It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This work represents decades of research and spans the entire history of television. While documentation regarding cast and personnel is now often found online, descriptions of the shows from authoritative sources are still not widely available. Terrace fills that gap with this work, which covers more than 9,350 shows (including pilots!) and constitutes the most comprehensive documentation of television series ever published. All the traditional genres are here along with show genres not well covered elsewhere--including children's programming, talk and advice shows, game shows, opera, stage plays, women's programming, dance, documentary television, and more.
An authoritative chronicle of prime time television programming on 20 major cable networks. Includes a detailed listing for each network, its prime time scheduling history as well as a brief description of each program and a brief "bio" of each network.
This title is an update to the 2005 Movies Made for Television, 1964-2004, a five-volume reference set (also available at the Annenberg Library)commemorating 40 years of every made for TV film since See How They Run debuted in 1964. These books provide a comprehensive listing of every television film and mini-series, detailing each film's original network, airdate, and length of broadcast, cast and production credits.
Highly detailed biographical information on 1,485 television characters who appeared on the small screen from 1947 through 2004 is provided iThe broad range of characters is primarily from prime time network, cable and syndicated series. There is a performer's index and an appendix for characters by series and for characters by last name.
This comprehensive chronicle provides a month-by-month listing of network primetime (7-11 p.m.) programming for all national broadcasting networks from April 1985 through 2007. Supersedes Television Network Prime-Time Programming, 1948-1988 by the same compiler, also available at Annenberg Reference.
This updated and expanded edition of the highly acclaimed 1996 reference work does researchers a great service by providing a single index to over 900 books and other materials that include information on almost 2,000 television shows. New to this edition are journal articles, books devoted to only one show, dissertations and websites where more information about a particular television show can be found.
Unsurpassed since its first publication, is the only book to take us behind the scenes to reveal how prime-time shows get on the air, stay on the air, and are shaped by the political and cultural climate of their times. Includes new Introduction.
Brings together forty original essays from today’s leading scholars on television culture, writing about the programs they care (and think) the most about. Each essay focuses on a particular television show, demonstrating one way to read the program and, through it, our media culture. The essays model how to practice media criticism...
First published in 1976, its seventh edition is comprised of virtually all new selections that deal with both classic and contemporary programming, the seventh edition adds new material on television history, the reception context of television, and international programming. It remains a well established and critically acclaimed text essential for courses in critical studies, communication studies, cultural studies, media history, television criticism, television history, and broadcasting.
The first book to push the boundaries of television studies beyond the insights offered by cultural studies and textual analysis. Using the tools and techniques in this book, it is possible for everyone with a television set to analyze both the programmes, and the culture which produces them.
Explores the ways in which prime-time television was centrally involved in the social conflicts of the 1960s. It was then that television became a ubiquitous element in American homes. The contributors in this volume argue that due to TV's constant presence in everyday life, it became the object of intense debates over child raising, education, racism, gender, technology, politics, violence, and Vietnam.
Globalizing media industries, deregulatory policy regimes, the multiplication, convergence and trade in media formats, the emergence of new content production industries outside the US/UK umbrella, and the fragmentation of media audiences are all changing the nature of television today: its content, its industrial structure and how it is consumed. Television Studies after TV leads the way in developing new ways of understanding television in the post-broadcast era.
Television, both as a technology and a tool for cultural storytelling, remains as important today as ever, but it has changed in fundamental ways as the result of technological innovations, proliferating cable channels targeting ever more specific niche audiences, and evolving forms of advertising such as product placement and branded entertainment. Through interviews with those working in the industry, attendance of various industry summits and meetings, surveys of trade publications, and consideration of an extensive array of popular television shows, Lotz takes us behind the screen to explore what is changing, why it's changing, and why these changes matter.
Captures the fascinating metamorphosis of Arab television from separate state-owned terrestrial channels to a vibrant, pan-Arab, commercial satellite industries, and explores the momentous social and political implications of this transformation.
Taking the soap opera as a case study, this book explores the 'parasocial interaction' people engage in with television programmes.
The Age of Television: Experiences and Theories by Milly Buonanno
Call Number: ANNEN REF PN1992.3 E78 I53
Publication Date: 2008
Analyzes the way in which televised entertainment has radically altered human perception of place and time, multiplied opportunities for indirect social experience, and fueled the collective imagination. Drawing on classic media theories but offering a fresh look at television’s dominance of Western culture, this book provides an optimistic perspective on the possibilities of the small screen.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by Roberta E. Pearson (Editor); Gill Branston (Editor); William Urricchio (Editor); Philip Simpson (Editor); David Black (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-12-19
Explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms; provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies.
Provides an overview of the origins, central ideas, and intellectual traditions of television studies. The book charts the establishment of the field, and examines its various approaches and objects of study.
This is a four-volume work gathering of the most important writings on television in theoretical, historical, empirical and political terms from the USA and Europe, with significant coverage of other international works, this collection demonstrates television's global significance, as a field of study, to disciplines across both the humanities and social sciences.
Written by a distinguished international team of specialists, the book describes the history of television from its technical conception in the nineteenth century right through to the bewildering multi-media developments of the present. Alongside this historical account, chapters provide important discussion of the central debates affecting television world-wide.