The English Short Title Catalogue provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
The Valmadonna Collection of Hebrew and Jewish books from India is a unique resource for the study of oriental printing and lithography, Hebrew poetry and liturgical history, Eastern Judeo-Arabic literature, and the folklore traditions and vernacular writings of the Jews of South Asia. Brill makes the entire corpus of Indian Jewish literature accessible to researchers for the first time.
This collection offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th-centuries. Categories include 19th-century entertainment, the booktrade, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising.
The records of The Stationers’ Company Archive showcase a diverse range of primary source material to represent the history of printing, publishing and bookselling. The Stationers’ Company played a central role in book history and the story of seventeenth and eighteenth century drama and literature which can be traced in the rare records made available in this resource. The records also offer a complete picture of an early London Livery Company through the membership, financial and administrative records.
Abbreviationes identifies abbreviations used in medieval Latin manuscripts ("Latin paleography"). The database currently comprises over 70,000 entries containing a total of 80,098 references to manuscripts. Entries in the database cover the 8th century through the 15th century.
Covers the broad concept of the book throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Along with such subjects as bibliography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, and textual criticism, it also engages with newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book.
The letterpress printing studio at the University of Pennsylvania, housed at the Fisher Fine Arts Library. The facility provides a mixed media environment where students can move between digital and manual image making, collaborating with writers, printmakers and others in the book arts.
The archive of this Philadelphia-based publishing company includes the complete catalog of Running Press publications from 1972, when it began, to the present. The collection is housed in the Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts.
Noted art collectors with a special interest in the book arts, the Sackners have a highly informed perspective on this growing field of scholarship. As a Penn Library Overseer, Ruth Sackner understood the unique contribution the Library could make to the field--with the resources to build the appropriate collections. The Sackners created this fund, enabling Penn's Rare Book & Manuscript Library to build on its collection of contemporary artists' books.
The following links are automatically pulled from a feed of guides in the Publishing Libraries and History of the Book series.