You will need to click on the "enter database" button to get to IMB. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), the world's leading bibliography of Medieval Studies and an essential tool for research and teaching on the Middle Ages, covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4,500 periodicals and thousands of volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs.
Abbreviationes identifies abbreviations used in medieval Latin manuscripts ("Latin paleography"). The database currently comprises over 70,000 entries containing a total of 80,098 references to manuscripts. Entries in the database cover the 8th century through the 15th century.
Contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials dating from roughly 1120-1900. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Note: Manuscripts themselves are not full-text searchable.
The Codices Vossiani Latini Online publishes all 363 codices which form the world-famous Latin part of Vossius' manuscript collection held at Leiden University Library. The Codices Vossiani Latini count a large number of early medieval manuscripts (a whopping 76 Carolingian manuscripts dating from before 900), including major sources of many classic texts. The 363 codices in all comprise 40,278 openings, resulting in 84,266 images, including covers and flyleaves. The manuscript collection is enriched by detailed information drawn from by K. A. de Meyier's catalogues of the codices, providing users, both students and researchers, with essential information on the content, context, and physical appearance of each codex.
The DIMEV brings together in highly-structured, interconnected and approachable form the information scholars need regarding subject matter, authorship, dates, manuscript transmission, and poetic form of all surviving Middle English verse from c. 1200 to c. 1550, including that found in manuscripts, incunabula, inscriptions, wall paintings, monuments, etc.
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th plus representation from Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries. Over 183,000 searchable full-text poems by more than 2,700 poets drawn from over 4,500 printed sources.
Resource for the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800), including key printed sources for English, Irish, Scottish and Colonial history as well as original manuscripts.
Medieval Family Life contains full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh family letter collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from printed editions. Also includes family trees, chronology, a map, and a glossary.
This project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. A good number of manuscript images are provided in full colour. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details. The project also includes a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology.
You will need to click on the "enter database" button to get to Vetus Latina. Pre-Vulgate Bible versions of the Latin Church Fathers. Because there are a limited number of extant manuscripts that haphazardly cover the biblical text, the basic sources are biblical citations or allusions that are found within the writings of the Latin Fathers or Greek patristic authors who were translated at an early date into Latin. This database contains every citation, listed by book, chapter and verse of the Bible. The citations can be searched individually or as a whole, following the biblical structure. To see all variants for a particular verse on a single page, click on the "Einzebild" button after the Biblical book, chapter, and verse are chosen.
Access to the Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage (2009), the Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle (2010, with 2016 update), and the Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450 (2012, with 2016 update)
Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using twenty-first century technology…With the completion of I, the tenth letter of the Old English alphabet, the Dictionary is now available online. The Dictionary of Old English: A to I online includes the first release of the letter I, containing some 435 headwords, as well as revised versions of the nine previously published fascicles (1986-2016).
Access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a bibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.
The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
The following links are automatically pulled from a feed of guides in the Medieval Studies series.