Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) and held by the British Library digitized and made available online. This represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, totaling almost 1 million pages and containing approximately 1,270 titles. The collection focuses on series published in London.
Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format.
Includes digitized images of the pages of 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines (some still in print), such as Vanity Fair, Harper's and Ladies' Home Journal.
British Periodicals tracks the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and into the 20th century. On completion this digital archive will consist of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.
Based primarily on the listings in Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and Winifred Gregory's Union list of serials in libraries of the United States and Canada, this database focuses on newspapers first published before the Civil War. The collection includes over 900 newspapers. Includes the Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-1900), Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836-1876) and Philadelphia North American (1839-1879) as well as many other Philadelphia Newspapers.
This collection contains 711 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. It includes plays by dramatists such as Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson. When complete, the collection will contain more than 2,000 plays.
Contains facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials dating from roughly 1120-1900. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Note: Manuscripts themselves are not full-text searchable.
Provides both images and full-text for a well-defined and comprehensive collection of early American fiction. Currently includes 254 titles by 55 authors, including first printings of works by James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Montgomery Bird, Washington Irving, Catharine Sedgwick, and Nathaniel Hawthorne.
"Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. When complete, the product will allow full-text searching of more than 33 million pages of material, in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas."
Eighteenth Century Drama features the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library – a unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, as well as hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. Also included are the papers of prominent theatrical figures of the period, including correspondence, financial documents, and portraits.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
The Early Novels Database (END) project generates high-quality metadata about novels published between 1660 and 1850 in order to make early works of fiction more available to both traditional and computational modes of humanistic study.
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th plus representation from Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries. Over 183,000 searchable full-text poems by more than 2,700 poets drawn from over 4,500 printed sources.
The English Short Title Catalogue provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
This collection offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th-centuries. Categories include 19th-century entertainment, the booktrade, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising.
The records of The Stationers’ Company Archive showcase a diverse range of primary source material to represent the history of printing, publishing and bookselling. The Stationers’ Company played a central role in book history and the story of seventeenth and eighteenth century drama and literature which can be traced in the rare records made available in this resource. The records also offer a complete picture of an early London Livery Company through the membership, financial and administrative records.
Fulltext of letters and diaries, published and manuscript, of American women during the Colonial period through 1950. Biographical information is provided for each writer. Primary source materials are searchable by document type and subject, relevant historical events, and author-specific information including author name, date, age, marital status, maternal status, and geographical location when writing, age at marriage and at first childbirth, number of marriages and of children, nationality and race, religion, occupation, and relevant personal events.
An interactive hypermedia environment for the study of The Tatler (1709-1711), The Spectator (1711-14), Johnson's Rambler and the eighteenth-century periodical in general. Users wishing to view the pages will need to download the DJVU plug-in which is made available at no cost on the website
Finding Aid and Franklin records forthcoming. Includes over 100 volumes of Sterne’s work printed before 1800 in English, including three copies of the rare York-printed first edition of volumes one and two of Tristram Shandy. The collection also includes over 100 translations of Sterne’s work in 21 languages. Among these translations are at least two (one in German, one in Dutch) which are not known to exist anywhere else. The Day collection also includes the only known copy of a completely spurious edition of volume 9 of Tristram Shandy, published clandestinely in 1767. Beyond Sterne’s fiction, the collection also contains copies of the works he drew from in his writing, editions of his letters and sermons. In addition to the purchase of his collection of printed volumes, Day gifted the Penn Libraries a manuscript letter written by Laurence Sterne to a local apothecary the day following the death of Sterne’s daughter in childbirth.
The Swift's Library and Reading Collection, as well as an oil portrait of Swift and various Swift-related manuscripts and publications, including many Dublin imprints, were the gift of the independent Swift scholar Archibald Elias.