Interprofessional Education
Curriculum
Education, Distance
Mentors | Mentoring
Preceptorship
Clinical Clerkship
Internship and Residency
Students, Medical
Computer Simulation
Simulation Training
Virtual Reality | Augmented Reality
Teaching

Needs Assessment
Learning
Educational Measurement
Academic Performance
Clinical Competence
Models, Educational
Evaluation Study
Program Evaluation
Program Development
Data Collection
Surveys and Questionnaires

Explore other potential MeSH terms using the MeSH Database. Enter term(s) to find matching subject headings used in PubMed.

Research Methods

AAMC

Managing References

Journals

The links below take you directly to the journal. You will need to log-in using your PennKey. Many of these sites allow you to search within the journal.

This canned PubMed link will allow you to search across ALL the journals listed above. After clicking the link, enter your term(s) at the beginning of the search statement.
- covid-19 ("Acad Med"[Jour] or "Adv Health Sci ...
Link to more medical education journals via Penn's online catalog
Several medical education journals are accessible via Browzine.
Link to the Annotated Bibliography of Journals for Educational Scholarship - MESRE section, AAMC
Looking to publish? Journal detail information available.

Books

Teaching cultural competence and cultural humility in medical education : a practical guide by Freddy A. Paniagua
ISBN: 9781003529057

Publication Date: 2025
Curriculum Development for Medical Education by Patricia A. Thomas (Editor); David E. Kern (Editor); Mark T. Hughes (Editor); Sean A. Tackett (Editor); Belinda Y. Chen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781421444093

Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Medical Education by Tim Swanwick (Editor); Kirsty Forrest (Editor); Bridget C. O'Brien (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119373858

Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Clinical Teaching by Somnath Mookherjee (Editor); Ellen M. Cosgrove (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319331935

Publication Date: 2016
Teaching and Learning Methods in Medicine by Shabih Zaidi; Mona Nasir
ISBN: 9783319068503

Publication Date: 2014
Teaching Inpatient Medicine by Molly Harrod; Sanjay Saint; Robert W. Stock (As told to)
ISBN: 9780190671495

Publication Date: 2017

Links to Penn's online catalog subject heading searches:

Research Data & Digital Scholarship

The Research Data & Digital Scholarship team can assist with a wide variety of needs from data management to working with data analysis software. Get in touch with us at LibraryRDDS@upenn.edu

RDDS Homepage
Interested in data, computational research, or open and public scholarship? Get in touch with us!
Data Management Resources
Got data? We can provide tips for managing, storing, sharing, and preserving your data for the long term.
NIH Data Management & Sharing Plan (DMSP)
The NIH has new guidelines starting in January 2023 that require all grant applications to have a DMSP. Learn more about what that means and how to write one.
Statistical Software
Are you working with R, SPSS or other statistical software? RDDS and our partner librarians can help you. We have student statistical software consultants at the ready! Make an appointment today
NVivo/Qualitative Data Analysis
Doing interviews or focus groups? We can also help with qualitative data analysis. Get in touch for a consultation.

Medical Education Librarian

Lydian Brambila

they/any

Email Me

Contact:

Holman Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk, Johnson Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-898-9905

Education Guide

Explore the
Education Guide
maintained by Joanna Thompson, Librarian for the Graduate School of Education.