Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) and held by the British Library digitized and made available online. This represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, totaling almost 1 million pages and containing approximately 1,270 titles. The collection focuses on series published in London.
Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format.
British Periodicals tracks the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and into the 20th century. On completion this digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.
DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks allows scholars and students to investigate the publishing, printing, and marketing of English Renaissance drama in ways not possible using any other print or electronic resource. An easy-to-use and highly customizable search engine of every playbook produced in England, Scotland, and Ireland from the beginning of printing through 1660, DEEP provides a wealth of information about the original playbooks, their title-pages, paratextual matter, advertising features, bibliographic details, and theatrical backgrounds.
Hosted by the Folger Shakespeare Library, the Lost Plays Database is a wiki-style forum for scholars to share information about lost plays in England, 1570-1642. Its purpose is to add lost plays to scholarly discussions of early modern theatrical activity.
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1972 and mid-2001. The more than 74,855 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings. Cumulates and significantly expands the annual bibliographies in Shakespeare quarterly, but omits several entries in the older issues of the latter, condenses some, and conflates others.
Does a database seem to be missing? Check the Core Databases section on the guide homepage.
Contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials dating from roughly 1120-1900. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Note: Manuscripts themselves are not full-text searchable.
The online edition presents a fully searchable version of the Print Edition, including all the original introductions, collations, and commentary, but it complements, develops, and vastly extends the Print Edition with a large and flexible array of textual and contextual materials. In addition, the Online Edition includes a comprehensive body of essays and archives necessary for full study of Jonson's life, performance history, and afterlife. In total, the edition contains around 90 old-spelling texts, 550 contextual documents, 80 essays, several hundred high-quality images, and 100 music scores; it lists details of more than 1,300 stage performances, and has a cross-linked bibliography of over 7,000 items.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
The Early Novels Database (END) project generates high-quality metadata about novels published between 1660 and 1850 in order to make early works of fiction more available to both traditional and computational modes of humanistic study.
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th plus representation from Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries. Over 183,000 searchable full-text poems by more than 2,700 poets drawn from over 4,500 printed sources.
The English Short Title Catalogue provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.
The records of The Stationers’ Company Archive showcase a diverse range of primary source material to represent the history of printing, publishing and bookselling. The Stationers’ Company played a central role in book history and the story of seventeenth and eighteenth century drama and literature which can be traced in the rare records made available in this resource. The records also offer a complete picture of an early London Livery Company through the membership, financial and administrative records.
Resource for the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800), including key printed sources for English, Irish, Scottish and Colonial history as well as original manuscripts.
A site devoted to Humanistic Letters, principally British, published under the auspices of the Shakespeare Institute of the University of Birmingham. This site consists of two parts: Library of Humanistic Texts, and the Bibliography of Neo-Latin Texts on the Web.
Showcases rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library, telling the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
This collection features over 20 films recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning role as Falstaff in Henry IV. Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the theatre for which he wrote.
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018) includes landmark productions from the theatre’s 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons, including the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them. Each performance transports viewers directly into the standing yard of the world famous Globe or the magical candlelit interior of the captivating new Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.
The Furness Image Collection comprises more than 2,000 prints and photographs. The majority date from the nineteenth century, but the Collection also holds earlier and later images. These images illustrate and interpret Shakespeare's plays and also document theatrical performers and performances of works by Shakespeare and other dramatists. Additional theatrical images, consisting of a collection of American theatrical posters from the 1890s and images from the collection of the Charlotte Cushman Club, are included here.
Horace Howard Furness Memorial Library is dedicated to the study of Shakespeare and his contemporaries and, more generally, to the English Renaissance and the history of Shakespearean theatrical presentations. The Furness Library contains books, manuscripts, images, and artifacts.