Master of Health Care Innovation Library Resources: Home

Databases

The Holman Biotech Commons offers access to licensed software and research management tools, as well as being the gatekeeper to thousands of subscription journal titles in medicine, health policy, nursing, and related fields.

• PubMed (custom link for proxy access to subscription resources)
  • Pubmed Search Tips Guide
• HealthStar (MEDLINE-indexed articles on healthcare delivery, technology, and administration)
• Embase (includes strong coverage of conference proceedings and other material not available in PubMed)
• Scopus (multidisiplinary database)
• PsycINFO (Psychology database from the American Psychological Association)
• Sociological Abstracts Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
• HeinOnline (Full text legal research collection)

Links to Key Journals

• The Atlantic
• Health Affairs
• JAMA
• Modern Healthcare PressReader interface for "news-stand"-style view. Mobile app available.
• New England Journal of Medicine
• NEJM Catalyst

Links to high-value publicly available data sources from federal agencies and NGOs, including:

• The AHRQ's Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
• CDC WONDER (Wide-Ranging Online Data for Epidemiological Research)
• Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Health and Medical Care Data Archive
• Policy Map (GIS web-interface for healthcare data)
• Social Explorer (web-based demographic data analysis)
• Penn Lib Guide - Finding Data
• Penn Lib Guide - Southeastern Penn Hlth Data
• Research Data & Digital Scholarship

Health Policy and Advocacy Resources

• National Conference of State Legislatures
• National Academy for State Health Policy
• Kaiser Family Foundation
• Commonwealth Fund
• Policy Commons Collected reports and other gray publications from think-tanks and advocacy groups.
• Grey Literature in the Health Sciences Other suggestions and recommended resources for non-journal information sources.
• Finding Grey Literature (video)

Holman Biotech Commons staff can also advise on citation management software and online tools such as EndNote and Zotero, including how to configure them to integrate with word processing software to manage formatting citations for specific styles or particular journals.

Online citation guides and style manuals

• The APA Style Guide to Electronic References
• APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue Online Writing Lab
• AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors
  • EBSCOhost Ama Style | Oxford Academic AMA style
• The Chicago Manual of Style
• Fisher Fine Art Library guide to citing Images
• Weingarten Center guide to citation practices

Screening references tool

• Covidence - systematic review/scoping review support tool

The Research Data & Digital Scholarship team can assist with a wide variety of needs from data management to working with data analysis software. Get in touch with us at LibraryRDDS@pobox.upenn.edu 

Lippincott Library is Penn's business research library, providing a broad range of resources, including access to data, journals, news, analyst reports and market research. Use our Business FAQ to explore frequently asked questions. 

Health News Sources

• STAT+.  Original reporting and analysis of breaking news in the life sciences and pharmaceutical industry.
• Timmerman Report.  Biotech news and analysis.
• Health Business Full Text.  Covers well-known health and life sciences business trade journals. Can be searched in conjunction with Business Source Complete.

General News

• Factiva.  National and international news, business, health and general information.
• Business Source Complete.  Business-focused academic journals, magazines and trade publications.
• Wall Street Journal.  Access current and historical news.
• New York Times.  Access current and historical news.

Market Research & Specialized Industry Sources

• BCC Research.  Global industry reports.
• MarketResearch.com Academic.  Includes reports in Life Sciences
• IBISWorld.  U.S.-focused Market research report on a wide range of health care and social assistance industries, emphasizing specific types of providers, services and facilities.
• Informa Pharma Intelligence.  Pharma, biotech and medical device industry information.
• Finding Industry Information at Penn Libraries (video)

Company Information

• Beckers Hospital Review
• Data Axle.  U.S. and Canada Directory.  Click on U.S. Healthcare.
• Capital IQ.  Public and Private Company information. 
• Foundation Directory.  Grants.
• WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services.  While focusing primarily on finance/economic/accounting data, there are several files on this platform that include hospital data (AHA survey) and healthcare networks (Healthbase).
• Finding Company Information at Penn Libraries (video)

• Social Policy - An overview of databases and resources that provide governmental information and resources related to policy
• Social Policy & Practice
• Health Care Industry - Provides resource suggestions for researching the business aspects of health care.
• Company Information - A guide to the library's best resources for screening for firms by criterion, or for researching an individual company and its practices.
• Pharmaceutical Industry - This guide provides resources for researching the pharmaceutical industry, focusing on business aspects.
• Industry Studies - Resources for studying trends and outlooks for various industries
• Advertising and Marketing Industries - This is a guide to the best resources available at Penn when performing research on advertising & marketing.
• Consumer Behavior and Demographics - This guide shows off the best library resources for researching consumers.
• Public Health
• Health Communication
• Grey Literature in the Health Sciences - Guide to locating and evaluating grey literature (or gray literature) in the health sciences
• Philadelphia Statistics - Statistical information on the city of Philadelphia.
• Artificial Intelligence - Tools & Best Practices