Television Studies: Archives, Blogs, Websites

Blog of Alan Sepinwall, the TV critic for The Star-Ledger.

Forum for discussing the literary elements of television.

Investigates the present and future of television, focusing on web video.

Collectively authored media and cultural studies blog committed to timely yet careful analysis of texts, news, and events from across the popular culture spectrum.

Collaborative space for scholars writing and researching media topics.

Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 750 oral history interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide. The Archive continues to produce new interviews every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history.

The Center encourage the creation of work using new electronic media technologies. Houses extensive archive of work created in its residency programs.

Professional association for those engaged in the preservation and exploitation of broadcast archives.

Devoted to the past, present, and future of television in the United Kingdom.

Organization of filmmakers, broadcasters, archivists and scholars dedicated to historical inquiry into film, radio, television, and related media.

Founded in Paris in 1938, FIAF is a collaborative association of the world's leading film archives whose purpose is to ensure the proper preservation and showing of motion pictures.

Programs comprising the Library's television archive are an eclectic group; they offer a broad but uneven view of television broadcasting history. Major collections include: the NBC Collection, NET (National Education Television) Programs, PBS Collection, and Television News.

Archive of old (mostly) film and broadcasting journals.

The University of Maryland's Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture contains these two large collections.

Serving the UCLA community and an international constituency of academic faculty, scholars, students, writers, and professionals, the collection includes over 300,000 films and television programs, over 100,000 News and Public Affairs (NAPA) programs, and over 2,000 radio programs.

One of the major research centers for entertainment. Besides film and theater their collection includes thousands of radio and television programs plus the papers of significant figures in these industries.

Internatinal professional organization based in Toronto.