It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes digitized images of the pages of 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines (some still in print), such as Vanity Fair, Harper's and Ladies' Home Journal.
Does a database seem to be missing? Check the Core Databases section on the guide homepage.
This collection contains 711 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. It includes plays by dramatists such as Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson. When complete, the collection will contain more than 2,000 plays.
Provides both images and full-text for a well-defined and comprehensive collection of early American fiction. Currently includes 254 titles by 55 authors, including first printings of works by James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Montgomery Bird, Washington Irving, Catharine Sedgwick, and Nathaniel Hawthorne.
Based primarily on the listings in Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and Winifred Gregory's Union list of serials in libraries of the United States and Canada, this database focuses on newspapers first published before the Civil War. The collection includes over 900 newspapers. Includes the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-1900), Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836-1876) and Philadelphia North American (1839-1879) as well as many other Philadelphia Newspapers.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
Fulltext of letters and diaries, published and manuscript, of American women during the Colonial period through 1950. Biographical information is provided for each writer. Primary source materials are searchable by document type and subject, relevant historical events, and author-specific information including author name, date, age, marital status, maternal status, and geographical location when writing, age at marriage and at first childbirth, number of marriages and of children, nationality and race, religion, occupation, and relevant personal events.
The American National Biography (ANB) is the successor to The Dictionary of American Biography (DAB, 1926-1937). It is a source of biographical information on Americans of significance, broadly defined. The one fast rule for inclusion is that the person must have died before 1996.