BillsHearingsPrintsReports and DocumentsSerial SetCongressional RecordPublic LawsStatutes at LargeU.S. CodeDigest of Public General Bills and ResolutionsCalendarsJournals
This is the "Overview and Major Document Sites" page of the "U.S. Legislative Process" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 *  Choose a Library * Ask Us/Get Help * Site Guide * Penn

U.S. Legislative Process   Tags: 0type research guide  

This guide provides access to the documents processed in the legislative process in the U.S.
Last Updated: May 14, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.upenn.edu/legislativeprocess Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview and Major Document Sites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide covers government publications produced in the federal legislative process of the United States, from the proposal of a bill to the enactment of a public law. These documents include bills, hearings, prints, reports, Congressional proceedings, and public laws.

 

For Assistance with U.S. Government Documents

Contact:
Research and Instructional Services
Van Pelt Library
University of Pennsylvania
Email us
215-898-7556

Full Legislative Histories

  • ProQuest Legislative Insight
    Full legislative histories. Includes:
    Part A: 1929-2012
    --18,058 histories
    --includes all Major Laws 1929-2012* and all CIS histories from 1970-2012.
    Part B: 1789-1965
    --9,000 histories
    --Major Laws 1789-1928*
    --Additional laws 1929-1965 not included Part A
    PDFs for all available documents created along the legislative path - bill, reports, prints, documents, hearings, and presidential signing statements. Search by bill number, PL number, Statute at Large citation, as well as keyword (Guided Search).
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Full Legislative Histories from 1969-present.
    Collection includes the full text of congressional publications, including:
    Committee prints, 2004-.
    Full-text hearings in PDF for 1824-1979.
    Testimony transcripts, 1988 -.
    Committee Reports, 1990-.
    Congressional Record, 1985-.
    House and Senate Documents 1995 -.
    Bill texts, 1989-, Public Law, 1988-. Statutes at Large
  • Congress.gov
    Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. Covers 1973-present. See Content and coverage. (Replaces THOMAS.gov)
  • FDsys - Federal Digital System
    See Contents which include bills from 1993 to the present, House and Senate Documents and Reports from 104th Congress (1995-96) forward.
  • U.S. Congressional Library from Hein Online
    Content includes bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material
  • Thomas
    Full text of legislation (bills and laws) from the 101st Congress (1989-90) to the present. See About Thomas & What's In Thomas for additional contents. Thomas will cease at the end of 2014.
 

Congresses / Years

2007-2008       110th
2009-2010       111th
2011-2012       112th
2013-2014       113th
2015-2016       114th
All Years

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip