Guides: Television Studies: Industry Data/Advertising

Print sources

TV Dimensions by Media Dynanmics
Call Number: ANNEN REF HE8700.8 T917
ISBN: 1892605775
Publication Date: 2013
Television data reference on ad revenues, media profitability, demographics and media usage tables, programming trends, engagement measures, and advertising impact.
Yearbook (European Audiovisual Observatory) by European Audiovisual Observatory
Call Number: ANNEN REF HE8700.9.E8 S72
Television, film and video market and usage data for 38 countries in Europe.
International Television & Video Almanac
Call Number: ANNEN REF HE8698 .I55
ISBN: 9780900610936
Publication Date: 2013
Top primetime television program rankings and other broad advertising and sales data.
Report on television / Nielsen Media Research
Call Number: ANNEN REFHE8700.7.A8 N546
Publication Date: 1982-1992/1993, 2000
Television & Cable Factbook
Call Number: ANNEN REF TK6540 .T453
Authoritative industry and station reference for cable and television.
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac by Jack W. Plunkett
Call Number: ANNEN REF P88.8 .P57
Publication Date: 2013
Profiles, statistics, trends on the top media industries including television.

Ratings/Viewership Demographics/Advertising Rates

Good databases to consult for articles about television data or articles that include such data are:

--Communication Source
--ABI Inform
--Lexis-Nexis
--EBSCO Megafile
--Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

The following sources provide ratings and viewership demographic data in greater chunks--lists, tables, rankings and the like. Bear in mind detailed demographic data on specific regions, groups, or programs is often not available for free--advertisers and networks pay dearly for such. Historical data may also be elusive.

Advertising Age
The AdAge site includes a Data Center that contains among lots of other ad data, spot advertising costs per show.
Charts - The Hollywood Reporter
This week's box office, television, and Billboard ratings.
The Futon Critic
News, listings, interviews, ratings.
Hollywood Reporter
The classic voice of the California entertainment industry since the 30s.
Nielsen Wire
Provides selected data on media trends, including social media as well as television.

SimplyAnalytics
Marketing and consumer data; includes ad spending for film and television.
SRDS
Advertising rates for magazines, newspapers, radio and television. Select Categories & Markets --> Broadcast --> TV & Cable --> DMA Maps & Profiles, or TV & Cable Stations, Networks, Owners & Reps and select media type, then under Markets, select or find a DMA

Television Bureau of Advertising (TVB)
Trade association for the broadcast television industry. Under the Research tab is a lot of ratings and Nielsen demographic date.
USA Today
Wednesday's edition features rundown of top rated shows. The title can be accessed full-text through Library PressDisplay (last 60 days) or Lexis-Nexis (since 1989).
Zap2It/TV By the Numbers
These two sites have merged. They provide lots of information on television--schedules, news, gossip, and weekly ratings (located more in the TV By the Numbers section).

Television Ads

AdViews
collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television. A collaborative project between the Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History at Duke University.
Fifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Adversisements
Highlights from the Motion Picture Archives at the Library of Congress
Internet Archive: Classic Television Commercials
TVAdsArchive
YouTube collection of ads, hard to say how many there actually are.
The Ads of the World
Selection of ads by countries from all over the world.